We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect dive vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Cross Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect dive vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our second visit to SCC. It will not be our last. The facilities are perfect if you are looking for a relaxing, well maintained, unpretentious full service resort. The facilities are great, the food is great, the diving is great and the staff is even better. They make you feel part of the family. If you dive, there cannot be any better place to go.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are 8-12. Number 2 is private and farthest from all of the action. 6 and 7 are the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Barbara31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
285
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at SCC in November 2012 for 7 nights with 8 friends. One of us had been here before and "dragged" the others along. And we are very happy for that!
The choice to be active or very lazy was very tough every day :-) and both choices were very appealing in this paradise on land as well as under water.
The staff was very friendly and attentive, even when you let a honey bottle explode or need bandages for the 3rd day in a row. Fernando is the best bartender ever, unfortunately he had his last day on the resort while we were there.
Mike is a very good diving teacher who takes his profession very seriously.
Breakfast was a bit early for non-divers, but you can take a nap in one of the hammocks afterwards.
The night of the hermit crab race and the evening with the sunset cruise on the ponton boat are very memorable and were immensely enjoyed!
We hope to be back soon, with even more friends!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge_Marlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Our second Christmas at Southern Cross Club. Nothing says "fantastic" like repeat guests and there are many at SCC. It's a relatively small resort where you end up knowing most of the staff by name. In fact, it's such a family feeling that it's almost uncomfortable not pitching in to help clean up after meals. The diving was great and on Christmas we stopped on route to spend a few minutes snorkeling with a pod of dolphins - very special. The general theme at SCC is quite simple - the staff wants you to be happy and will go several extra miles to make that happen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wtf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

My husband and I have just returned from an amazing 7 night stay at Southern Cross Club. The staff were friendly, courteous, attentive, helpful and always on hand to attend to our every need. We stayed in the upper level of the yellow house and had fantastic views over the sea. Our room was clean, well furnished and very comfortable. There was a fridge to keep our drinks cool and tea and coffee making facilities. We were impressed that there were mosquito screens on every window and door meaning that we could sleep with the windows and doors open as we preferred this to the air conditioning although this was very efficient. The outdoor shower was a real bonus and nothing can beat having a shower whilst looking out over turquoise waters towards Owen Island. There was a good inside shower but we only used this once. We had no problems with drinking the water out of the tap which was processed from sea water by the resort's own water treatment plant. Had we not been told, we would have thought I was drinking bottled spring water! The food was excellent; well presented with plenty of choice at breakfast and lunch. There was a choice of two dishes on each course at dinner but the chef was very accommodating with guests who did not like the choices. We said we did not like Indian food and there was a buffet evening of Indian food. Having talked to the chef, we decided to give it a try and we loved it! We cannot mention food without mentioning the cookies which were available at lunchtime. These have to rate amongst the best we have ever tasted. The dress code for breakfast and lunch is very casual whilst beachwear is discouraged at dinner. The bar was well stocked and the bar staff friendly and skilled at making cocktails of which we sampled a few! Although we did not participate in diving or fishing, the snorkeling along the reef was excellent. There was free use of sea kayaks, snorkeling equipment and bikes to explore the island. We hired a car for one day to explore the island and this was very worthwhile, approx US$70 plus CI Driving Permit US$7.50 (Be sure to state if you want to use this in Grand Cayman or Cayman Brac as the permit is transferable).There are few cars and iguanas have the right of way on roads! The island is a nature lovers paradise with amazing flora and fauna.The tranquility and zero crime rate of Little Cayman makes for a totally relaxing holiday. We had an amazing time and this resort is top of our list for a return visit.

Room Tip: The two double apartments on the front are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We are just returning from a week at Southern Cross -- and had a wonderful experience. The staff, food, facilities, environment were all top notch. The diving was better than what we had expected as we have been diving in the Pacific the last 10+ years. The rooms are so nice with comfortable beds - tons of storage and plenty of room to spread out. You can do as much as you want or a little as you want -- however Little Cayman is a small island so don't expect a lot of shopping/night life. The food -was wonderful and the bar was the center of activity in the evenings with more choices than you could imagine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScubaDiverMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

If you know how to be calm, if you want to be among friends (old, and new), if you want to learn, if you love nature more than glitz, if you want to be a part of rather than a customer of a resort, if small is better, and sleep, food, turquoise water, diving, fishing, seeing, conversing, laughing, and being enjoyed matter a lot to you, but being seen, winning the game, feeling superior, leaving your mark, finding excitement, being entertained, getting a deal, partying all night, and hooking up matter not at all -- then you will absolutely love this place. And like the rest of us, you will just keep coming back for more, year after year.

Room Tip: The room doesn't matter, but if you are fussy, go for an upper room in the two-story bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Southern Cross Club is a very small slice of Heaven on earth. My husband and I just returned from a 7 day stay in the "honeymoon" suite which is a single unit at the end of the beach. Because of the solitude in this unit we did not use the indoor shower at all. The outdoor shower was perfect.

Everyone there was so friendly and nice. We felt like we were guests in someone's home - not staying at a resort. As I have read here many times - the food was amazing!!!
I can't believe I ate gourmet food in a glorious resort without even wearing shoes!!!!!

The diving and the dive staff are out of this world. Mike and Kristian know these dive sites like the back of their hands and are very generous with their knowledge.

We enjoyed ourselves so much - we have already booked a return visit. Can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doc_barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
1.0 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
21.7 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Property: Southern Cross Club
Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing