We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Everything that has been said already is true. Great food, Comfortable clean rooms (well air conditioned), Friendly staff and great diving.
You won't be dissapointed if you choose Brac Reef Resort.

Awsome dock and pier, Can be seen in photos! Save your bread from dinner for the Tarpon that show up nightly. The beach and hammocks are very relaxing after a long day of diving. Swimming off the beach on the otherhand is almost nonexistant. There is a fringing reef about 200 yrds out and between the reef and the beach the water is only waste deep at best and loaded with sea urchins.

The dive operation Reef Divers is very good. Very friendly professional staff. It is trully vallet diving. They set up your gear and bring it to you at the back of the boat and take it from you when you get back on board. At the end of the day they hose off your gear and it is set for the next day. Your gear never leaves the boat. The only dissapointment was both night dives were canceld due to rough seas getting out of the channel. I don't know if this was true but that was the answer given at the time.
Our boat captain (will remain nameless as to not get him / her in trouble) Said he / she didn't see a problem but it was canceld none the less. The final desision to go is made by management not the captains.

If you are a diver looking for Great plentiful food, Clean cool rooms and great diving you will not be dissapointed.

P.S.
Be sure to ask Omar for a Bob Marley!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ScubaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2008

We just returned from the Brac (June 22 -28, 2008) where we celebrated our 25th anniversary. We could not of had a better time anywhere in the world! The diving was fantastic and the whole concept of "Valet Diving " with the crew from Reef Divers on the Coral Sister (Ian and B.J.) was top notch. The food was unbelievable. Our most heartfelt thanks to all and we will be "back to the Brac" as soon as we can free our schedules. Highly recommended for a "live aboard" dive vacation on land. Simply the best! Pack light and enjoy 100ft+ visability and some of the most professional divemasters we have ever encountered. The dive sites are pristine. If you want to dive and enjoy incredible food you need to book this resort. Make sure you get the 3 dives per day and the breakfast/lunch/dinner meal plan. You will NOT regret it!! We were almost in tears when we had to leave. We can't wait to "get back to the Brac" Happy Diving

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cindarelly4au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

My wife and I had read so many great reviews about Brac Reef Beach Resort that we had to give it a try. I thought it was no way it could be as good as advertised. Boy was I WRONG! The resort was very clean. Our room was comfortable with plenty of hot water and the air conditioning was plenty cool. But the food? I don't see how they can create such gourmet food and still serve it buffet style. The food was simply awesome! It's the best I've ever had at a resort. If you don't like the food, something is seriously wrong with you. Now on to the diving. Ian and Barb were our guides/captains/friends for the week and they are TOP NOTCH. Believe what you read about the valet diving. The sites around the island are varied and interesting. The boats are large and comfortable.

As a matter of fact, we had such a great time that I just booked a return trip for this November. We weren't planning to take another trip this fall but I can't pass up the 2 for 1 deal they have going.

Come visit "The Brac" and see what you have been missing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Resort was great....we had a group of 23 divers, of which the staff and management accommodated every need. Dive shop and staff were professional, courteous and lots of fun, even hung around into the evenings with the guests. Several of us have traveled together before and agreed this was best place yet. Is valet diving, don't have to touch your gear (except mask) from day one until you pack. Boats were easy on and easy off, well stocked with an upper deck for sightseeing. Dive staff was informative and well prepared.

Room was comfortable, clean and had really good A/C. Can rent a small fridge for room (was $5 a night). Plenty of hot water. Computer in lobby, well stocked gift shop. Had a BBQ night, movie night, Karaoke and a manager's welcome party with traditional rum punch and munchies.

Buffets were plentiful, varied and delicious. Should check the desserts before you load up on the meal. Fresh fruits, salads and veggies at all meals, good selections. Vegetarians in our group were equally as pleased as the meat eaters. First dive trip that we gained weight....they have menu dining as well as room service.

The setting is beautiful, the island itself reflected a local pride by its neatness and cleanliness. Worth renting a car for no dive day and checking out caves, bluffs and walking trails.

Resort has bikes for general use. Pool was fresh water and again, very clean with lounge chairs, covered tables and towels (at front desk or dive shop). Spa has two rooms, services were first class, can even get massage on top of dock over looking water. Also has a professional dive photo shop, with photographer on premisis if you have a camera question or problem.

Return flight to Grand Cayman was really early, manager was at front desk at 4:15 am, with coffee, juice and muffins. Understand flight time is going to change and will be more reasonable in the very near future.

Have been to at least 12 other "dive resorts" throughout Gulf and Caribbean, this is first one I would go back to again, tomorrow!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CBailey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Just got back from the Brac,and while we had a beach house in Bamboo Bay we spent most of our time at Brac Reef.Dive in the morning, eat lunch there,and come back for dinner.
Diving was good,We've been ruined by Roatan,boat crews were great,they thought we were guests at the resort so they wanted to set our gear up for us.Nice touch but i'm a little anal about my dive gear,i know where i like eveything to be.Diving was limited because of rough waters,i few of the guests voiced complaints about the chop,sorry but thats God's doing,people payed money to dive so good or bad you will dive.
Food was the best on the island,and the bar was the only happening spot.A prior comment was left about Lori and Anna ,the bartenders,and they couldnt have been more delightful.On wednesdays and weekends they are swamped,at times they only have two or three running the bar,waiting tables both in the bar and dining room,and busing tables.So about the only complaint i could lodge is give them more help.
All in all if we go back we would stay at the Brac Reef,great times.Steve,Bruno,Sophie,hope you made it home alright,still waiting for the shark photos to forward.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

As first time visitors to the Cayman Islands, my wife and I chose Brac Reef as an escape from the "hustle and bustle of Grand Cayman"! Upon arrival, we were whisked the short journey to the hotel, in search of our objective - doing absolutely nothing on a desert island paradise. We were not disappointed. Friendly, efficient reception check in, huge ground floor room with a bed the size of Shropshire, filter coffee maker, scrupulously clean, air-con, spotlessshower/bath and patio door with terrace leading to - WOW!
You are yards from the beach. Literally. It would take a writer or a poet to fully convey the beauty, so I'll let the pictures do the talking. Highlights? The friendly welcome from everyone.Falling asleep on one of the cleverly positioned hammocks, on the beach, under the stars. The best steak I have ever tasted. Making our way through the very reasonably priced bar menu and cocktail list. Sitting in the hot tub with a rum runner. Strolling along a deserted beach, beer in hand, to watch a fabulous sunset every night. Taking photos that look like picture postcards. Painting rocks, shells and driftwood to leave undisturbed as a memento of our visit. Swinging in a hammock on the pier listening to the sea.
For memories that will last a lifetime, come to Brac Reef. We are not divers - I wish I was looking at the facilities - but it is the perfect place for total relaxation.
Take time out to see the rest of the island too - it won't take long. See the lighthouse, the boobies (they're birds), the lush vegetation, the caves, the cliffs, the local reggae bars.
Want the perfect, unspoilt, tranquil island getaway?
Brac Reef. You know you deserve it. Five stars.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Dive, Dive, Dive that’s about all there is to do on the island. Nothing wrong with that but if you don’t want to dive three times a day, this might not be your place.

The resort was as I expected and maybe a little more. Three meals a day (buffets) weren’t bad. The service at the buffets dinners was great, the others were acceptable but they wouldn’t go out of their way for you. The food at the bar was a nice change for lunch a couple of days. The grounds of the resort were nice but with a little more up keep they could be spectacular. The second story on the pier with a couple of hammocks is a nice touch.

The room was comfortable. The cleaning staff does not by any means exert themselves in cleaning the rooms. Empty cups and plates are left in the room but the beds are made and clean towels are left.

When you leave the resort to return home, they prepare a plate of muffins and such, to give you something in your stomach for your travel that you pickup after dinner the night before. I have to admit no other resort has ever done that that I have stayed in.

The dive shop was great in some expects and lacking in others. There is a gear bag that is left in your room that you place your equipment in (with the exception of your mask and computers) which you leave outside your door the morning you start to dive. The dive briefings were very complete but the divemaster part was lacking. They only stay in the water for 30 mins (which they didn’t tell us until the first dive was competed). I don’t mind not having a divemaster in the water but my partner prefers it. The “valet” diving means they set your gear up and bring it to the back of the boat for you is a nice idea and it seemed like most people enjoyed it. The diving was good, I wouldn’t say great but we did see one hammerhead shark. We only had three different divemasters all week which was good in some ways. Ken was the best above and below the water for us.

I think I would go back there again but my partner doesn’t seem open to the idea.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chitown962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range: £109 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing