We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilling in Little Cayman”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
1 review
“Chilling in Little Cayman”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I loved Sunset Cove.....it is not a fancy holiday resort but rather a rustic, peaceful, relaxed and simple little "bit of heaven". Do not go here if you expect 5 star luxury but definitely go here if you expect the "real deal".... Caribbean "chilling"!!! You definitely get away from it all here.....the staff are super friendly and will help with any request. Oceanfront rooms....very simple ( yes, very simple )but fab views. Access to water sports if wish to be energetic ( including kier surfing...yes...am going to go back for that)......bicycles to see the island......the Beach Bum Cafe...YUM! Raymond the chef...fab.......Caribbean food at its best! Rebecca...the newbie...a great asset to Sunset Cove. And Rebecca and Robert........thx for letting me see what fun kitesurfing can be. I will be back. This is my kind of getaway place !!

Room Tip: Choose the oceanfront with the kitchenette facility
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetCoveLC, Owner at Sunset Cove, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and for sharing the details of your experience so other guests will know what to expect. We're thrilled you had a great time and look forward to having you come back again soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    18
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great location on the beach, worth the extra flight. Drop into being basic and easy, this is how the Carribean used to be, go with the flow. We were lucky, there were 6 guests total on the property which made it feel like it was ours for the week. Thankfully the resort is pay as you go for rentals and meals, big plus. Tarrah, (your hostess) is upbeat and helpful getting you settled in quickly so you can enjoy the water and the beach. Rent kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel gear. Bring bug dope (seriously). No bar, so pick up beer on the way in from the airstrip. Raymond, the chef is and outstanding and gifted lover of food, particularly from the Carribean! It was our first trip to Little Cay we'd go back in a flash. 200 people live on the island, there isn't a single stop light.

Room Tip: We had no. 9, upstairs facing the water in the front. Very close to the dining area and outdoor show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Despite their website, they've had no kitesurfing instruction or service here for 5 months. They called us a week or so before and let us know that the instructor had left for the season due to "poor wind" conditions but by then it was too late for us to cancel our flights. When we got to the island, we found out through a local that they hadn't had a kitesurfing instructor for at least 5 months, long before we booked our trip here. Misleading and false advertising is one thing - they really need to update their website and be upfront with their customers.


Nonetheless, we still had a good time on Little Cay. Sunset Cove is in a beautiful location, but don't expect luxury or even cleanliness of any sort. The sheets and towels were stained and dirty, the room we stayed in had a serious roach problem, and in the end their prices did not match their website.


This is a bare frills motel on the beach. In hindsight, especially without the ability to kitesurf, I would have gladly paid the extra to stay somewhere more pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TLC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetCoveLC, Manager at Sunset Cove, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We value your opinion and appreciate your feedback. We realize we can’t please everyone 100% of the time, but we do our best to make our guests’ visits as enjoyable as possible. If we had been given the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay, we’re confident it would have been more pleasant for you. In all fairness, we contacted you in advance to let you know there would not be a kite instructor on-site during your holiday. We also informed you we keep an instructor on stand-by if the wind is cooperative. We’re sorry you were disappointed about not being able to kite, but we have no control over the weather. With this in mind, we have updated our website accordingly. Sunset Cove is known as a world-class kiteboarding destination. Remarkable hospitality, service and cleanliness are our top priorities and we provide the most reasonable rates on Little Cayman. We hope we have an opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at Sunset Cove at the end of February. It was my first stop on my way around the Cayman Islands. Tarrah who runs the resort picked me up from the airport and advised me on what to see and where to go. I rented a bike and cycled around the island. Great way to see the whole island at your own pace. I really had a fantastic time at Sunset Cove and met very friendly people. It was a nice place to relax with the amazing view over to Owen Island, the sunset was breathtaking and night sky so romantic.:)
And I must not forget to mention iguanas, actually one huge iguana Winston who I actually petted. Oh, what an experience for a girl from the european mountains.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 305Marcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Sunset Cove in the gem that is Little Cayman. Tarrah, the lady that runs the resort, was lovely and helpful, from picking us up from the airport, to dropping us off at our dive site, and recommending places to go and see. The rooms are basic but clean, and the beachfront location is absolutely stunning. We hired kayaks and kayaked across to Owen Island, and also hired bikes to explore the island (both reasonably priced and easy to arrange). The Beach Bum cafe serves wonderful food (the jerk night on Saturday evening is a must, attracting tourists and locals alike). There is no bar, but there's a bring your own alcohol policy, so a stop off at the liquor store en route from the airport is highly recommended.

All in all, if you are looking for a reasonably priced, relaxing break in a beautiful location, Sunset Cove is the place to go!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Josie474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Sunset Cove. The view from a lounge chair or hammock at the resort is amazing; Owen Island, the bay, and sunsets are great. The room had a fantastic view of the water and was clean with a small refrigerator, microwave, and AC. Simple self-serve breakfast was nice and the lunch & dinner options from Chef Raymond are excellent. Saturday is Jerk Night so try to catch that if you can. All sort of equipment is available for rent (except dive equipment), we used bikes almost every day and did the ~15 minute kayak to Owen Island. There are some friendly "house" iguanas that you will get to meet too. It's worth noting that Sunset Cove is relatively "far" from the other resorts on the islands, but it's only about a 2 mile bike ride and we did that almost every day at least once. There isn't really a beach area in the traditional sense because the bay gets very flat and there is small vegetation in the water just in front of the resort, but you can jump off the dock (has ladder) if you don't want to go a short distance to nearby beaches.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay at Sunset Cove, it has a beautiful beach with the most amazing sunsets. The rooms are basic but the beds are really comfy and it is so quiet you can't get a better nights sleep. Perfectly placed to cycle over to Bloody Bay Wall, just make sure you come out the way you go in, we met the local sea urchins, 100's of them at the water edge!!

Room Tip: We had the room with a kitchenette, took our full cool box over from Grand Cayman, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
2.4 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
15.8 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1425.1 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 34 Wonder Lane, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic place for couples, friends and families on Little Cayman. A friendly, serene, relaxed place to chill. We have lots of fun things to do directly from the white, sandy beach at Sunset Cove. We have kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle boards and luxury beach floats available for rental, so you have everything you need right at the resort. You can kayak over to Owen Island and snorkel or hang out on the beach. South Hole Sound is a lovely, reef-protected, sandy, shallow area with ideal conditions to enjoy most any watersports. We also have bicycles available for 1/2 day or full day rental. There's something for everyone! Or on a lazy day, you can indulge in a massage or lounge in one of the hammocks at the resort. For your dining pleasure, we also have The Beach Bum Cafe which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing