We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful diving, company and food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful diving, company and food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in June of 2014. We had to reschedule from April and they were totally accommodating. My wife was a very, very uncertain diver but they gave her the personal help and instruction to help her enjoy her trip and dive very confidently! We rented BC's, regulators, dive computers and weights. We are used to dive shops setting it all up for us. The staff at Pirates Point insisted on showing us how to do this ourselves, always checked our work to ensure we were safe, and this was a very beneficial approach. They even tutored us on the dive computers, which we had never used before as historically we would just follow the dive profiles on other trips. This too is a tremendous confidence booster and great safety instruction for future dive trips wherever they might be.

Food is wonderful and the cozy, friendly atmosphere is great. Even with the warm June weather all we needed was a fan, and the ocean breezes.

They work hard to help maintain the island ecosystem and this was very important to us. Little Cayman is a small island, and this resort is very dive centric. If you want great scuba, food and atmosphere this is the place. The pool was a refreshing option as well!

We'll be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    16
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
206
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bosque Farms, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Started going to Pirate's Point back in the early 90's. Have always been met with a clean room, great diving experience, and wonderful food. The staff considers you part of the family and they have continued to welcome me back with open arms many many times. Whether I arrive as a single or with a significant other, the service is always exceptional. Thank you Gladys, Gay, Ed, Martha, Michelle, Mike, Bob, and Diane. See you again soon.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best. However, if you need air-conditioning, they will not be for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMQtrhrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're looking for a flashy, modern and swanky hotel then this is not it. If you're looking for a genuine, authentic and charming place, then this is the place to be. At Pirates Point you become "one of the family". They offer such a warm service in everything; the diving, the food (healthy, homey and delicious) and the surroundings. The rooms are traditional Cayman style and perfectly comfortable. The diving is amazing and their dive masters are fantastic. We've stayed at another hotel on Little Cayman before but it was more generic and not as special an experience. If you want to really experience the best of Little Cayman, then this is the place to stay. We live on Grand Cayman but we can't wait to get back Pirates Point in Little Cayman.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I wish TripAdvisor had a category for 'beyond your wildest expectations'. 5 for Excellent doesn't come close. From the location to the diving to the food to the staff our trip was a dream come true. Big thanks to the staff - Gay, Ed, Michelle, Bob, Mike, Chef Diane, Chef Anthony and last but not least, our instructor, friend and one of the most incredible women I've ever met, Martha. You all took such good care of us and we could never thank you enough. The diving was breathtaking; no words to really describe the magical underwater world. The food was some of the most delicious I've tasted while traveling, attention to food allergies was fantastic and it was always made with love. We cannot wait to get back to this home away from home. Thank you doesn't do justice to how grateful we are! Much love to you all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I always check the best and the worst reviews before choosing a resort or vacation spot. You can look up the worst one about Pirates Point Resort, but that person could not possibly ever have gone there!
This was our first time there and we felt like part of the family the first day. The staff always had time to answer questions and solve any problems, no matter how small (no big ones ever came up). Our room was bright and airy and had a wonderful tropical decor without being gaudy.
We can understand some "hard core" divers grumbling about "only two dives a day," but an hour and a half to two hours under water was just right for us. They don't cut dives short, but ask you to come up with 500 psi in your tank, a standard with most dive operations. And we all went diving on the same Bloody Bay wall.
We saved the best part for last! They had two chefs (not cooks, CHEFS!) and all of our meals were gourmet. you may have croissants, banana crapes or quiche for breakfast, full lunches, and possibly a stuffed pork tenderloin or or wonderful fish for dinner. They even have guests coming in from other resorts for dinner. You have to try that if you decide to stay someplace else. They were nice enough to give serve us a full lunch two hours early because of our flight time.
Ok, every review should have a "but" in it, even if you have to pick something minor. So... the bar-lounge area was a bit kitschy, but you would have to see it for yourself to understand.
Bottom line, don't go there if you want to dive your brains out and come home more worn out than when you left, but do go if you want to be pampered, spoiled and totally relaxed after a week or so on Bloody Bay Wall.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a great breeze blowing through, but you might find them a little warm in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There are so many reviews that reflect our experience at Pirate's Point that I'm not going to reinvent the wheel... It is a laid back dive resort with serious diving staff. While my husband and I don't dive, our teens do. After our return from T&C last year, our son announced that he wanted more wall diving, so I went on line and found Pirate's Point. Our daughter got her certification while we were there (Bob was a great instructor), and we went out on the boat nearly every day to snorkel. The crew was incredible - I definitely knew that our kids were in great hands! The accommodations are simple, but that really didn't matter. If you want a Ritz Carlton, look elsewhere. If you want to dive (or snorkel), have great food and relax (bring a lot of books to sit by the pool in the afternoon), then this may be your place! The food was terrific (the only issue was that our son is a basic meat and potatoes kid, so a couple of the meals were challenging, while not insurmountable). I was a little worried , based upon previous reviews, that there would be an older crowd, but that was not the case - there were several families with teens and young adults, and our kids were very comfortable. New Year's Eve and Friday night sushi at Gladys's lovely home were very special. Mexican Train Dominoes after dinner is not to be missed, but be aware of the sign hanging above the table: "My barn, my rules". It's true. While we have done a lot of traveling with the kids over the years, they have never asked to return anywhere.... until now. So we will be back in December, like so many others. It's a very special place!

Room Tip: We had air conditioned rooms, but it's probably not necessary during the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetroKitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just returned from a week of diving in Little Cayman, staying at Pirate's Point Resort. We were there about the same time last year. It is a place that definitely makes you want to return again, year after year. In fact while we were there, other people had been there 20 times, 17 times, 6 times, 4 times, etc. Obviously a place with a loyal following. And many guests came from far away--Alaska, Oregon, Las Vegas, Montana. Some spent two weeks there.

The diving is easy, with 2 dives a day and no limit to bottom time. The Yellow Rose dive boat is well set up for divers with a giant stride entry and large ladder to return to the boat. Safety is a concern with every precaution taken for safe diving. A depth limit is enforced due to Cayman diving rules. Nitrox is available on demand. You can dive with a dive guide or do your own thing. You just have to let the boat staff know if you chose not to dive with a guide.

One of the best thing about Pirate's Point is the incredible quality of the meals. All meals are served buffet style with a wonderful choice of excellent dishes--from fish to pork to lamb to beef to chicken. Particularly outstanding are the salads and vegetables. It's hard to imagine that all the varied ingredients are available on such a small island. I managed to gain 4 pounds in a week because everything was too good to pass up!

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. They offer either beach front rooms cooled by fans or ocean breezes or air conditioned rooms a bit back from the beach. Either way, there are plenty of lounges and hammocks around the property for sun or shade. There is also a lovely pool just off the beach with lounges to relax in. Good fat-tire bikes are free for a ride around the island if you need extra exercise.

Cocktail hour brings everyone out for fabulous nibbles and a free, open help-yourself bar for those on a dive package. Guests (no more than 20 since there are only 10 rooms) congregate in the bar/club house at 6:30 for drinks and conversation. We've met so many interesting and entertaining people during a our two visits there. Dinner is served at 7:30 and it was always wonderful. There are two chefs--Diane for breakfast and lunch and Anthony for dinner. It seems like they always outdid themselves. In fact, there is a great cookbook of many of their great recipes.

One of the very best things is the outstanding staff. Although small in number, they all do an incredible job of helping wherever it is needed. The boat staff helps in the kitchen, the boutique, filling tanks, etc. They love what they are doing and it shows. I can't recommend Pirate's Point highly enough. At a time when the Caribbean is over run with cruise ships letting off hundreds of passengers on small islands, Little Cayman has no cruise ships and no plans for them in the future. Life is like it was many years ago in the islands. Just think of the Buffet songs--then here is your spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
19.4 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Property: Pirates Point Resort
Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Point is an excellent choice for those who want to get away from the crowd and have a vacation truly focused on relaxation, some of the best diving in the world, fabulous food, and great comradery. We offer all-inclusive packages for divers and non-divers alike. We strive to provide our guests with a gracious and welcoming atmosphere where comfort, safety and leisure are our top priority. Pirates Point has a private, spacious dive boat and well trained dive staff. Beginners and experienced divers are welcome. Great snorkeling is found right in front of the resort. Guests also enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trail hikes, bicycle rides, picnics, iguana and bird watching. Pirates Point offers accommodations that are simple, tasteful and immaculate. Our features include: • 11 rooms in cottages • 4 of the 11 rooms are oceanfront with oceanside porches • 5 of the 11 rooms offer air conditioning and are set back from the oceanfront. One of the rooms is designated for singles only (no single supplement). • 1 large oceanfront room with air conditioning ideal for 3 people ($10/day usage fee on AC) • 1 large ocean view room with air conditioning suitable for 4 (parents with children only) ($10/day usage fee on AC) • Daily maid service is provided ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing