We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't need to travel anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

There is something so amazing about the way SCC staff make you feel like family and that you're at home when you visit Little Cayman! We returned for a second visit to a warm welcome and made new friends. If you like quiet downtime, being outside, and making new friends then you will love Southern Cross Club. Besides the staff my favorite part is you are right on the beach and the delicious food!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Southern Cross Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

If you are looking for a vacation where you're treated to great food, pampered by very attentive, cheerful, friendly staff, and surrounded by palm trees and serenity... then Southern Cross is the perfect place! This was our second time at the Club and we absolutely love it. The diving is great and even though the weather was a bit stormy this past week while we were there, the dive staff took extra care to modify the boat ride to make sure I didn't get sea sick (I'm prone to that). And, diving isn't the only thing to do besides drinking several wonderful varieties of rum drinks that Fernando the awesome bartender can make, we also go beach combing for sea beans, kayaking over to Owen Island for a nice swim, biking around the island and simply making new friends. Cheers to all the staff at the club and many thanks for such a wonderful stay, AGAIN!

Room Tip: Every bungalow is a great room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

For the better part of a year we have been reading Trip Advisor reviews like this one about the Southern Cross Club in anticipation of our eventual vacation and wedding which took place in November 2011. Despite all of the wonderful reviews we read, the Southern Cross Club and the entire Little Cayman experience proved to exceed our expectations. All of the reviews we read were really great but none can accurately describe the peaceful magic that is felt there. This is truly a magnificent place to visit. We hope to return again and again.

All of the staff at the SCC are seasoned hospitality professionals who are all around nice people to vacation with. They certainly have a great team that knows how to make a vacation spectacular! The food was exceptional with Anu and his capable staff providing deliciously creative meals each day that were very much enjoyed by all. We were very successful while deep-sea fishing and thoroughly enjoyed the variety of culinary dishes that Anu was able to provide to the guests! The housekeeping was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed Mirelda’s company, words of wisdom and fishing tips – thanks Mirelda!

The SCC was very accommodating with all of our requests for our wedding and our wedding day turned out better than we could have imagined including the beautiful local flowers from Brigitte. The SCC made for a perfect wedding location with the beautiful green and blue hues of the sea along with Owen Island in the background on a lovely warm sandy beach. Heather Holt (heatherholtphotography.com) our photographer was fabulous. She made the experience a lot of fun and provided a creative variety of photos that we are very pleased with. We were also pleased with Reverend Arthur Henriquez-Bent who was a very accommodating kind gentleman.

This is one of the best places that we have been and would recommend this unforgettable experience to all.

Dave and Judy

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandjudy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Wow. Where to begin! My husband and i are on the plane ride home after spending an amazingly perfect week at The Southern Cross Club on Little Cayman. My husband and i are both very experienced travelers ans divers. We have traveled throughout the world staying at some of the best hotels out there. We know a good thing when we see it and the SCC is a good thing! From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Nicky and a very beautiful girl who's name is escaping me at the moment I could feel the stress from the last few months of a very busy work schedule being lifted. The SCC is a very laid back place which is exactly what my husband and I wanted. We wanted to be at a very very nice place in terms of great food, phenomenal diving, beautiful scenery, good food, and a staff to cater to our every need while not hovering. That is exactly what we got at the SCC!

Let me start with the management....superb! Jenn and Neil are fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure all was always going well for us and I inquired if there was ever anything else we needed. They are both very nice personable folks and they are surrounded by an equally competent, nice, and engaging
team!

We stayed in the downstairs of one of the deluxe beach bungalows and we thougt it was just perfect. It was very nice but not pretentious. If you are looking for the Ritz you will not find it on Little Cayman. That is not what Little Cayman os about. Rather, it is much more understated and laid back than that. However, the rooms were very nice, large, clean, and our view was to die for as it was about 20 feet from the waters edge. We especially loved our outdoor shower which is where we ended up taking all of our showers whether it was after a dive or just this AM before we left (there is a privacy wall). We also loved opening all of the windows and
turning on the fan and only using the screen door at night...glorious!

The diving was truly beautiful and the Dive Operation was really well run. Guides and captains Christian, Henry, and Mike were awesome! Not only were they great at pointing out some the cooler things on dives but they were a blast to hang out with during dives. Not oly are they competent and fun but they are very very safe.

The food was really very good and pretty darn healthy which was a plus! We did not have one meal where we didn't look at each other afterwards and say,"that was delicious!". When possible the checfs will also try and accommodate requets. Several of them are from India and Indian food is our favorite. We requested and they granted our craving for curry. One day at lunch they did an awesome chicken curry and the next day they did a fish curry. Yum!!! Laura, Nicky, and the beautiful girl were awesome servers and hosts and we enjoyed talking to all them.

While my husband and I don't drink the bartender Fernando was a great guy. He made us some delicious nonalcoholic drinks! Try a Swiss lemonade!

Two of our favorite things other
than diving were reading in the numerous hammocks as well as kayaking out toward Owen Island with Sherry who works there as well as her boyfriend who was visiting and snorkeling for conch. We then took them back to resort and Sherry taught us how to get the conch out and the chef then made us ceviche. Awesome! It was really fun!

The entire team the is wonderful! We will definitely be back to The Southern Cross Club for diving and relaxing again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrazyArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Recently returned from a weeks trip escorting a group of activity minded friends. Exceptional food, friendly and helpful service, amazing location. Stunning beaches, beautiful island paradise, totally safe and everyone was friendly. Birdlife impressive, we were predominently saltwater fly fishers, challenging but extremely rewarding fishing (catch and release). superb snorkelling (we never got around to learing diving). All will return with their partners, just did not want to leave.
Cottages are comfortable, overlooking the beach and close to amenities.
This is the best accommodation/island trip I have experienced on my many visits to the Caribbean.

Room Tip: The new apartments look great but we enjoyed the older cottages.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinAWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have recently returned from another stay at Southern Cross and as always we hated to leave. My husband and daughter dive as often as the boat goes out and with Mike,Christian and Henry to expertly guide them there is always so much to be found and seen,especially the little things hidden away in nooks and crannies.
There were a few new faces this season, but all friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. Fernando the barman is very professional and can mix anything you want. He also has some great ideas for new cocktails to try.
Anu the head Chef served some wonderful food. Delicious menus for plated dinners or for buffet nights and he was always there to greet you in the dining area with a smile.
We have been visiting the resort for over 10 years now and in that time we are pleased that it is still the same. The staff come and go and things change and grow as they must, but at its heart Southern Cross Club remains just as it was and that is, a place to dive, fish, relax and unwind essential to so many of us with busy lives. If you cant do that at SCC then I don"t know where you can.
We shall be back in March.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just returned from Southern Cross Club where we spent an idyllic week. Fabulous diving, great food, lovely accommodation and pure relaxation. The ambiance is wonderful and the staff extremely friendly and willing to help, especially Nicky and Laura. Fernando will always come up with an interesting cocktail at the end of the day and do so with great humour. The food is delicious and served with a smile by Anu. Diving, some of the best in the world and very professionally run. Great attention to detail, and lots of small surprises. Don't forget to ask about the annual 'Rum Ceremony".

Stories of 'sea grass'? Yes you do need some endurance to wade over it to get to the sandy bottom of swimming, not a problem if you are diving and you can get into the water from the jetty...don't let it put you off though as everything else makes up for it and there is a small swimming pool.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sal320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
94 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: £214 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing