We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 8th trip to Pirates Point - and counting!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Our 8th trip to Pirates Point – and counting!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We look forward every year to our family dive vacation at Pirates Point in Little Cayman. This was our eighth consecutive year. For people who never went anywhere for diving more than twice, that really says something about the quality of the diving.

However, great diving alone would not keep us going back, year after year. As with most things in life, it all comes down to the people. The people are truly what makes Pirates Point our dive vacation of choice.

Each and every member of the staff feels like an old friend by now. We treasured the few days that owner Gladys Howard was there this year, and enjoyed talking with her at dinner and playing dominos with her for three nights. Diving with Martha, Bob, Michelle, Mike, and Gay is always a treat – but especially bittersweet this year, since Martha will be retiring in August. Each of them has a different personality in the water – but all of them are incredibly skilled and caring divemasters who have a wealth of knowledge about the reefs, the sea life, and the island. We always leave as much better divers than we arrived.

We’ve also come to love diving with some of the same guests this year. We’ve been to Pirates Point several times in early June, and this year were thrilled to see “old friends” like Corky and Sy, Vivian and Ed, Karen and Mike, and Gail. But we also met new friends like Ginny and Sandy, Kevin and Amie, and Marty and Anne. Unlike hotels, where it is likely that you’ll eat dinner with the people you came with every night, the fabulous thing about Pirates Point is that you “mix it up” and are constantly connecting with new people. Pirates Point is perfect because of its small size – no matter who you have lunch or dinner with – they are not a stranger!

And let’s talk about the food! Chef Jeff has moved on, but Chef Anthony is here and does a great job at dinner. But our real favorite is Chef Diane, who does most of the breakfasts and lunches. Diane has the sunniest disposition of anyone I’ve ever met, and is an absolute delight. She loves people, loves cooking, and loves life. She is a fantastic cook so make sure you buy the “new” cookbook (which features a lot of Diane’s recipes) before you leave.

When you are evaluating dive resorts in Little Cayman, please consider the fact that although Pirates Point only does two dives a day, these are LONG dives, because folks stay down as long as they have air. (I love that we are treated as responsible divers, who can judge our surface intervals, bottom times, and can read our computers. I would hate to dive with an operation that required me to come up at a certain time.)

We leave at 9 after a leisurely 8 am breakfast, and enjoy two dives with long bottom times (and snacks in between like chocolate croissants or blueberry muffins if they are left over from breakfast) before we get back for lunch at 2 or 2:30. Bottom line is that we have had a very FULL day of diving without stressing ourselves to do three dives. (Who really wants to dive after lunch anyway - especially when you've had a fabulous lunch like the ones Dianne cooks at Pirates Point?)

Friday nights at Gladys’ home with sushi and champagne are special even if Gladys is not there. Wonderful conversation, outstanding sushi, and the champagne flows freely. Please make sure to check out Chef Debbie’s lovely island based jewelry which is both affordable and unique. No pressure to buy - but trust me, you'll be sorry if you don't at least take a look!

Yes, we’ll be back next year – we’ve already booked a year in advance!

Room Tip: At lot of guests choose the air-conditioned rooms, but after the first year, we decided we preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    16
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
212
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I have visited Pirates Point for 25 years running. We have seen changes over the years (island-wide power, the beachfront units 5, the pool, expansion of the kitchen and dining room, construction of Gladys's home . . . ). What keeps us coming back are the near-constants: Gladys' hearty Texas welcomes, incredibly accommodating staff (who will also quietly call you out if you violate the dive profile, or offer skilled instruction if your buoyancy needs a little work), fabulous food, comfortable rooms, a very laid-back atmosphere (shorts, t-shirts, and flip-flops all week if that's what you want to wear), and marvelous diving. Even after all these years, we see something novel each trip; this year it was flapping dingbats (a type of sea slug), a masked hamlet, and a hammerhead shark.

If you want absolutely pristine rooms, plush bathrooms, private dining, or seclusion from other guests at the resort, this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for comfortable accommodations, excellent food, careful and individualized attention from stellar dive instructors, loooonnnnggg bottom times, and like-minded divers, then visit Pirates Point. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms (5A thru 5D) have no AC, but great cross-ventilation from the ocean breezes (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in June of 2014. We had to reschedule from April and they were totally accommodating. My wife was a very, very uncertain diver but they gave her the personal help and instruction to help her enjoy her trip and dive very confidently! We rented BC's, regulators, dive computers and weights. We are used to dive shops setting it all up for us. The staff at Pirates Point insisted on showing us how to do this ourselves, always checked our work to ensure we were safe, and this was a very beneficial approach. They even tutored us on the dive computers, which we had never used before as historically we would just follow the dive profiles on other trips. This too is a tremendous confidence booster and great safety instruction for future dive trips wherever they might be.

Food is wonderful and the cozy, friendly atmosphere is great. Even with the warm June weather all we needed was a fan, and the ocean breezes.

They work hard to help maintain the island ecosystem and this was very important to us. Little Cayman is a small island, and this resort is very dive centric. If you want great scuba, food and atmosphere this is the place. The pool was a refreshing option as well!

We'll be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosque Farms, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Started going to Pirate's Point back in the early 90's. Have always been met with a clean room, great diving experience, and wonderful food. The staff considers you part of the family and they have continued to welcome me back with open arms many many times. Whether I arrive as a single or with a significant other, the service is always exceptional. Thank you Gladys, Gay, Ed, Martha, Michelle, Mike, Bob, and Diane. See you again soon.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best. However, if you need air-conditioning, they will not be for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMQtrhrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're looking for a flashy, modern and swanky hotel then this is not it. If you're looking for a genuine, authentic and charming place, then this is the place to be. At Pirates Point you become "one of the family". They offer such a warm service in everything; the diving, the food (healthy, homey and delicious) and the surroundings. The rooms are traditional Cayman style and perfectly comfortable. The diving is amazing and their dive masters are fantastic. We've stayed at another hotel on Little Cayman before but it was more generic and not as special an experience. If you want to really experience the best of Little Cayman, then this is the place to stay. We live on Grand Cayman but we can't wait to get back Pirates Point in Little Cayman.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I wish TripAdvisor had a category for 'beyond your wildest expectations'. 5 for Excellent doesn't come close. From the location to the diving to the food to the staff our trip was a dream come true. Big thanks to the staff - Gay, Ed, Michelle, Bob, Mike, Chef Diane, Chef Anthony and last but not least, our instructor, friend and one of the most incredible women I've ever met, Martha. You all took such good care of us and we could never thank you enough. The diving was breathtaking; no words to really describe the magical underwater world. The food was some of the most delicious I've tasted while traveling, attention to food allergies was fantastic and it was always made with love. We cannot wait to get back to this home away from home. Thank you doesn't do justice to how grateful we are! Much love to you all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I always check the best and the worst reviews before choosing a resort or vacation spot. You can look up the worst one about Pirates Point Resort, but that person could not possibly ever have gone there!
This was our first time there and we felt like part of the family the first day. The staff always had time to answer questions and solve any problems, no matter how small (no big ones ever came up). Our room was bright and airy and had a wonderful tropical decor without being gaudy.
We can understand some "hard core" divers grumbling about "only two dives a day," but an hour and a half to two hours under water was just right for us. They don't cut dives short, but ask you to come up with 500 psi in your tank, a standard with most dive operations. And we all went diving on the same Bloody Bay wall.
We saved the best part for last! They had two chefs (not cooks, CHEFS!) and all of our meals were gourmet. you may have croissants, banana crapes or quiche for breakfast, full lunches, and possibly a stuffed pork tenderloin or or wonderful fish for dinner. They even have guests coming in from other resorts for dinner. You have to try that if you decide to stay someplace else. They were nice enough to give serve us a full lunch two hours early because of our flight time.
Ok, every review should have a "but" in it, even if you have to pick something minor. So... the bar-lounge area was a bit kitschy, but you would have to see it for yourself to understand.
Bottom line, don't go there if you want to dive your brains out and come home more worn out than when you left, but do go if you want to be pampered, spoiled and totally relaxed after a week or so on Bloody Bay Wall.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a great breeze blowing through, but you might find them a little warm in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
19.4 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
22.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Property: Pirates Point Resort
Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Point is an excellent choice for those who want to get away from the crowd and have a vacation truly focused on relaxation, some of the best diving in the world, fabulous food, and great comradery. We offer all-inclusive packages for divers and non-divers alike. We strive to provide our guests with a gracious and welcoming atmosphere where comfort, safety and leisure are our top priority. Pirates Point has a private, spacious dive boat and well trained dive staff. Beginners and experienced divers are welcome. Great snorkeling is found right in front of the resort. Guests also enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trail hikes, bicycle rides, picnics, iguana and bird watching. Pirates Point offers accommodations that are simple, tasteful and immaculate. Our features include: • 11 rooms in cottages • 4 of the 11 rooms are oceanfront with oceanside porches • 5 of the 11 rooms offer air conditioning and are set back from the oceanfront. One of the rooms is designated for singles only (no single supplement). • 1 large oceanfront room with air conditioning ideal for 3 people ($10/day usage fee on AC) • 1 large ocean view room with air conditioning suitable for 4 (parents with children only) ($10/day usage fee on AC) • Daily maid service is provided ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing