We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Latest guest review.. 'Amazing little hideaway close to the beach' ...sums it up perfectly. Situated on a 5 acre small holding close to the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Latest guest review.. 'Amazing little hideaway close to the beach' ...sums it up perfectly.
Situated on a 5 acre small holding close to the beach
Clean and fresh bedrooms
2nd double bedroom
Porth Ysgaden - just one of the local beaches & right on our doorstep too
Llyn Peninsula....  home to Llyn Retreats
Fabulous golf courses & the 3rd best beach bar in the world Ty Coch Inn, Porthdinllaen
A lovely circular walk which includes a pub in the middle for lunch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Aberdaron, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clara7620...
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked to stay here with my 3 young children, I have to say I was a bit nervous as it was my first time away on my own with my kids. As soon as I got there, any worries I had completely disappeared. Steph and Terry were absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble, the Lodge was more than perfect and the views across the bay were stunning. The Lodge is deceptively roomy inside and is very well equipped, it is furnished beautifully and really felt like a home from home. Although Llyn Retreats is a hidden away gem and in the middle of nowhere, just a short car journey away are the most stunning beaches, I recommend finding your way onto Porthdinllaen beach. We are looking forward to returning to The Lodge and discovering more of this gorgeous part of Wales. A lovely place run by a lovely couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything about it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Hey thank you for your 5 star review, you are a lovely family and certainly a hit with both us two and the lovely lady from the Nefyn Maritime Museum... cant wait to see you all again and welcome you back! Best wishes, Terry & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly P
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Our Welsh retreat”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Another lovely holiday staying at the Lodge. It's good value for money and we like it because it's great for the dogs having a secure garden. It's easy to get to the picturesque beaches and places of interest. Terry and Steph are warm and welcoming We like the open plan of the lodge for eating and relaxing . It has two double beds handy if two couples want to go away. The views are lovely all year round and it feels private even though the coach house and the owners house are very near by. We have always found it clean, warm in winter and adequately equipped for cooking and a great base for our retreat. Will be back next year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Great review thanks folks... its so lovely seeing you and the family return year after year... its rather like having our own family to stay which is great. Looking forward to a brand new year with lots more happy guests! Terry & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenMY64
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect quiet location. Cosy, comfortable and relaxing accommodation.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived in this beautiful, quiet location. The lodge was very cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed. it is perfect for dogs with the enclosed garden. Views from the lodge were fabulous and the walk to the beach was lovely. The owners were really welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful weekend and look forward to returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for a great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you have some free time. Best wishes, Terry & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuseHo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We liked this part of Wales on a previous holiday and decided to come back to the area. Comfortable lodge in beautiful and quiet location with sea view. Steph and Terry are welcoming hosts without being in your face and we were greeted with a bottle of wine on arrival. Good value for money. Lodge is simple and comfortable, nice lounge to relax in the evening, good size garden around the lodge for children to play in. The children also liked playing with the nice and lively dogs from the owner. Lodge well equipped with reading material and in particular walking guide books which was much appreciated. Plenty to do on the peninsula: lots of walks round the coast and inland and a different beach to go to every day! Good part of Wales to go to with a young family. We chose the "Lodge" as it has divan beds for those tall people as the "Coach house" has standard beds. Thanks for a lovely week.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you for your great review.. we appreciated you choosing us and would love to welcome you back when next you are in this part of the world. The dogs missed the children and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday spent in the Mountains. Best wishes to you all, Terry & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4fit
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great hosts welcome you to this lovely lodge which is set in the grounds of the hosts house, which when we forgot our matches for the bbq was very handy(thanks). The lodge was clean and well equipped with its own enclosed well kept gardens which was great for our dogs. The surrounding areas are so quiet and tranquil, some of the many beaches are magnificent with the local dog friendly beach just over a mile away. The majority of the roads are unclassified and can be narrow and quiet great for cycling with a great loop round the peninsula but beware of the 20% climb up from Rhiw. Good idea to have tesco deliver some groceries but arrange this before you set off. The 'local pub the lion' is great with good bar meals and a selection of real ales but over 3 miles away. As a family we loved our visit to the lodge and hope to be back sometime soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Fantastic... thank you guys for a great week... super guests loved meeting you all. Special love to the children from Tom & Daisy - who were very sad once they realised you had left... Best wishes, Steph & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne b
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location in west wales.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you need peace and quiet - this is the place - so tranquil and chilling.
We stayed in the Lodge which was very comfortable and the secure garden
was brilliant for our Labrador who had plenty of room to play safely.
Steph and Terry are brilliant hosts who great you warmly on your arrival then
leave you to it unless you need questions answered. The location is lovely
- very quiet - the property is down a small lane leading to the owners
house and rentals of cottage and lodge. My husband is disabled but
he was off on his mobility scooter exploring the lanes often away for an hour
or so but area was very safe for him as not a lot of traffic.
Some lovely remote beaches which are dog friendly are within walking distance.
Again if you need peace and quiet only hearing the birds - this is the
place to stay in either of the properites.
We wish Steph and Terry all the best for the future and we will be
coming back.
and

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no mobile signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you for the great review. It was lovely meeting you & we will be looking forward to your return as soon as you are able. Best wishes, Terry & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wonderful little place, very warm and cosy with fabulous views. This was the perfect retreat for our family of five. Our three kids ( all in their 20's) enjoyed unwinding and relaxing after finishing uni.
The Ty Coch Inn is somewhere you must visit, also The Ship at Eden served an amazing Sunday roast.
Would love to return soon- thank you Terry & Steph ☺

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thanks for the great review, it was lovely to meet you all and we are so glad you had a fabulous time. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Terry & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing