We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We recently stayed at the Southern Cross Club during Thanksgiving week. It was our first time to visit Little Cayman having been to Grand Cayman several times, including our wedding.

Little Cayman is very quiet and tranquil and peaceful - just what we were looking for. There is not much to do other than scuba dive or fish or lie in a hammock and read a book. The island is only about 8 miles long by 1 mile wide, surrounded by pristine unpopulated beaches and clear turquoise waters. There is no need to rent a car on Little Cayman but one day we rented scooters from Scooten! Scooters! and rode the entire way around the island. On other days we borrowed bicycles from the Southern Cross Club for a short ride to the village or to the National Trust House where the Red-footed Booby Pond Preserve is located. We also saw more than a dozen large iguanas out in the open at the Little Cayman Museum.

At the Southern Cross Club we stayed in a deluxe bungalow that included a private outdoor shower that we used when we came back from a dive trip. Our room was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. It was just a short walk to the main building which includes the dining area where you eat all your meals, the main office, and the bar. Speaking of meals, this was one of the best things about Southern Cross Club. Your room rate includes breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast is made to order while lunch is served buffet style, but different every day. The evening's 3-course dinner menu is posted at lunchtime and usually consists of two choices of an appetizer, entree and dessert that you choose in advance. Anu the chef is excellent and everything he prepared was beyond delicious. Besides Anu, everyone on the staff is super friendly and we left there feeling like family. I believe there was more staff than guests and we always felt taken care of. They contribute to the friendly casual atmosphere at the resort. We also had a chance to socialize with other guests as we got to know them on dive trips, mingling at the bar before dinner, or during dinner when the tables were set up family style on some nights. Fernando the bartender was friendly and very capable of making any drink you wanted, often singing while he mixes them.

During our 6-day stay we did three 2-tank dives and one single tank dusk dive. The dive masters – Mike, Henry, and Chris – were all great. They were entertaining, safety conscious, and knew the reefs like the back of their hand, always finding interesting things. On many of the dives we got a chance to swim with the friendly groupers that inhabit the reefs. We were even lucky enough to dive with Guy Harvey one day when he stayed at the Southern Cross to promote his new documentary about saving the Nassau Grouper.

It is hard to believe that Little Cayman has only had central electricity since the early 90’s. While the Southern Cross Club has been around for many years even before that, it is totally modern and upscale and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and attribute that to owner Peter Hillenbrand’s hospitable nature and the staff’s commitment to making every guest’s stay enjoyable, especially manager Neil van Niekerk and general manager Jen Mills who patiently removed splinters from my fingers after I slipped and fell on a dock (not theirs!). Now that’s customer service ☺ All in all, our vacation to Little Cayman and our stay at the Southern Cross Club exceeded all our expectations!

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows have a private outdoor shower which is very handy after returning from a dive t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bayoumom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
315
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I went for a 5 day get-a-way and were immediatly mezmorized by this intimate resort. The setting is surreal and the staff and food outstanding. The "Barefoot Elegance" description fits the Southen Cross Club well as it is both casual and classy at the same time. Probably best suited for those seeking total relaxation, diving and/or fishing experience as Little Cayman is a beautiful, but small, island.

We stayed on the top floor of the yellow bungalo (not sure if it has a room number) and it had spectacular views, very comfortable accomadations, even an outside shower on the balcony!

The dive staff was phenominal; from tracking down my old certification, a quick refresher course, and top quality gear. The boat is new and well set up. I especially liked the drawings and small presentation before each dive explaining what lie below us in the deep blue sea before we jumped in. These are truly "guided dives" and Mike and Christian are exceptional all the way around. And the diving is WOW.

Lunch and dinner are signalled by a ring of the bell and were tasty and healthy at the same time. Fernando is a wizard at the bar and made for some memorable evenings. While we visited, staff outnumbered the guest and were both helpful and friendly. We will be back and hopefully sooner than later!!!

Room Tip: The room on top of the yellow bungalow is PERFECT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have been visiting the Southern Cross Club for years and our recent visit found it at its peak of performance. The food is excellently prepared by Chef Anu who presents his high quality meals with a warm smile. We were entertained nightly at the outdoor bar by Fernando, who is an expert mixologist, creating drinks with fresh fruits tailored to each guest's desires.

There are always interesting guests at Southern Cross Club who like to vacation off the beaten path a bit and are willing to make the effort to reach a spot that's a little more remote. We were lucky to be there when Guy Harvey came over to present a work-in-progress film aimed at preserving the Grouper population that spawns annually only near Little Cayman. He stayed at and dived with the Southern Cross Club and was delightful to talk to. We also were intrigued with a couple from Houston who quietly acknowledged that he was the pilot of the Space Shuttle on a trip to the Russian Space Station.

The friendly staff, fishing guides, and highly qualified dive team work smoothly and efficiently so that guests are beautifully accommodated and can pursue any activity they desire, from fishing the flats for bonefish and permit, diving the pristine waters, snorkeling over the reefs, or just lounging in a hammock beside turquoise waters with a good book.

Southern Cross Club is the ideal place to step off the world for a bit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed the week of 29-27 October 2011, just as the SCC had reopened after its annual down period. Unlike the other times I have visited, the place was nearly empty, but the treatment, the food, and the diving were all as good as ever. I was especially impressed that we managed to experience such great diving, even when the local storms made it impossible to circle to the other side of the island four of the six diving days. The other side has more noted dive sites, but I thoroughly enjoyed the nearer sites this time. The dive crew, with several familiar faces, was friendly, helpful, skilled, and professional. Back on land, the food was absolutely fantastic and the service equally good. It was an improvement that this time wireless service was available in the clubhouse, so I did not have to line up to use the common house laptop. And this time I splurged and rented one of the new bungalos, which was luxurious and well worth the slight upcharge. From now on, that's where I'm staying when I go back, as I certainly will. In fact, my dive buddies and I have already made reservations for next summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Follansbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This review is LONG overdue since we actually stayed there in August 2010 for our honeymoon, but we wanted to make sure we left a good review anyway.
We stayed for a week at the Southern Cross Club and reserved the honeymoon suite for our stay. We were very happy about this choice for our trip. It was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted to be on a small quiet island in the Caribbean and that was exactly what we found. there is enough space on Little Cayman Island to get away and not see another person for hours. The staff was wonderful and we got to know them well since they were very friendly. They have bicycles you can use for free to get around some of the little island's sites or go to the store and restaurant just a few minutes down the road. There are also kayaks on the beach that can be used to row to uninhabited Owen Island only a few hundred yards away. The food was also excellent and there was a large variety everyday. Also upon request they will set up an outdoor torch-lit dinner on the beach for a romantic evening.
Though we don't dive as a hobby we go out on a dive while we were here. This is a diver's paradise as there are multiple diving trips a day and Little Cayman is known as one of the world's best dive spots. Since it was our first time ever diving, the instructor took all the time we needed to teach us and and the dive guide who actually took us out also was very accommodating and made the experience unforgettable.
If you are looking for a perfect place to dive or just a place to get away from the world this is it! You can get completely involved with everyone here and on the little island or keep completely to yourself and Southern Cross Club will accommodate you perfectly.
The only negative I could identify is the eelgrass right off the beach directly in front of the resort prevents enjoyable swimming but that is not the fault of the club but just a factor of location. All in all we had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend Southern Cross Club to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBorrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We recently returned home from an all too short stay at Southern Cross Club on Little Cayman. It was our second trip to the island- first stay at Southern Cross- and the entire experience from the location, to the staff, and diving were above and beyond expectations.

I cannot say enough about the management at SCC as well as the staff. Manager Neil and the hotel staff make it their duty to attend to your every need, immediately enveloping you in the family like atmosphere at the resort. Fernando, the "mother mixologist" of the island entertains resort guests and locals nightly with his charming personality and fabulous drink creations. The dive staff is exceptional, both professional and safe, and are as enthusiastic about finding treasures below the surface as the group on the boat. The hotels offers great entertainment for non divers including kayaks, paddle boards, sunset cruises, and various events in the evenings where guests and residents of the island can mingle and enjoy the barefoot elegance of this unforgettable resort.

Whether you are a diver or just looking for relaxation on a quiet secluded beach, you can not miss a trip to Southern Cross. This is the greatest place to stay if you want a laid back island trip away from the hustle and bustle of your typical crowded beach resort. Little Cayman remains at the top of my list for diving destinations, and I will always return to Southern Cross where I know the staff and guests will make my trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ange2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This resort is everything anyone would ever want in a n 'upscale' dive resort. There are two two story buildings on the beach, both are more expensive and worth it! The other buildings hold two units each, are very comfortable and all on the beach. Air conditioning in every unit, beautifully decorated, some with outside showers (wonderful), very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. Dining is a wonderful for every meal. Food is exceptionally good for being in such a remote area. Staff is warm and very friendly. Diving is the best diving on 'The Bloody Wall'. Every dive site is within a 10 to 15 minute boat ride. Dive staff are very experienced and helpful. Many things to do 'apres' dive... bicycle around the island on Southern Cross bikes, visit the Booby pond and museum (wonderful home made ice cream cones), go with a Southern Cross fishing guide to bone fish or to the tarpon lake (land locked tarpon with fly rods...WOW) Stop and feed the iguana's on the bike ride. This was our third visit to Southern Cross and we will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has an outside shower on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatandDiSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
88 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Property: Southern Cross Club
Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing