We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax to the max!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gated front elevation of the property Kitchen/Dining Area with breakfast bar, seating a further 3 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Gated front elevation of the property
Kitchen/Dining Area with breakfast bar, seating a further 3 people
Dining Area seating 7 people, with the ornate bread oven
Living Room
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Sea view from Bedroom 2
Bathroom, with bath and overhead shower
Rear of the property
Outdoor Dining Area
Rear garden with patio and bbq decking
View from the rear garden of 'Mynydd Anelog'
Aberdaron Beach
Aberdaron
View of Bardsey Island (Ynys Enlli)
Seals on Bardsey Island
Whistling Sands Beach (Porth Oer)
Fisherman's Cove (Porth Meudwy)
View of Aberdaron from the headland walking towards Fisherman's Cove
Analog headland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Aberdaron, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen H
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relax to the max!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I stayed at Madryn for a post xmas get away. It was just what we needed. As soon as we walked in we really felt at home. It has such a welcoming, stylish but homely feel. It was pretty quiet in Aberdaron (it being early Jan) but this was perfect for secluded walks on the beach and a quiet pint in the pub. Madryn is really well equipped and had everything we needed. Thanks Ali, we really enjoyed staying at your home and hope to return one day x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed Madryn and Aberdaron as much as we do. We would love to welcome you back to Madryn in the future.
Ali & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We all loved Madryn !”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

As a family with two teenagers, one 8 year old and one 14 month old we were looking for something quiet, clean, cosy, and a base for an odd hike in those beautiful Welsh hills. Madryn ticked all the boxes. It is located on the quiet side of the Llyn peninsula. The cottage is within walking distance to the beach and the local chippy/restaurants/shops and pub. We had no difficulty with a push chair for our little one. In fact, Antony managed to get up the first hill by himself! We only used the chippy, highly recommend. The owners are very good too. I didn't have the correct change twice and we got let off paying 50p. Now you don't see that very often. The beach was massive as was the hiking spectacular. We only wished it was summer as we all really wanted to go into the crystal clear sea. Perhaps next time. Returning to the cottage. It was clean, as was the linen. Bathroom great too. All beds comfortable including the sofa bed. Views from rear bedroom and kitchen very nice! Madryn also had all the bits and pieces to make any meal for more people than it could sleep. A dishwasher that made light work of the dishes. Perfect. We have stayed in a few places on the Llyn peninsula and I have to say that this cottage rates amongst the best. If you are looking for a Las Vegas experience then this is not the place for you. If you are looking to meet some very friendly Welsh people, spend some quality time with your family or loved one then this place is perfect. One final point. The cottage has a lounge separate from the kitchen/dining room. For us this was perfect as two activities could be done simultaneously. The lounge was very relaxing and the dining room with a nice big table! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Many thanks for such a fantastic review! We are glad that Madryn, and Aberdaron captured your family as much as it does ours. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Ali & Jon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice38
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a brilliant cottage to spend a week in, it had everything you needed for a good holiday. Just a short walk down into the heart of things and a 6 minute hike back up the hill, ha ha. We managed it most days. The food in both pubs was fine and we had a pizza made near the beach which was good. we enjoyed a circular beach walk as well. It was a pleasure to be here for a week. The only thing for me was I would have liked a venetian blind on the bedroom window as it was so open and we don't sleep in the total dark. You couldn't watch TV without closing the blind either. Would love to be back though.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review and for your recommendations to consider. With regards to the tv, the blinds in the living room can be tilted to block out any sunlight that might affect viewing.
We would love to welcome you back to Madryn in the future.
Kind regards Ali & Jon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Jo1862...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful family accommodation; squirrel in the garden every day!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Aberdaron for a breezy week in June/July, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The kitchen-diner is simply perfect for a family, and well equipped.

The terrace outside the kitchen was pleasant for a couple of dry evenings as the sun went down. I imagine in high summer it would be fabulous.

Both bedrooms worked well for us, with a blackout blind in the adult room offering a solid night sleep. Our only feedback was that a blackout blind might be beneficial in the second/childrens room.

We also enjoyed the use of the off road parking and felt safe in the area. Lovely to walk down the road to the bakery, beach and numerous eateries. Would also recommend the National Trust Museum in the village. Would definitely recommend the accommodation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review of Madryn. Thank you for your recommendation with regards to another blackout blind. We would love to welcome you back to Madryn in the future.
Ali & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToriW208
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommadation and easy walking distance to the village/beach”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Madryn is a comfortable and spacious bungalow ideal for a family of 4. Based within a short 5 minute walk to the village/beach, it is the ideal base to explore Aberdaron and the surrounding areas. Stunning views across the countryside from the back garden, with a decking area to enjoy the evening sun. I'm sure we will return in the future.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your review of Madryn. We would love to welcome you back to Madryn in the future.
Ali & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangoogl
Powys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing place”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very handy for beach and village. Well furnished and light. Good ootdoor dining area. Would come back again. Alison the owner was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No mobile signal for my network. (Talk talk) can get it in certain parts of village and surrounding lanes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you very much for your review. We would love to welcome you back to Madryn in the future.
Ali & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aepowell6
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremly confortable and well equipped”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great accomodation in a lovely location. 5* kitchen/diner. Superb views and short walk to beach/shop/pubs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your review of Madryn. We are glad you had a lovely holiday and would love to welcome you back in the future.
Ali & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing