We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive, dive, dive”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dive, dive, dive”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This new property (rebuilt after the 2008 hurricane) seems deisigned for divers, but is fine place for nondivers as well. The rooms are big and very well appointed, the grounds are well arranged and there is a nice pool. Food is outstanding and endless, the bar is large and friendly, and there are cool amenities like a massage therapist on site. The dive shop and the dive program is efficient and competent, and dive sites are close and beautiful. Downsides include being right next to the airport, occasional surly employees, and uncertain utilities on this remote island. For the underwater crowd, this is a great place to be. Nondivers can enjoy the island sights, although it is so small that three days may be enough.

Room Tip: Second floor gets much better views and has balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddleglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    153
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
68
223
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Pleasant service at front desk. Binder in room with information about the hotel amenities, spa services, dive sites, what to do on Cayman Brac, etc. Coffee maker includes a decaf option. Water conservation signage, but it appeared that my towels were always replaced even though I left them on the rack.
DVD machine rental available and DVDs to borrow. No news channel on TV (at another hotel down the road, both BBC World and CNN were available.)
No room safe. Strong smell of floral disinfectant on arrival. Dinner not till 6:30 pm.
The cleaning staff always gave a friendly greeting.
The resort holds events during the week. Sunday evening: video of local fish identification, for the divers. Monday evening: Manager’s Meet-n-Greet, with free rum punch and appies. Dive shop staff were introduced. Tuesday evening: bingo and popcorn. Wednesday: trivia quiz. I wasn't there for the Thursday crab race (glad I wasn't, don't support using other creatures for entertainment) or Friday's barbecue.
Good service by the diveboat staff. Easy-to-dive locations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I were recently in Cayman Brac. We stayed at a rental property for the week, but were eager to try some of the local cuisine. We had heard from other travellers that the food at the Brac Reef was terrific. Discovered that they only serve buffet style here. As it was my husband's birthday, we wanted a nice sit-down meal, so I called the hotel to see if something special could be arranged. After a few conversations with Trudy, I was delighted to find out that they were able to accommodate our request. We had a lovely table under the big tree on the beach, with a wonderful server. Dennis, who managed the restaurant, worked double duty to cater to us as well. The meal was outstanding! Freshly-baked bread, salad, followed by mahi mahi and saffron rice, then dessert. The portions were huge and we were stuffed. It was a prix-fixe style meal, drinks not included. We did pay a little extra for this dinner, but it was worth it. Thanks Trudy and Dennis!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a nice setting outside, The bad news is that the flies descend as soon as your food is served and do not leave until it is gone. I do not know if this was unusual as we only ate there once. There is an inside screened area which doe not have the same ambiance, but I would select that option next time. The food was very good, if a little expensive for a burger and salad. The staff were hard working but slow, in part because they seemed to be understaffed and also the kitchen did not appear to be able to keep up, despite the fact that it was not especially busy. I would definitely give it another try, but I was not overly impressed on my first visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquila13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went to Brac Reef Resort with a group from our local dive shop. We all had a fabulous time! The diving was breathtaking, the staff was outstanding, and the food was out of this world!
The diving is very easy, all you need to do is jump in the water and have fun. The groupers act like dogs...they follow the group, love to be stroked, and they will actually point out the lionfish for the DM to spear!
The staff was very eager to make sure everyone was happy, and they went out of their way to be friendly and personable. The food was first-class all the way! Most of our group had to loosen their belts a few notches by the end of the week.
If you are looking for fast-paced action and lots of shopping, this is not the place for you. It is very laid back, and the island is far from a "tourist trap". It's a great place to relax, unwind, and get in some world-class diving!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have direct access to pool, dining, and dive shop. Second floor rooms each have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

You can't beat the valet diving. This and the sister resort on Little Cayman are the only resorts I have stayed at that have the valet diving. The food has been excellent. My only complaints is the use a lot of onions and I can't eat them and they served a lot if shrimp and I can't eat that either. But still plenty of choices. The room was very nice. The hotel and dive shop are very well run. Makes you want to come back every year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, NM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you are a diver, how can you not like this resort? 5 star all the way!!! The rooms are great: clean, comfortable, with plenty of space and a great bathroom. The food is just excellent!! Three times a day the Chef turns out great food, always fresh and plenty of choices. The deserts are tremendous. The wait staff, bar tenders, and house keeping staff are top notch, friendly and personable. The property is clean, the pool meticulous, the massages top notch, and the gift shop is nice, but small. The property manager, Trudy, is a true professional and a sweetheart. The dive operation is very professional. The dive boats are large and clean. Valet diving at its best. It is so nice not to have carry a bunch of gear back and forth. Dive Masters/Guides are great: helpful, friendly, and professional. Dive sites are great. Just Great!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoePalooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
5.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
84 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Property: Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing