We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carib Sands - Excellent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carib Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just came back from Cayman Brac and Carib Sands was just right --- close to the dive shop (can walk in about 15 min or the dive shop will pick you up) and excellent if you want a place with a kitchen that is well maintained and very friendly staff. Everyone we dealt with were so pleasant --- it's right on the water, has a pool, and the units are very clean and well stocked. Not far from a store and the staff are available to answer any questions. Kathy, Jeff and Anton were great ---- if you want to rent a car, just ask - they'll make arrangements. You can also rent bikes. We had a lovely, relaxing time at Carib Sands and it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickietucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2011

Carib Sands – located on a sandy beach – on the perfect spot in the Caribbean – Cayman Brac. Enjoyed the stay tremendously. Well kept and very nice apartments. Peace and quiet – but close to attractions, diving, store, restaurant……. Etc. – exceptional view over the lagoon, the reef and the ocean – stingrays swim in your “front yard”. Very friendly and helpful staff! I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MereteNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were looking for a very quiet place on Carib Brac for a week of rest & snorkeling. Our condo at Carib Sands was perfect and very reasonable. Very nice with all the necessary appliances including a washing machine & dryer. The Captain's Table restaurant was a 3 minute walk. Good food and beverages. Rented a car for about $40 per day. You drive on the left side. The biggest disappointment was that the snorkeling was very poor. It is more of a divers island vs snorkelers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We rented one of their condos for a week long diving trip and it was comfortable and clean. Close to the dive shop and the staff was wonderful. Very helpful and pleasant. You do need bikes to get to a store and anywhere else you may want to explore. The front desk was so helpful in getting mine to the right height and helping us figure out where to go. It was nice coming back to a flat and not a hotel room because we were able to make our own meals and spread out.
Tips for Cayman Brac:
Reef Divers came and picked us up every day and dropped us back so that was very convenient. The Captains table is a great restaurant right next door so that was very handy if a bit on the pricy side. Their Conch Fritters are superb and should be tried. Eddies (Ed's) Jerk Chicken right near the market was amazing!!! As was Aunt Sha's but be prepared for a long long dinner. It is a single family operation and definitely on Island time. But the food is so worth it! The rum punch at the Brac Reef Beach Resort was the best we had on the island.

All in all we had a great time and a wonderful week in the sun

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My family and I just returned from a great weeklong stay at Carib Sands. The whole staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our 2 br condo was clean, well kept, and fully equipped with a nice view of the ocean and the pool from our 2nd floor balcony. The only drawback was the noise in the pipes when the upstairs condo flushed their toilet in the middle of the night. Although the cable tv channels were limited, we had full internet access at all times. The pool is brand new with crystal clear water and the grounds were immaculate with few reminders of the hurricane. In fact, the whole island is in much better shape than expected after the destruction of just 2 years ago. We had excellent meals at nearby Captains Table, Brac Reef Resort, and Aunt Sha's and enjoyable diving with Reef Divers. The grocery stores had a surprising large variety of items. There is little night life to speak of on the island but if you are looking for a friendly, safe, relaxing place to get away from it all, this is the place for you. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My friend and I arrived nearly 10pm after 12+ hrs of travel, and a pleasant man gave us a ride to Carib Sands, which was very nice and comfortable. Very nice. Basic, but very nice. The sheets & towels were changed halfway during our week-long stay there. Wireless internet signal did not reach to our 3rd floor room, so accessing their network meant sitting in front of the office door.

It is immediately next to a restaurant called Captain's Table, and we ate a few meals out at the bar. The cheeseburger was great and we went back again a few days later to have another one for dinner. They have a strong wireless signal there.

It was very quiet while we were there and all the rooms have a porch view of the sea...very pleasant.

Price being right, I would stay at this place again. Cayman Brac has limited choices for hotels/resorts and such, and if I didn't next time rent a privately rented home this place was very nice and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombadil1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

We are so happy to hear you would come back and stay with us. Wanted to let everyone know we know have resort wide wireless internet!! Thank you for your review of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

We spent two weeks at Carib Sands Beach Resort on Cayman Brac over the Christmas holidays. As we like to do "our own thing" we preferred to stay at a condo property rather than a hotel.

Carib Sands is a great condominium property with a total of about 38 one, two, three and four-bedroom units located on right on the beach on the south side of Cayman Brac. The property is close to the airport, dive operators, several of the island's restaurants, the bank and grocery store. It is also close to some good snorkelling and/or shore diving locations.

There is a large, freshwater pool with a large deck for relaxing in the sun and a dock with a two-story pavillion with a couple of hammocks on the upper level, which are great for relaxing and reading when you've had enough sun.

We stayed in a ground-floor, 1 bedroom condo that had a view of the pool and the ocean. The condo was very comfortable with a queen-sized bed in the bedroom, four-piece bathroom, kitchen with full-size appliances, queen-sized murphy bed in the living room, and a patio off the living room which lead to the pool.

Although the resort was fully occupied over the Christmas holidays the unit was very quiet. We didn't hear any noise coming from the units above or beside the unit we were staying in.

Our only complaint was that on a few of the holiday days local kids just came onto the property to use the pool, which is supposed to be private. The condo office was closed, so there was nobody around to regulate the pool.

If you are looking for a laid-back, relaxing vacation and don't want to stay at a hotel I would recommend Carib Sands Beach Resort.

8  Thank mbangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carib Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Sands Beach Resort

Address: 193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range: £90 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Laid Back on the Brac" is our trademark. Carib Sands Beach Resort a vacationer's dream, safe, quiet, relaxing and welcoming surroundings are all here. The only thing that is missing is you! Direct flights from Miami on Saturday's get you here by 1:00 p.m. so you have the rest of the day to lay around the pool, beachcomb, swing in a hammock, or sit out on your patio, enjoy a good book or choose to have a massage in your own condo or out on the second floor of the dock. So pack up the family, or your favorite person and come on down to the greatest piece of paradise on Cayman Brac. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carib Sands Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing