We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cute spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayman Brac Museum

Cayman Brac Museum
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Cayman Brac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cayman Brac Museum, the oldest Museum in the Cayman Islands opened its doors to the public on December 3rd, 1983. Through the years our efforts have been focused on preserving the unique history of Cayman Brac & Little and creating informative exhibits. The Museum’s home is the Old Government Administration Building built in 1933 which housed the Post Office, Customs, Treasury and much more under one roof before it was replaced by a new building in 1983.
Swansboro
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A cute spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

this is a great spot to enjoy the history of the Brac. Staff is a great resource for local knowlege.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank djbdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
djbdds,

Thank you for your review. Our staff take great pride in our programs and the history and culture of our islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My six year old son wanted to visit. He found it interesting and the tour guide was very helpful. It was cool to see so many artifacts there were very old.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken-Lambertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Ken-Lambertus,

Thank you for your review. Our museum is very popular with school-aged children as well. We are happy he had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, little and local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a charming, little museum with good local information regarding the interesting history of the Brac. It's worth a visit, but I doubt that you need more than 30 minutes to see and read everything and even that amount of time is stretching it. Make sure to talk to the people working at the museum to get further information on the cat boat across the street.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AliYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
GlassAli,

Thank you for your review. The museum is a very important part of our history and we have since expanded our exhibits. We would love for your to visit again the in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I visited for the first time in September and it was wonderful. I remember some of the items. Brought back a lot of my childhood memories. GREAT!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelique0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Angelique0316,

Thank your for your review. Our slogan is "Keeping in touch with the past" and we are thrilled your experience evoked those memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Has potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Its a nice little museum which features mainly common artifacts of daily life from the past 100 or so years. Its run by proud members of the local community. There is a limited collection on display of somewhat unremarkable items however the items are nicely displayed. So there is plenty of potential and it time they may expand their collection/displays. There is no admittance fee however as with most museums, you can make a donation to its' operation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank I_McI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
I_McI,

Thank you for your review and suggestions. We have since completed the installation of a new interactive exhibit. Come back and see us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayman Brac Museum also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Brac Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing