We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner Spot…….”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Although we were on Little Cayman for reasons other than diving we stopped in for dinner at Pirates Point. What a great evening!! nice to sit down to a home made meal of steak and veggies after eating in other hotels and restaurants for the previous evenings on Grand Cayman.We were with a group of Canadian Journalists who were so happy that we had ventured out this fun meal.
Love the honour system at the bar as well….just write down what you take and then pay at thend of the night…..only in Little Cayman!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

There are resorts that have diving and then there are "dive resorts". This is a diver's diving resort. The diving is absolutely phenomenal, but would not be possible without the comfortable dive boat and excellent dive masters, very helpful and safety conscious. Each of the ten cabins are spacious and clean and centered around a "clubhouse" where there is an open bar, a lovely dining room where truly fabulous food is served three meals a day plus happy hour snacks, and guest gather to visit and play games each evening. Internet access at the clubhouse, no TV. A dinner bell is rung to signal meals, breakfast at 8 a.m. sharp. The shuttles take the divers the short distance to the boat about 9 a.m. and you get back around 2 p.m. A bountiful lunch is immediately served then everyone relaxes and amuses themselves till happy hour officially starts about 6:30 followed by dinner. It was very relaxing and enjoyable and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms do not have air conditioning which doesn't matter depending when you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our second amazing visit. Calmer weather this year allowed us to dive on the north side (Bloody Bay Wall, Jackson’s Bight) on all but our last day. This time owner Gladys Howard was on site and her presence is a necessity if you want the full flavor of the Pirates Point experience. Like the captain’s table on a cruise ship, each night at dinner Gladys invites a different group to sit at her table. She is an incredible source of knowledge about the local ecology, history, and colorful personalities. Speaking about a local boarding house she said, “I don’t mean to say it’s small, but you can sit on the commode and fry eggs at the same time.” Last trip in her absence, staff members took turns imitating her “Coffee in the bar” after-dinner announcement (Ed was the best) but this time we got to hear the real thing. After dinner, most of the guests adjourn to the bar where Gladys runs a cutthroat game of dominos until ten or so. (A habit my wife has now picked up.) Gladys also made sure we were able to attend the island Christmas Bazaar where we found a number of handcrafted specialty items and got to meet most of the island’s population.

As you might expect from the score or so of international culinary awards adorning the dining room wall, the food was excellent. They say the measure of a great chef is their ability to cook eggs and the breakfast egg creations by Diane and Jeff were some of my favorite dishes.

The diving was outstanding. They have the same fish you see on Grand Cayman but at twice the size. One of my goals this trip was to get some decent shots of Nassau grouper and that was easily accomplished on our first two dives. We also saw several reef sharks and nurse sharks (sleeping and swimming). Last visit we saw several lionfish on every dive and the same for Grand Cayman last year. This year, no more than four the whole week so the culling seems to be working. One night Jeff served us lionfish sushi.

Another highlight of this trip was the presence of eight or so divers of the Buzzards Bay Buccaneers from Cape Cod. Wicked domino players with tons of great diving stories. All had been here several times before and dive shop owner Steve arranged for a picnic lunch and a van to take us snorkeling at Point of Sand at the far end of the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Little Cayman is off the beaten track, but this small resort brings people back year after year for the diving and the hospitality. The food is wonderful, and you'll want to pick up a cookbook to try to reproduce the goodies at home. Owner Gladys Howard makes guests feel like family with nightly dominoes games and wonderful stories.

This was our second trip to Pirates Point, and we enjoyed it even more than the first time. Diving Bloody Bay Wall is a breathtaking experience, and we saw abundant corals, sponges and sea creatures on every dive. The dive operation is top notch, and we've learned how to be better divers thanks to the help of the divemasters.

The resort has a natural beach, meaning it's got rocks in it and is not pristine powdery sand. You can still while away the hours in a hammock or use one of the resort bikes to pedal around the island, but there's not a lot of night life.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are closer to the water but do not have air conditioning -- the ocean breezes k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEdison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our second year in a row here in early December and it continues to delight. Excellent diving ( a blue marlin on one dive ), wonderful gourmet food, relaxed and social ambiance. The staff is as good as it gets. I'll be surprised if we're not back next December.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was my third trip, in 9 years to this resort. I know the staff must have their "trade tricks" but they all remembered my name. A very nice feeling. This is a small, remote, scuba diving oriented resort. If you are not into great scuba diving....please reread their website. Amazingly...this remote dive resort has some of the best food I have ever enjoyed....not just at a dive resort. Comfortable, remote and home...with amazing chef's. There is no room service...the fitness center is the ocean, beach and bike paths.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebel12520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our fourth trip to Pirates Point in Little Cayman, and we are already booked for April 2014. We love it there, the dive operation is first rate, the gourmet food is absolutely delicious and plentiful and we meet other divers each trip with common interests and diving styles. My husband and I are no longer "Rambo" divers, so the 2-a-day dive profile fits us well. The resort offers two long morning dives, all divers use computers, so there is no rush or time limit to complete the dive, we usually run out of air time. The coral reefs are really great and the fish life and turtles are plentiful. Lionfish are becoming less prolific, so the juvenile reef fish population is replenishing and returning in force to the reefs. We saw more juveys this trip than prior trips. The Caymans are known for turtles, and we see them on most every dive. All the dive masters are experts at little critter hunting, jawfish, pipefish, blennies, arrowcrab, peppermint shrimps, an occasional sea horse, you name it. Late April weather is usually nice with water temps around 80 degrees. We are big fans of the owner, Gladys Howard, and the rest of the staff, all of whom have been there for years. Very professional operation and they make you feel at home and very glad to be there. There are only 10 rooms at the resort so the maximum number of divers you would encounter is 20. It's just a perfect little jewel of a resort and dive operation.

Room Tip: Ocean view cottages do not have A/C. There are some A/C rooms if you prefer. Normally, the ocean b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltoNMDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
19.4 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
96 reviews
22.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: £178 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Point is an excellent choice for those who want to get away from the crowd and have a vacation truly focused on relaxation, some of the best diving in the world, fabulous food, and great comradery. We offer all-inclusive packages for divers and non-divers alike. We strive to provide our guests with a gracious and welcoming atmosphere where comfort, safety and leisure are our top priority. Pirates Point has a private, spacious dive boat and well trained dive staff. Beginners and experienced divers are welcome. Great snorkeling is found right in front of the resort. Guests also enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trail hikes, bicycle rides, picnics, iguana and bird watching. Pirates Point offers accommodations that are simple, tasteful and immaculate. Our features include: • 11 rooms in cottages • 4 of the 11 rooms are oceanfront with oceanside porches • 5 of the 11 rooms offer air conditioning and are set back from the oceanfront. One of the rooms is designated for singles only (no single supplement). • 1 large oceanfront room with air conditioning ideal for 3 people ($10/day usage fee on AC) • 1 large ocean view room with air conditioning suitable for 4 (parents with children only) ($10/day usage fee on AC) • Daily maid service is provided ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing