We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It truly IS "barefoot elegance"!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It truly IS "barefoot elegance"!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are not divers, so when we told people we were going to vacation on Little Cayman everyone asked us, “Why?” Well-we didn’t know it at the time, but staying at Southern Cross Club was reason enough for the trip! What a wonderful place to stay. All the bungalows are right on the beach-no such thing as a bad view. The resort is spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained, with an impressive staff:guest ratio. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful and truly seemed to care that we were enjoying ourselves. Every meal was a treat-breakfast and lunches were buffets, with plenty to choose from. There were plenty of fruits, vegetables and salads for healthy eaters, then heartier choices as well-lots of options regardless of your preferences. And the dinners were amazing! Each night gave us a choice of two main courses (one of which was always a type of fish) and each one was better than the last. The Italian and Indian buffet nights far exceeded what we were expecting. The indoor/outdoor bar was a great gathering spot before and after dinner. The whole atmosphere was incredibly pleasant and peaceful-everything was taken care of for us so we could just relax and enjoy our vacation. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10-an upstairs room-loved having the balcony and the outdoor shower. The ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duval3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
76
307
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madeira Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wow, one of the best vacations our family has taken! Diving was fantastic, food exceptional, and the staff happy to help in any way! Not a minute of stress - unless you count the tough decision between dives of whether to nap, bike, kayak, or read a book in the hammock! We will be back! Thank you to the awesome staff of SCC!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Corraos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It would be easy to go on about the idyllic environment, the gorgeous water (both above and below) and the food and drink. All of it was indescribably pleasant and leaving was exceptionally hard. What makes Southern Cross so very special is the people who make it work, day and night. The camaraderie, the warmth and the genuine pleasure the team display toward the guests is apparent in their interaction with each other. From Peter, to the divemasters to Gaby the delightful and highly gifted bartender, we were surrounded by friends all week.

Personally, I don't know where to begin to thank the wonderful dive team for the kind, personal attention they gave me during our week long stay. Buoyancy control has always been an elusive target, and I still have work to do. But thanks to the entire team, diving has once again become fun. All you need to know about these wonderful people is that their faces lit up when I told them this.

By all means, come for the serenity, the beauty, the relaxed ambience, the food and drink, but expect to leave with a special appreciation for what truly makes an unforgettable experience: the time spent with each other, and in the company of delightful people who love what they do and who treasure the opportunity to share that with their tremendously fortunate guests. That we may have been the only first timers in sight also speaks volumes.

My wife and I can't wait to come back and enjoy being return visitors. We got much more than an unforgettable birthday at the beach. Thank you all, so very much. We still miss you all, even more than that breathtaking view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was our 4th stay at SCC, and it never fails to impress! The combination of professional and personable is perfect! First the location....so beautiful and relaxing. Believe me, if lying in the hammock and watching the view is all you do while here, you will have succeeded! Next, the diving: smart, safe, fun. The wall diving is wonderful, but if you want anything else, just ask--sharks, eagle rays, nudibranchs, flamingo tongues--you will be led to your secret treasure! The food is better each visit....oh, Indian buffet night is a favorite, and the salads, the soups, the seafood...aahhh! And the staff is the crème de la crème! Who brought our son throat lozenges? Who lent us a softly scented candle from home when a sensitive nose was assailed by the blue footed boobies one evening? We haven't (yet) been on a fishing tour, but one day! We have used the paddle boards, kayaks and bikes that are there for guests. Thanks to Jen, Neil, Mike, Kristian, Sherry, Henry, Shirley, Casey, Hernan (the turtle lover), Gaby, Ranita, Laura, Jeff.....oh, I know I'm forgetting someone!! It's the perfect combination of staying with family but being treated like a very special guest. It's true love!

Room Tip: Who doesn't love a room with an outdoor shower?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWHodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff at Southern Cross Club are exceptional. Sure, we have read glowing reviews about SCC, that is why we picked this particular place for our anniversary trip. What we got was dedicated service provided by staff that seem to truly enjoy what they do! Nothing was too big or too small for them to provide to us.

Want to have a romantic dinner set apart from the other guests (you may get a serenade by Peter, the owner)? Done. Champagne delivered to your bungalow at a specific time? Done. Bartenders who know how to make the perfect cocktail? Done. Chef and staff who are dedicated to their craft? Done. Last, but certainly not least, the dive staff. In our 20 years of diving, this is by far the best run dive operation we have experienced. Mike and Sherry made our diving effortless, safe, fun and educational. Want a boat that has fresh COLD water to drink, ladder/lines/spare reg. @15', warm shower spray for after dives? Done. DM's who love what they do and want to share their knowledge of the Little Cayman Marine Park? Done. Want complete dive briefings (with DM's artist talents); DM's who respect the diver's experience level. Done and done.

Small improvements could be made: Outdoor bar area is small and also gets very warm without fans; bed and bedding could be upgraded. This did not take away from anything, just observations. Also, SCC does not have a swimming beach as it has sea grass along the Southern Coast of much of Little Cayman (much like Ambergris Caye, Belize). SCC provides free use of kayaks and paddle boards for the guests to take to Owen Island. Just a short paddle away takes you to a small island that has beaches, snorkeling and fishing. We kayaked to Owen Island with just our masks and snorkels. Wished we would have brought our fins since the current can be strong in some places.

All in all, a great trip!
Thanks to Peter and all of his staff for making our trip truly memorable.

Room Tip: Beach front, second floor with outdoor shower. Cooling winds and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonaire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just come back from a weeks fishing at Little Cayman. Bone fishing harder and less productive than I would have thought but stay at SCC made my week. Beautiful accommodation and great service. Staff including Jen, Chris the fishing guide, Gary the barman, Hernan, Neil , Shirley, Katie, Laura, Fernando, Jeff and Henry ( sorry if I've forgotten anybody ) were all superb and couldn't do enough to help. Meals were excellent so many thanks to the chefs.
Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

just spent a glorious week at SCC. went for the fishing but after listening to the other guests wish i could dive.staff are excellent and the food superb.i'm a fussy eater but could'nt fault the cuisine.large comfortable room overlooking the beach.free use of kayaks and bikes, inside and outside bar and the best cocktail barman(gabbi) in the carribean.it will be a major disappointment if i don't return. only complaint is the chairs in the clubhouse are too big and comfortable and i nearly fell asleep every time i sat down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishinggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Property: Southern Cross Club
Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing