We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom and Eva Morrow's Experience at Southern Cross Club”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tom and Eva Morrow's Experience at Southern Cross Club”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent Service very friendly overall. We loved the privacy of having our own beach and upper floor beach house. The diving was very good. Take a look at the dive pics by clicking on the link:

http://www.michiganhomes.net/eva/listing.php?listing=LittleCaymanDiveTrip2012

We would definitely come back again. This would be an excellent venue for a group of friends to dive together.

Room Tip: If you stay in the upper unit you have a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
79
311
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Easy to make the weight limit for baggage as all you need is shorts, tshirts and your'e barefeet. This small resort is as laid back as you want to make it, there is no pressure from the attentive staff to do anymore than you want to. The dive staff is very professional and excited to show you around their big salty pool, if you wish to take a leisurely bike ride around the island with a packed lunch, this is easily accommadated, the bonefish are more than happy to test your skills. We don't usually return to the same spot, but have just returned from our fourth visit in the last 8 years. The rooms are clean and spacious with bar fridge and air. As well you need not worry about losing your room key as you need not lock the door, and the honor system still exists at the bar during the day. The food was very good, and we especially enjoy not having to meet a dress code to enjoy a leisurely dinner while on vacation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor showers, which is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I spent five glorious days at SCC with old and dear friends from the Midwest. We found the Club to be friendly and very laid back. The service was excellent and the staff courteous and professional. If you're looking for luxurious furnishings and a choice of night life hot spots, this is not the place for you. We were very pleased with the casual and informal ambience. It is very quiet at night boasting a show with millions of stars. The beach is beautiful and the weather was perfect. I often missed breakfast and was greeted in the dining room by a hospitable server insisting the chef could fix me something. One morning I had my (late) breakfast on the pool deck and sat there for well over a half hour without a soul around. I felt like I was on my own private island. The guys had a great and successful time fishing and the wife scuba dived. I was very content to wander, read and veg. My husband and I came back rested and really excited to visit again. Many thanks to Peter and his wonderful staff for a truly memorable vacation. NLS/WBS

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisviile, ky
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Southern Cross Club, Little Cayman is a gem in the Carribean. Peter Hillenbrand, the owner, has a passion for the place and has kept the casual relaxed ambiance of the resort intact since purchasing it from the original founders. The marine ecosystem is a priority and the reefs and diving are pristine and spectacular. You can dive and fish to your hearts content or relax on the perfect white sandy beach and then satisfy your hunger with some delicious cuisine from Chef Anu. The resort is well managed by Jen and Neil and the service is courteous and friendly from all the dedicated staff. Diving on the famous Bloody Bay wall is spectacular with great visibility and marine life galore. The huge Nassau grouper are so friendly you can actually pet and kiss them on the lips! This is my new hideaway ! Plan on going back many more times.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After an exhaustive search by my lovely wife, we chose SCC because of the small size, activities and the reviews posted here. We were not disappointed.

I have had several "lay around on the beach" type vacations and really wanted more activities. I can't imagine a better place for diving or fishing. We love snorkeling but have never been diving. Liz and I both were worried about diving. She had a general sort of fear while mine was more of a problem with my mask. Kristian was our dive master and handled the training. He has a great demeanor. Calm and patient. He took care of our worries. We had a great time on our dives. We have snorkeled in some great places and always enjoyed it, but this place was different. The dive sites at Bloody Bay Wall are incredible. And the number and size of the sites was amazing. It seemed like they go on forever. And getting there took no time at all. Maximum fun, minimal hassle.

The same goes for the fishing. The club employs a stand up comedian. His name is Tom and he sometimes takes guests out on a boat so they can fish. He is a very funny guy and we caught fish on every trip in spite of him.

Actually, that was some fishing guide humor. He's a great guide and very personable and funny. Those last two traits make waiting for fish to bite pretty fun. We kept telling him he needed to be a comedian because Liz and I were laughing the whole time. Tom put us right on the fish. We caught grouper, triggerfish, bonefish, chub and an accidental shark. It was the most fun I've had fishing and definitely worth the trip. And, like the diving, it is right there off the beach. We didn't get to the deep water to fish for tuna because of our scheduling, but the other guests we were with did. George and Melissa caught five tuna one morning and told us they didn't care to catch anymore because their arms were so tired from fighting the ones they did catch.

We loved the food. Anu and his staff did a great job. And on the same note, all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. This makes a huge difference in a vacation and is one reason we aren't going back to Belize. The staff at SCC seems to genuinely want you to enjoy yourself.

We met two other couples who we dined with and hung out with at the bar. That was very nice as well.

Good job, SCC. We definitely recommend visiting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamDenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

For the third time within the last 10 years, 6 of us have returned to the most friendly, fun, delicious and best dive resort in the Carribbean. Reef life was abundant, and because the Nassau groupers were spawning, the diving was even more spectacular. Rays, eels, lobster, reef and nurse sharks, turtles, and schools of fish of all kinds were teaming on Bloody Bay/Jackson Bight sites as well as on the the south side of the island. Our dive guides Justine and Khristian were so much fun, very knowledgeable, and shared with us the micro reef life, which is generally overlooked. We couldn't have asked for better diving-every one was unique and special and we laughed alot with J & K. Best diving and most fun we have had in the Carribbean! If you like to dive, relax, be treated like family, eat delicious meals, and have an artist mixologist by the name of Fernando take good care of you and your beverages, then this is your place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer cottages on the right as you look at the resort from the south side. Loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenT319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

this is the most amazing resort that i have ever stayed at. barefoot elegance is the way forward... the staff are brilliant the rooms are amazing, the diving was spectacular and the dive staff were first rate with an excellent knowledge..

Room Tip: they are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Property: Southern Cross Club
Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing