We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, fantastic people”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at SCC March 30 for 6 nights for the first time. It was stellar in all respects. We met other guests that had been coming for ten years straight if that says anything.
The top of the stellar list is the staff... every staff member! Managers, Jen, Laura, and Casey seek every opportunity to make you stay perfect and nothing is left to chance. Casually mention a thought or an activity and they offer every way to get the idea to completion.
We had several dive days and the dive staff made it totally effortless. Sherry, Mike and Christian were fun, informative, safe, helpful and a pleasure. Handled every level of diver with ease. The diving was fantastic. I was motionless in the water when a turtle came within a meter feeding, looked at me and continued feeding.

Hints: This is a small remote resort. Little Cayman has a local population of less than 100.
Beyond diving and fishing you have to be comfortable finding/making your own fun. We took a scooter ride on the perimeter road and saw 2 cars in the 3 hour event till we came into "town". Swam at the beach at the end of the island and saw one other couple during the hour we were there.
There is one little all purpose store that sells basic food needs and sundries. It's expensive!
You will see other dive boats. The weather concentrates the boats to the better dive sites as weather conditions change. The ride to the sites are in the 20-30 minute range and always close to shore. We had 6 to 8 divers for most dives. Afternoon/evening dive are available, but need 4 or more divers.

There is no wifi, TV, or telephones in the rooms. Wifi is available in the main office.

When we return to Little Cayman we will stay no where else.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a friendly, relaxed place this superb resort is! All the staff, without exception, were so helpful and easy to get on with. All the food was included in the price and was fantastic. Eating outside by the pool is possible, and even, I gather, on the beach too if you want.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and meticulously clean.
Although this is mainly a dive and fishing resort, there's enough to enjoy without those activities. Gear for snorkelling and kayaks and bicycles are available to use at no extra cost.
The island is really unspoilt with little development at present, although there is the possibility of this changing sometime in the future. But the tiny local community seem united to halt or limit this.
Brilliant place to stay...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank willysarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed at Southern Cross 10 times over the past 14 years. This is obviously our favorite dive destination anywhere. The diving is fantastic with beautiful reefs that are easily accessible by boat and a fun and friendly dive staff. And the resort experience is extraordinary.

Rather than repeat accolades, please check the review we wrote on 5/24/2010. It says it all.

As soon as we left Little Cayman on 4/4, we checked the calendar for our return next year.

Room Tip: We like the convenience of being close to the main building so we request unit #5. Plus it has a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean6042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you're looking for a quite relaxing vacation spot, this is it. Although most guests are divers, my wife and I are not. We rented a scooter and hit a number of beaches to snorkel. Taking the kayaks to Owen Island was a daily excursion for quite peaceful swimming and snorkeling. The food and accommodations were first rate and the staff was among the best I've ever experienced. After one day they were like family. My only hope is that the island doesn't get over built because it is one of the few places in the Caribbean where you don't feel overrun by traffic and people. Thanks SCC.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms over the time we were there and they were both worth it. Our first room was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd trip to Southern Cross Club in a year. Once again, the rooms are wonderful, the food is fabulous, the diving and the dive team are spectacular and to top it off, the staff are friends now.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beachfront, it's hard to choose a bad room. We've stayed in the two story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our honeymoon at the Southern Cross Club. My wife is a teacher, which requires us to travel during US “school vacation weeks,” and we were looking for a resort where we could truly relax and unwind. The Southern Cross Club provided exactly what we were looking for – unmatched scenery, great accommodations, and incredible dining.

We opted to stay in the “honeymoon” bungalow, which sits at the end of the beach closest to Owen Island. The room provided all necessary amenities, and the views from the outdoor shower will be sorely missed. The entire staff was incredibly welcoming and accommodating, taking any special requests into consideration (private dining, box lunches for kayak or beach trips, etc.)

We made good use of the bikes and kayaks (provided at no additional charge) and paddleboards are also available for those who wish to use them. I would recommend a kayak trip to Owen Island, which provides a great private beach and swimming area. I would also highly recommend a trip to Point of Sand (about an hour bike ride, or a drop-off can be scheduled through the hotel.) Although we do not dive (yet!) we truly enjoyed the unbelievable scenery that Little Cayman had to offer. Highlights of our trip included the sunset cruise, deep sea fishing charter with Chris, and our trip to Point of Sand.

The meals at Southern Cross are served buffet-style for breakfast and lunch, and dinner typically consists of two choices for appetizers, main courses, and desserts (with the exception of Indian and Italian nights, which are served buffet-style.) The food was delicious and fresh, taking advantage of locally caught fish (on our last night we were able to eat the blackfin tuna we had caught on the fishing charter sashimi-style with our meal.)

I look forward to visiting the Southern Cross Club again in the future, and hope to take advantage of the incredible diving which we have heard so much about.

All the best to the entire Southern Cross staff!
Nick and Margaret

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aceforce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this resort twice now. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly from the minute they collect you at the airport.

The accommodations are great, from the cheapest to the more expensive. If you can splash our, the villas with ocean front allow you to fall asleep to the sea right infront of you, and wake up the the crystal blue ocean.


The diving is amazing, and one of the most welcoming we've ever been on. The wifi is limited, and doesn't extend to the rooms, which is actually a good thing. The food is good, and I cannot recommend this place enough. Book!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jamtreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
98 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: £207 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing