We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cove
Grand Cayman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Sunset Cove in the gem that is Little Cayman. Tarrah, the lady that runs the resort, was lovely and helpful, from picking us up from the airport, to dropping us off at our dive site, and recommending places to go and see. The rooms are basic but clean, and the beachfront location is absolutely stunning. We hired kayaks and kayaked across to Owen Island, and also hired bikes to explore the island (both reasonably priced and easy to arrange). The Beach Bum cafe serves wonderful food (the jerk night on Saturday evening is a must, attracting tourists and locals alike). There is no bar, but there's a bring your own alcohol policy, so a stop off at the liquor store en route from the airport is highly recommended.

All in all, if you are looking for a reasonably priced, relaxing break in a beautiful location, Sunset Cove is the place to go!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Josie474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    18
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Sunset Cove. The view from a lounge chair or hammock at the resort is amazing; Owen Island, the bay, and sunsets are great. The room had a fantastic view of the water and was clean with a small refrigerator, microwave, and AC. Simple self-serve breakfast was nice and the lunch & dinner options from Chef Raymond are excellent. Saturday is Jerk Night so try to catch that if you can. All sort of equipment is available for rent (except dive equipment), we used bikes almost every day and did the ~15 minute kayak to Owen Island. There are some friendly "house" iguanas that you will get to meet too. It's worth noting that Sunset Cove is relatively "far" from the other resorts on the islands, but it's only about a 2 mile bike ride and we did that almost every day at least once. There isn't really a beach area in the traditional sense because the bay gets very flat and there is small vegetation in the water just in front of the resort, but you can jump off the dock (has ladder) if you don't want to go a short distance to nearby beaches.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay at Sunset Cove, it has a beautiful beach with the most amazing sunsets. The rooms are basic but the beds are really comfy and it is so quiet you can't get a better nights sleep. Perfectly placed to cycle over to Bloody Bay Wall, just make sure you come out the way you go in, we met the local sea urchins, 100's of them at the water edge!!

Room Tip: We had the room with a kitchenette, took our full cool box over from Grand Cayman, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My son and I spent 2 nights at Sunset Cove and had a great time. Tarrah is so helpful. The setting is absolutely amazing. The rooms are very simple but clean. Would go back in a heartbeat. Unfortunately we didn't have great wind, but if the wind is up the kiting would be amazing.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottSmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Although the rooms are quite basic, nothing else about Sunset Cove is! The location is fantastic, situated right on a beautiful beach with a perfect view of the sunset and Owen Island. I was traveling by myself, and was truly treated like family from the moment I arrived. Tarrah was an excellent host, she picked me up from the airport, and took me to and from diving at another resort. The chef at the cafe, Raymond, was also excellent! I expected basic island food, but what he prepares is anything but basic! Overall, a great experience, and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sunset Cove - Little Cayman - my little piece of paradise! There are not enough kind words to describe our amazing hostess Tara and our wonderful chef Raymond!

Tara collected us from the airport after our flight on the little Twin Otter aeroplane barefoot and sun-tanned and smiling, and pointed out places of interest on our way down to the "resort". Small but neat, exclusive and relaxing - Sunset Cove became our home away from home. Whilst the rooms are basic, they were neat and clean and if we didn't have something Tara could get it for us. The hammocks and loungers outside were arranged to admire the view of Owen Island and the bay, with Hobie Cats, kayaks, paddle boards, kite surfing equipment, bicycles, and snorkel equipment available if you wanted to take a closer look.

Raymond (who runs the Cafe) was a perfect compliment to Tara. From the coconut water, to perfectly cooked lobster, from the fishing line to the cooking on the barbecue for us - he was a gem.

Whether you are there on your own, or with family, or a group - whether you want to socialise with other guests, or enjoy the solitude and recharge your soul - I would highly recommend a trip to this tucked away little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: If you are planning on self catering, make sure you chose a room with a kitchenette. Whilst we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

After working in Grand Cayman for almost 7 years as a dive instructor, I finally visited the smaller sister island with some friends. We rented 3 rooms, with me opting to get the family room that has its own kitchenette.

The Cayman Islands is not a cheap vacation point, and little Cayman has few options to choose from, so when you choose wrong, you are mostly stuck with what you have. Sunset Cove is ideal for that quiet getaway. The rooms are clean and recently renovated, and since the resort has no dive business, there is no noise of boats and tanks coming and going. For divers, Sunset Cove is only minutes away from the other dive operators. Tarah the resort manager was exceptionally helpful in accommodating us, taking us to our dive boats, bringing us back, shopping trips and just taking us for lunch or dinner where ever we wanted to go. I think she still has back pain from bending over so far to accommodate us and make our trip run smooth.

The beach at Sunset Cove is stunning with a good view of Owen Island. Sunset Cove has canoes and a small boat should you wish to make your way over to the little island.

The resort has a kitchen that serves lunch and dinner. Food was great with a willing chef to make you something special. The breakfast however was the only let down, being a bit light with toast and waffles, no eggs or bacon, or chef to make you something. It is basically self-serve. However Tarah promises that it is in the works.

All in all, Sunset Cove is a good option to stay in little Cayman, especially if you want to get away from the crowd.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the family room, it is larger and has its own fridge and microwave, han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
16.1 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
84 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 34 Wonder Lane, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic place for couples, friends and families on Little Cayman. A friendly, serene, relaxed place to chill. We have lots of fun things to do directly from the white, sandy beach at Sunset Cove. We have kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle boards and luxury beach floats available for rental, so you have everything you need right at the resort. You can kayak over to Owen Island and snorkel or hang out on the beach. South Hole Sound is a lovely, reef-protected, sandy, shallow area with ideal conditions to enjoy most any watersports. We also have bicycles available for 1/2 day or full day rental. There's something for everyone! Or on a lazy day, you can indulge in a massage or lounge in one of the hammocks at the resort. For your dining pleasure, we also have The Beach Bum Cafe which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing