We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Secluded Beach”
Review of Owen Island

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Little area perfect for picnic lunching.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Secluded Beach”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Took kayaks over from Southern Cross Club, about a 10 minute paddle. Great place to swim, nice beach but not much snorkeling except on the barrier reef side of the island where the sea is a little choppy. You can walk around the whole island in about 45 mins.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cjvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clear water”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We kayak out to island from southern cross club the tide have a lot to do how difficult it is to get to or back from. We went 3 times during our stay. Hat sunglasses definitely. Shells and laying in absolutely clear and warm water is lovely

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noni1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Island”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was an easy kayak trip from Southern Cross Club. Too overgrown to walk on the island but there was great snorkeling and swimming on western side. Most of the time we were the only ones there. occasionally another couple would also be there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Street, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice of owner to let people spend time here”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Owen Island is privately owned and sits just off the shore of Little Cayman. People are allowed to visit and can either swim or kayak between Little Cayman and Owen Island. There are no facilities and it is mostly overgrowth with a small beach area. The beach is natural and un-groomed, so while it is lovely, expect natural debris such as palm fronds, coconuts, and sticks, as well as some man made debris from the sea, to be strewn across the beach. There is a very nice swimming area of sandy bottom with crystal clear blue water right off of the beach. We observed many bone fish here, but because it is all sand and no coral, you do not see schools of colorful fish like you do elsewhere. We enjoyed checking this place out and being away from everyone else for a while, but I cannot say that we in any sense felt like we were spending time on a deserted island. Little Cayman with its homes and yachts and resorts is right in front of your face when at the Owen Island beach. You really can't forget that other people are close by, but the trip to and from is lovely and you can have some great photo opportunities to make it look as if you are far from civilization.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveJBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Picnic Paradise….”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We ventured here from Southern Cross Club. Took a picnic and some umbrellas and spent the afternoon. No other person in sight. So many conch shells you actually had to be careful you did not step on them. Get Southern Cross Club or Little Cayman Beach Resort to pack you a lunch and go for it….you will not want to leave.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Owen Island also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Owen Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing