We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Cayman Beach Resort Group Dive trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Cayman Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Little Cayman Beach Resort Group Dive trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Little Cayman Beach Resort is an excellent facility with a very good staff. The food is truly outstanding, every meal buffet style with several main courses and selection of desserts. Plan ahead to gain some weight during your stay there. The rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable. There is nothing much on the island so diving or fishing are about all there is to do. There is no shore diving from the resort because it is too shallow and too much boat traffic. Diving on the south side of the island is generally poor, the north side excellent. Weather will prevent trips to the north side due to rough water. The dive activity is very good, managed by Ben and his wife Annabelle. They are wonderful people and run a good activity. Dive masters and boat captains were very good except for one who needs to be replaced. Their water entry procedure is termed valet service. Divers sit on a platform on the back of the boat while the crew brings gear to each diver individually. Our group found this procedure to be cumbersome and too time-consuming to get the group into the water. Friday night is karaoke night. It is typically the last night for a week's visit. It is much too loud and goes much too late. If you arrive on Friday and are tired from traveling don't plan to get any rest until about midnight. Those departing the next day may not be rested for a day or two of traveling. Cayman Air from Grand Cayman to Little Cayman worked well. No baggage problems or schedule problems were encountered.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excellent. Rooms on the south and north sides would be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    101
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
178
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My second trip in a year to LCBR.

Pros of the Little Cayman Island:
-Little Cayman Island is relatively undeveloped and not commercialized

Cons of Little Cayman Island:
-You have to travel via Cayman Airways (YUCK!) to get to Little Cayman Island. Best ot travel to grand Cayman on a major carrier and use Cayman Airways only for the very last leg to Little Cayman Island

Pros of Little Cayman Beach Resort:
-LCBR is a cozy resort, you get to known almost everyone in a day or two
-The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and have air conditioning
-The food is excellent with buffet style service, lots of fresh fruit, salads, soups, vegetables and meats
-The bar is wonderful and has a lot of character
-Staff service is outstanding

Cons of Little Cayman Beach Resort:
-A little on the expensive side (but worth every penny)
-Pool-side rooms are a bit noisy from activity at the bar on some evenings (e.g., Trivia Night)
-The dining rooms hours are a bit limited

Pros of Diving on Little Cayman Island:
-Some of the best reefs in the Caribbean
-The wall diving is utterly spectacular
-The visibility is very good
-Groupers are very friendly and liked to be petted

Cons of Diving on Little Cayman Island:
-Depth is limited to 100 feet
-No deco diving permitted
-No shore diving from LCBR

Pros of Diving with Reef Diver at LCBR:
-Excellent service and knowledge

Cons of Diving with Reef Divers at LCBR:
-The dive masters require that you sit on the back of the doive boat while the master brings your kit to you. This means that the pace of getting kitted-up and into the water is very S-L-O-W.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harrywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at LCBR the last week of March 2012 and had a wonderful time. We upgraded to a beach room and didn't regret it. It was nice to have the added privacy and quiet of being away from the pool area. Room 216 had a separate staircase and private deck which we enjoyed. The food was rich and plentiful. Some of the selections, (like beef stew) seemed a little heavy for a beach resort, but lots of people were eating it. There were plenty of lighter choices and salad fixings. I do wish there were more local dishes though I'm not sure what that would be. Maybe Jamaican or Cuban flavors? The bar is fun but expensive, since everything has to be flown in. More experienced travellers in our group bought booze at the duty free shop before leaving the US and just bought punch, soda or lemonade at the bar and added their own alcohol in their rooms. There's not much to do besides dive, but we did take a walk and a long bike ride. You can buy Cuban cigars and rum locally, so take advantage of that while you're there. Diving the wall was pretty amazing; the area has been protected for a long time so the fish are plentiful and not too skittish. Who knew lobsters could be 2-3 feet long? We would definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kt*baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

When you get to Little Cayman you know you have left the busy world behind. What you need is a great little resort right on the beach, with good food, cosy rooms and friendly staff... welcome to the Little Cayman Beach Resort.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I spent a few days at LCBR in an ocean view room and loved every minute. The beach is fantastic, the atmosphere is very laid-back (hammocks on the beach...ah), the bar has lots of character, the staff is very friendly and eager to help, and the food is good. Unlike 90% of the guests there, we didn't dive....just explored the tiny island (10 miles long x 1 mile wide) by bikes (which they rent) and one day rented a scooter to drive to the far eastern end (which isn't very far, obviously) to snorkel at Point of Sand. We had a great time and can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine_of_Fallbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were a group of 11 divers that spent a week at LCBR in pool view rooms. Even with several days of windy weather, we had a very positive experience. The rooms and grounds are very well maintained. The food is fantastic and it's hard to avoid gaining a few pounds. Wait until you see the deserts! The dive staff was very good and managed to get us out to the reefs even in the windy weather. I recommend the full meal plan. Free wi-fi is available all over the resort and they have a guest computer you can use.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room so you don't hear people walking on your ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nothing but positives to say about this resort and dive shop. From check-in to check-out this place was fantastic. Stayed here a week and got 17 dives in 6 days. Our room (pool side) was very nice, clean and beds/pillows very comfortable. The food and desserts were fantastic. Meal are planned around the dive times and you always know when the kitchen is open because they ring an outside bell. Dont know why anyone but divers would come here because even though there is a nice beach area with chairs and hammocks, the ocean immediately adjacent to the beach is filled with vegetation. My wife (nondiver) loves to snorkel and was kind of dissapointed until she found out she could go out on the dive boat and snorkel above the divers and saw a nurse shark for the 1st time. The dive shop was great. You set up your gear the for the 1st dive and after that your gear is set up and ready to go when you get on the boat. Nice big dive boats, kind of crowded at times but dive master and captain kept everything coordinated and running smoothly. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Cayman Beach Resort

Property: Little Cayman Beach Resort
Address: 1128 Guy Banks Road | Blossom Village, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Cayman Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the world's top dive destinations with the legendary Bloody Bay Wall, paired with one-of-a-kind valet diving service and modern tropical amenities. Welcome home! Enjoy your next vacation at the quaint, tropical Little Cayman Beach Resort, featured in Scuba Diving magazine's Top 100 Readers' Choice Survey for the Caribbean and Atlantic. With more than 50 dive sites, a wealth of marine life, shallow reefs, and utterly astounding walls, experience all your dives with our custom-built dive fleet. Our dive sites and colorful marine life provide breathtaking backdrops to capture once-in-a-lifetime photos. During your dive, you can experience the world-renowned Bloody Bay Wall, rated as the best diving in the Caribbean by National Geographic photographer David Doubilet and underwater cinematographer Stan Waterman, and one of the most pristine underwater sites in the world. Little Cayman Beach Resort has 40 air-conditioned, spacious rooms surrounded by lush tropical foliage. Oceanfront rooms overlook our beautiful turquoise water and reef, and pool-view rooms share access to the cozy lounge areas around the resort. Our dining offers a wide variety of international and Caribbean-inspired gourmet cuisine. Choose to dine in our air-conditioned dining room, screened lanai, or al fresco on the patio with our resident iguanas! During your stay, explore the island and its unique wildlife, take a bike or scooter ride to see the entire island, paddle board or kayak Little Cayman's pristine waters, or simply relax at our calming spa. You'll see why the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Cayman Beach Hotel Little Cayman
Little Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing