We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern's Superlative !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
2 reviews
“Southern's Superlative !”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed at Southern in the 2nd half of Jan.'09,fulfilling a promise made to ourselves after discovering the Club on a first visit to Little Cayman in early Feb.'08.As before,Little was flawless - uncrowded,tension-free,fine weather,etc.
Last year we stayed at Paradise Villas,a set of spotless self-catering cottages on the shore near tiny Blossom Village,and dined most nights at the nearby Hungry Iguana which offers good food in a fun,casual setting.On one occasion ,however,we ventured up the road to dine in the more elegant surroundings of the Soutern Cross.We also visited the Club for fly-fishing and kayaking.Those memorable experiences soon transformed into promises to return.
Return we did--and our very high expectations were met and exceeded ! Indeed,the positives began even before arrival with the expert advise and assistance of Craig,who does the Club's bookings.On arrival,it was quickly apparent that there is nothing " self-catering" about this Club - it is a luxuriously all-inclusive experience which somehow manages to remain completely informal,relaxed and unpretentious.
The Club's property appears to be the island's best location in terms of calm seas,breezes,sun,beach,etc.It has many shaded hammocks and a double swing beneath the branches of a big casuarina.On its doorstep a brief paddle away is pristine Owen Island,a dream-like blend of palms ,fine sand and solitude.Our bungalow was impeccably clean,quiet and comfortable night and day.
Cate,Chris and their entire team were outstandingly welcoming,friendly ,helpful and interesting.The food deserves a special mention,particularly because we always pay a lot of attention to eating very well (as well as healthily) at home and on our many travels.Quite simply,Southern Cross delivers the most consistently excellent food we have encountered-always changing,always attractively presented,great-tasting and full of fresh ingredients.And,in the evenings,often served on crisp linen under the palms under a star-filled sky - "barefoot elegance" indeed!
All in all,a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeynews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
315
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2009

This was our 2nd trip to The Southern Cross. This is a Resort w/ 12 rooms, 24 guests and 22 staff. Many people come to dive or to fish. We go to lay in the hammock and have an experience of total relaxation. The first time we went, we met a Minister who does crisis work. She flies all over the world wherever there are emergencies. She said this was her 13th visit to Southern Cross. That is when we understood we had found paradise on Earth.

We tried to go to Little Cayman in November. We book through there US office. Because of the Hurricane, Little Cayman never opened so we vacationed in Grand Cayman, hoping to get to Little Cayman. Our travel agent in California, Craig Buck, who only books for Southern Cross, was like a pit bull, fighting for us when our flight did not take off. He fought with the airlines for an hour. They could get us to Cayman, using 3 flights, but the middle leg was open only in first class and they would not do it. He looked up their regulation book, spoke to a supervisor, quoted their regulation to them and got us to Cayman.

Now we will go to Southern Cross yearly. The food is excellent. There is 0 traffic. The people are friendly. The staff is super attentive. Each day I can feel tension melt away and we are so happy when we are there.

Debra Chwast

  • Liked — For a getaway, this is as far away as you can get!
  • Disliked — Internet connection is "Island Style..."
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank growyourbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheboygan, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We just spent 7 days diving at this resort. The diving was superb and the divemasters were outstanding. The food and service was incredible. Very nice staff and they treated us like royalty. We have been at many dive resorts before, but this one is the best. Once you've been here, you'll be spoiled. Nothing else compares to it.

  • Liked — the diving and the food
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marcysheboygan_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My husband and I just returned from the Southern Cross Club with our three teenagers (ages 18, 16, and 13). It was absolutely fabulous! The staff is most welcoming, the food is delicious and the dive staff outstanding! Our youngest daughter had trouble equalizing on our first day, so Chris went out of his way to have Mike and Clive (dive masters) work with her individually until she succeeded. We were a bit concerned that the kids might not have enough to do, with the fact that there are no televisions, etc.. They thought the club was "awesome". We played backgammon, cards, read our books and took naps in the sun upon our return from diving. Kayaking, snorkeling and fishing are also available. My husband and son went fishing and caught several black fin tuna, which the chef prepared for hors d'oeuvres later in the day. It truly was a fabulous trip. On New Year's Eve, we dined outdoors under the stars with an amazing display of fireworks at midnight! The kids are already asking if we can go back next year.
Chris, Kate, Mike, Clive, Ryan and the rest of the SCC staff, thank you for an outstanding family vacation and we hope to see you all soon.

  • Liked — The setting, vies and ease of accessibility to diving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisMcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I must agree with all the previous reviewers, this property is magical and is set on a beach location that one dreams about & is quite emotionally breathtaking when you actually sit & take in the view. There are 5 resorts on Little Caymen & this is one of the smallest & most intimate. I must mention the dedicated mangement of Cate, the resort manager & her husband Chris (the diving part of the duo), they will look after you in every way with genuine care, respect & professionalism. This resort unashamedly does not welcome children-I will review the Marriot in Grand Cayman seperately & then you will see why kids are not encouraged to stay! This resort is built on the beach & comprises various buildings, bar restaurant, loos, pool and bungalows. The food is superb, a mixture of served & buffet, simple yet excellent! The rooms are individually designed, spacious & comfortable. There are 140 persons living on the island, so there are no shops/nite clubs etc. therefore you can only imagine the level of true relaxation that be savoured & achieved. Diving of course is one of the main attractions with this locality being one of the 10 best diving locations in the world!
This resort is eclusive, high end/up-market and imagine where you are only 1 of 24 possible guests!
Remember, go here and relax & let Cate & her team look after you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

The Southern Cross Club is simply barefoot luxury perfection! Everything from location, food, service, and the staff is excellent. One week was not enough....................

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There isn't a thing to dislike....
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeleeatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

My boyfriend and I went to the Southern Cross Club to enjoy a week of R&R (regulators and rum drinks)! Our expectations were MORE than met. This was our first visit to the resort and it exceeded our expectations.

The day we arrived there was an Oscar Party complete with fancy dress, "Golden Conch" awards and an amazing on the beach dinner with the awards broadcast on a large screen outside! What a way to start. Just wish I'd brought something more than shorts, a t-shirt and sandals for the occasion... Actually the sandals were "overkill..." This is truely barefoot relaxation.

My boyfriend is an experienced diver but I hadn't tested out my diving skills in over 10 years. The first day out, my stomach was queasy and it WASN'T because of the sea conditions or repercussions from breakfast (ALL the meals were delicious). The dive team was top notch and my fears disappeared after the first dive. This is one of the best aspects of the SCC - a small guest to dive staff ratio means everyone gets the attention they need. The dive sites were beautiful - the walls of coral, fish etc... fantastic. The divemasters took us to great sites and were attentive - showing us lots of things we might have missed had they not pointed them out. After two dives each morning, it was back ot the resort for lunch, book and nap in the hammock and then cocktails at the bar followed by dinner. Another drink at the bar, a roadie for the beach and then to bed. Rinse. Repeat.

We had a great room at the end of the resort. Nice king size bed, refigerator, outdoor shower - after diving are a real treat! Coffee maker in the room also ensured you didn't have to go far for a cup of coffee in the morning.

The small guest/staff ratio makes service a hallmark of this resort. The staff could not have been more accomodating, friendly and professional. From the pickup at the airport to service in all parts of the club, we were treated like family (the ones you look FORWARD to seeing...). Ejoyed great massages as well from Terry who doubles as the local massage therapist and barkeep and performs a valuable service in both functions.

What you should know before you book:
1) This is a SMALL island with VERY little to do outside of the few resorts. If you're looking for places to go and beachwalkers to watch, this is NOT the place.
2 The resort is also more geared to adults rather than families with children - especially those who need constant entertainment. To us this was a major plus!
3) The swimming/snorkeling near the resort is limited. You can't swim right off of the beach - due to the reef, the water by the resort is more like a lagoon so there is a lot of sea grass and it's relatively shallow. A quick kayak over to Owen Island gives a swimming option, but it's a bit limited for swimmers
4) Although the bar bill wasn't fatal, drinks are not included in the all inclusive price and can add up quickly. If you're partial to an evening nip of your favorite adult beverage before bed you might want to bring a bottle from duty free for your room!

If you want a vacation where you truly "disconnect" - we didn't use watches, phones or e-mail for a week and didn't miss it - this is the place.

  • Liked — Diving, all-inclusive option, great staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
88 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Property: Southern Cross Club
Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing