We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally brilliant!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally brilliant!”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Southern Cross Club is a very special place indeed. The atmosphere is remarkably relaxing and laid back, with a talented and friendly staff who simply can't do enough for you. The manager, Jen, is charming, highly competent and very thoughtful. The diving in Little Cayman is, of course, fantastic and the dive operation is excellent. All of the instructors and dive masters are really accommodating, clearly love diving and want to make sure you have a great time too. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully turned out and the bar, restaurant and reception were all welcoming and comfortable. The food was just brilliant, with one culinary delight after another issuing forth from the kitchens! Southern Cross offers luxury without pretension and we certainly hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anacordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
79
311
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Logan Township,NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Although we are not divers, this was the most relaxing place we have ever been. Because of the size (only 12 rooms) you get to know the guests and the wonderful staff personally. The room was very comfortable, well furnished and inviting. The food was outstanding. We have visited many other islands and resorts, we will def return to the Southern Cross Club!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Traveled to Little Cayman for two days/one night of relaxation and fishing, but decided 10 minutes after arriving there to spend the rest of our vacation there rather than return to Grand Cayman. It would be interesting to see if there had been any less pampering if the hotel was more than 1/3 full with only 9 guests, but I doubt it. The ringing of the meal bell evoked a pavloivan response after the first couple of tastings of the delicious meals prepared by the chef at Southern Cross. The gift shop and the bar were both honor, indicating the quality of the guests that SC enjoys. Only negatives are its high price and lthe ack of advertised presence of bone fish -- but guide Tom did the best he could to successfully put us onto tarpons and reef fish. Hostess Maryanne was always available to make sure that our needs were being met.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chillin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

What an incredible week our family had at the Southern Cross Club. The ocean front bungalows were charming, the fun loving owner Peter, exceedingly talented manager Jen and their exceptionally friendly staff made us feel welcome, doing everything in their power to make their home feel like our home! The food could not have been better, always wanting to go back for seconds, yet trying to save room for the excellent dessert waiting for you after your meal. The outstanding New Years Eve dinner on the beach, under the stars, twinkling lights, music playing, was perfect in every way. The SCC diving staff is stupendous! Very organized, met every need, gave detail description of the reef we were to dive and stressed importance of safety and limits. Our 12 year old son was certified with Diver Master Mike and as parents we knew he was in very good hands. My husband and son greatly enjoyed fly fishing with Tom , particularly in the Tarpon Pond! In the late afternoon, grabbing a Rum Punch, laying in the hammock under a palm branch roof, and realizing that life just can not get better then this, is the very best way to bring in the New Year. Thanks SCC for a special, relaxing, and fun vacation! The Weyhrauch Family

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy64a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

What a thrill flying into Paradise and greeted by a SCC staff member whose warm welcome was ony the beginning of an experience that exceeded our expectations in every way. The entire staff is wonderful is a part of the experience that makes SCC such a special place. Our daughter dove for the first time and the diving staff was so wonderful with her. She will never want to go skiing again and thank God, no more Disney trips. The fishing guide was terrific and who could be disappointed with only 7 bones on the first outing. The food is more than first class, the wine selection excellent and they should bottle the rum punches. We plan on returning later this year with a group of friends from New Jersey if we can get a reservation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseytraveler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We've just had an excellent week on Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. Southern Cross was excellent. The staff were young and enthusiastic, the food was delicious and the situation was perfect. We had one of the the rooms with the outdoor showers and they were brilliant. Altogether a perfect week.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgaymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Simply the best vacation spot I have ever been too. The staff was incredible. Tom, the fishing guide was very knowledgeable. Peter, the owner was a gracious host. This place has everything to offer. In 31 years of my life, I have found out what the term "relaxation means. Thanks again to Southern Cross for a wonderful time.

P.S. The blueberry pancakes were delicous but so was every other meal.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.3 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Property: Southern Cross Club
Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing