We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice we went twice!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Cayman Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Centereach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So nice we went twice!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This review is long overdue as we visited in May and June of 2013. Our first trip was in May of 2013. It was so fantastic we went back in June! The dive masters are top notch. You will not receive a more in depth pre-dive briefing ANYWHERE. They draw the dive site on a white board and give explicit descriptions of the site. They are very attentive and run a very safe operation. They use the valet type of diving where they take care of your gear. You leave it outside your door on the first day and don't have to think about cleaning it or setting it up for the rest of the week. Ed, Nick, Jo and Sharon were just awesome! The sites are gorgeous and have an excellent variety of under water topography, fish life, coral and sponges. There is something to please every diver in the group.
The staff is genuinely happy and take pride in their work. Claudia is quick to remember you and your needs. She will go out of her way to get you whatever you want. I watched her deal with a difficult guest who asked for a grapefruit, then asked for it to be taken back to the kitchen to be separated for her. The guest was also very particular about all the food, coffee and tea. Not an easy person to please by any stretch of the imagination. Claudia didn't miss a beat and gave her service with a smile each and every time. Samantha, Tanisha and Judeen were also wonderful staff members who did a fantastic job and always had smiles on their faces. Grace, Teresa and Hanna at the bar were also amazing and always had smiles on their faces and ready to fill your glass or bring you a giant plate of food. We will definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIdivechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    102
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
182
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Location: Amazing. Beautiful ocean view, lovely white sand, pretty palm trees, etc. Nice pool and hot tub. Do not plan to swim in the ocean at the resort, though, as there is a prodigious amount of turtle grass.
Rooms: Large, clean, tons of space for your stuff and comfortable beds. Fan & AC quite noisy.
Food: Quite good for a buffet. Salads in particular were innovative and delicious (I thought the grilled eggplant was excellent). Prepared foods fairly heavy on the meat, lots of beef, pork, turkey, even duck. Lamb and veal were offered. Seafood at every dinner. Lots of dessert options. Fruit always available (I especially appreciated the sliced kiwi at breakfast). I personally found the coffee quite bitter.

Front desk/housekeeping/food servers: nearly everyone quite friendly and helpful. Claudia and Addy in the dining room were especially nice, the attendant at the gift shop (didn’t catch her name) was very helpful & knowledgeable about local products, and the chef shared her eggplant recipe freely.

Dive sites: nice visibility (30-50 or so feet, depending on the dive), almost no current, virtually no waves on surface at dive sites, coral reef in much better shape than other places in the Caribbean, lots of big stuff (reef sharks, barracuda, tarpon, even tuna), and some small stuff (lettuce leaf sea slugs, flamingo tongues), and quite a few friendly groupers. Walls are quite incredible—very steep drop-offs and nice topography, some fun swim-throughs and arches, huge barrel sponges, lots to look at. Though I prefer the Pacific by a lot, this was the best I have experienced in the Caribbean (I’ve dived in the Bahamas, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Turks and Caicos, Bermuda)

Dive operation: Boats are in good shape, tanks recently inspected. They offer “valet” service, which means they bring and help you put on your BCD/ take it from you when you return, and switch out your tanks. You only keep track of your fins, mask, wetsuit, personal gear, and they even lend you a sturdy mesh bag. There’s plenty of drinking water, fruit & chips. One towel per diver per day. The morning boat departs at 8:10 AM for 2 dives, the afternoon boat for 1 dive at 1:50 PM. The divemasters take turn diving with the group, and they are last in/first out. For the first three days I dove with two divemasters who were leaving the island permanently on my fourth day, and I think it’s reasonable to say they had already checked out. Will & Warren took over our boat for my last three days, and they were quite a bit better. On my very last dive, one guest’s inflator hose got stuck and she made a very quick trip to the surface from 60’ after ditching her gear. They handled it extremely well & professionally, taking care of her and getting her quickly to the clinic and reassuring the other divers without losing their cool.

However, here’s what the US based booking agents do not mention when you ask about the diving: 1. First morning dive is limited to 50 minutes, second AM dive and PM dives, 60 minutes. Surface interval in AM is a brief 45 minutes, and we were even encouraged to splash after 35 minutes. 2. In my opinion, far too many divers on the boat/in the water. I was on their largest boat, at 46’, and in my six mornings saw 17-20 divers. This makes suiting up/getting in not particularly smooth, and then in the water…well, let’s just say you see a lot of other people. 3. Not much effort in controlling the guests once they’re in the water, despite the protected marine park status. Only twice in 17 dives did the briefing include a cursory “please watch your buoyancy.” I was quite dismayed by the too large number of divers who kicked and broke coral, fans, sponges, tunicates, etc. Too many of them had no buoyancy control and would grab coral to steady themselves as they yo-yo’d through the water. I saw one guy hug a turtle, grab the tail of a sleeping nurse shark, and try to get a porcupine fish to puff all on the same dive. Several other divers were of the aggressive photographer variety, swimming into you and knocking you aside for the potential photo op. This was my 43rd dive trip since being certified, and ranks as the one of the top 3 for the majority of fellow divers both disregarding the environment and being inconsiderate of everyone and everything around them.

In summary: really nice resort, but in my opinion, not meant for divers who want to either maximize their bottom time or dive in the company of ecologically friendly divers.

Room Tip: First floor more convenient, pool side rooms are fine, oceanside are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scubawoman33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Third trip in 13 months and diving, staff, food and accommodations all still awesome. I haven't had a better dive company. The staff--all dining and bar staff are wonderful people. The food is tremendous although the multiple desserts can cause some weight gain, so be careful. The bar staff, especially Teresa and Grace are wonderful people who treat each guest extremely well and can accommodate any order. They REALLY know their stuff. We intend to come back--it's become my home away from home in the Carribean--for me, the diving is SO good and this place is so nice that there's little need to contemplate going elsewhere. It's a truly relaxing and special place. Thank you LCBR!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeffry771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went to LCBR for ten days, based on word of mouth recommendations from other divers we've met in our travels. It's the nicest property we've ever stayed at: really clean, updated, quiet, well taken care of. I was impressed with the staff's friendliness and readiness; none of this "island time' to get things done. Frankly, it was impressive at every level. This is our first all-inclusive. We were very pleased with variety, quality and freshness of the food. We chose our Oceanview King suite based on other TA reviews and I am glad we did.

Our only complaint with the whole property is the loud air conditioner. As in, bring your ear plugs. I don't know why they do not have the nice quiet ceiling mounted ones you see elsewhere.

This is a really nice place. They make you feel very welcome and like they are happy you are there. It was thoroughly enjoyable.

Here are a few things I'd wish I'd know before hand. I'm an active non-diver, my husband is the diver.
-The dive operation uses big boats with large groups (16-20 was not unusual)so keep that in mind if that kind of thing is important to you
-The ocean is not swimmable at the resort. The beach is very nice, but the extremely shallow bay is full of turtle grass. It is not suitable for recreational swimming or even wading
-The reef itself is a good 1/3 of a mile swim out from the resort. It was excellent snorkeling out there, but a really long swim to get there. As a snorkeler who likes to go out every day, I was really disappointed by the quality of the swimming and distance to the reef from the resort itself. Yes, there are good snorkeling and swimming opportunities on Little Cayman, but you need to bike or rent a scooter to get there.

Room Tip: King Oceanview Suites have a view and an outside seating area. Regular rooms have neither. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spokane223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

While it's nice to dive by liveaboard, Little Cayman diving resort is about as close as a land-based operation could get.

Your gear goes on the boats once and you only need to haul your fins and mask the rest of the time the short distance from your room.

That is, if you can still walk, since the food is really great on the full American Plan system. Varied, fresh, beautifully prepared and presented. And the desserts...dangerous.

It's a short half hour to some of the best diving in the western hemisphere on Bloody Bay Wall and Jackson Bight.

Staff is friendly and universally competent.

When not diving, you can also bike and kayak. $5 a day or $10 an hour respectively.

Or you can just sit and watch the blue water. And a small bar scene at night, but don't go to Little Cayman if you're looking for Las Vegas nightlife.

And take mosquito repellent if you are out in the evening.

Our second time here and we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our first visit, after it was recommended by our local dive shop. The restaurant staff was totally accommodating. If it wasn’t on the buffet tables you could ask for anything you desired. Our room was neat and clean with a handy small refrigerator. “Walk down to the town store and pick up some of the personal items you might like to have at your disposal.” We had asked for a king size bed which they promptly moved us too. The rooms are for rest and sleep, not for entertaining a group, do that at the bar. The Bar was well stocked with every top shelf liquor, and most of the bottle beers you could ask for. Along with a couple of local draft brews this was a pleasant meeting place for after your diving trips.
Diving was Fantastic! There were giant walls with swim thrus, large and small cracks, with beautiful coral heads and short open sand flats between the different mini walls. (Mini walls were ranging from 25’ to 75’ deep along the different dive sites). The large groupers were inquisitive swimming up to you like a cat or dog wanting to be petted (don’t). Sharks rays, eels, lobster, crabs, and the list goes on. There were numerous types of exotic looking fishes easily spotted on each dive (2 or 3 per day). The water clarity was terrific for the photographers on board, which were the primary divers along with people like me that just like to look and watch.
Relax by the palm tree lined pool (don’t forget the suntan lotion) with an adult beverage or soak in the hot tub to wind down after your boat trip or just to chillax away from your daily life. You’re on vacation, enjoy it! I know we will go again.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms after 103 or 203 face the pool numbers before that face the bar. Ocean front rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Little Cayman beach resort last week and had a wonderful time. The rooms are nice although they are subject to the noise at the bar and the TV reception was pretty bad. Speaking of the bar it is an excellent place to gather after the days diving and have a drink with your dive buddies. it is an excellent outdoor venue.

Food is served buffet style and it is pretty good. Nothing exceptional but certainly acceptable. For those not on the full American plan the bar serves pretty good food throughout the day.

The main reason to come here is the diving on Bloody Bay Wall. It is world class and well worth the trip.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are further from the bar and a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingla39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.8 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
20.7 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Cayman Beach Resort

Property: Little Cayman Beach Resort
Address: 1128 Guy Banks Road | Blossom Village, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Cayman Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the world's top dive destinations with the legendary Bloody Bay Wall, paired with one-of-a-kind valet diving service and modern tropical amenities. Welcome home! Enjoy your next vacation at the quaint, tropical Little Cayman Beach Resort, featured in Scuba Diving magazine's Top 100 Readers' Choice Survey for the Caribbean and Atlantic. With more than 50 dive sites, a wealth of marine life, shallow reefs, and utterly astounding walls, experience all your dives with our custom-built dive fleet. Our dive sites and colorful marine life provide breathtaking backdrops to capture once-in-a-lifetime photos. During your dive, you can experience the world-renowned Bloody Bay Wall, rated as the best diving in the Caribbean by National Geographic photographer David Doubilet and underwater cinematographer Stan Waterman, and one of the most pristine underwater sites in the world. Little Cayman Beach Resort has 40 air-conditioned, spacious rooms surrounded by lush tropical foliage. Oceanfront rooms overlook our beautiful turquoise water and reef, and pool-view rooms share access to the cozy lounge areas around the resort. Our dining offers a wide variety of international and Caribbean-inspired gourmet cuisine. Choose to dine in our air-conditioned dining room, screened lanai, or al fresco on the patio with our resident iguanas! During your stay, explore the island and its unique wildlife, take a bike or scooter ride to see the entire island, paddle board or kayak Little Cayman's pristine waters, or simply relax at our calming spa. You'll see why the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Cayman Beach Hotel Little Cayman
Little Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing