We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cayman Brac Carib Sands”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carib Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cayman Brac Carib Sands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent a week on Cayman Brac, having been to Little Cayman and Grand Cayman before. This is what we think:
Cayman Brac is more busy than little cayman, many more people, more choices of restaurants and food in supermarket, but still a relatively quiet island
Amazing plants on the bluff, nesting boobies, great for walking
There is good snorkeling on the north side, best snorkeling from the pier and the cut out pool nearby, always saw stingrays, spotted eagle rays and turtles, lots of fish, also good for swimming.
Auntie Sha's Restaurant very good food, freshly prepared home cooked, therefore a little wait, but it's worth it, best food on the island, best ever fish curry, also to take away

On the downside you need a car to get to snorkeling sites, the car rental is expensive, US$48/day incl insurance, for very old car ( over 106000 miles), but bikes cost $20 per day for 2 and it’s a long way to go with very steep hills....
Expensive food in the supermarket, but lots more available than on little cayman
Most expensive taxi $25 for 2 min ride from airport to Carib sands - more expensive than a taxi in Tokyo, next time we’ll get a rental car from the airport!

Our suitcase didn't arrive with us, and there was no info when it would. It did arrive with the next flight in the afternoon. Cayman airways staff couldn’t care less, it might be normal procedure for them, but I found it very stressful, as I had lost a suitcase before and never got it back. I think they should give the tourists’ luggage priority over other cargo.
Together with the rip off taxi ride that spoiled our first day!


We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Carib Sands on the first floor, there was a nice view from the balcony to the sea.
It was clean, but basic. Nice thick towels and little basket with with tea, coffee etc and 2 water bottles. Towels and bed linen changed once during our weeks stay, but no cleaning.
We enjoyed our stay very much and had a great time snorkeling on the north side every day or walking on the bluff, there are just a few minor complaints we would have:

the sleep quality was not great, as the bedroom window faces on outside corridor, there is a very bright light outside the bedroom window and thin curtains, that makes it very light in the bedroom at night. Also no mosquito net on the bedroom window, noise from other tenants coming back late.

Wifi works only in the office, although strangely it did work in the room on sat and sun only; the kitchen not great, glasses all plastic, old stuff, no electric kettle
Air conditioning units on the side of the building very noisy at night, bit of a shame, it could be very quiet on an island like that at night.
Carpet in bedroom is full of spiky seeds (painful when stepping on them!!)
No snorkeling or swimming in the lagoon in front of the hotel. It was too wavy to go outside the reef on the south side.
A group of local teenagers use the pool at night and hang around the jetty on the weekend, which puts guests off using it. There doesn’t seem to be any Carib Sands staff around after the office closes.
These are just minor points to help other travelers, overall it’s a very nice island and worth going for the diving/snorkeling!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iguanafan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your review of Carib Sands Beach Resort. I would like to take this opprotunity to comment on a couple of points which were made. At the time of reservation we ask if there is anything else we can do for you, like reserving a car at no extra charge, providing breakfast foods in your condo if you arrive late and others. During your stay there was a large convention taking place on the island, when you came to the office and asked us to try and make arrangements, I approached you and mentioned the cost of the car and you approved this mid size car . Usually the cost is US$32.00 per day for an economy with newer vehicles. When you arrived I showed you to your condo and mentioned if you had any problems at night to please walk over to the Captain's Table for assistance. Cayman Airways employee brought your luggage to your second floor condo and delivered it to you soon after the first afternoon flight arrived. Our WIFI continues to be a challange for us and we encourage guests to come to the office if they need to connect. We have contacted our local phone company for assistance in trying to keep the signal up and running.
We are always looking for ways we can make each stay for our guests more comfortable and to be able to encourage others to come to Carib Sands and enjoy the tranquility and beauty of our island. Thank you again for your words of encouragement. And we look forward to your visit in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had an amazing time at Carib Sands Beach Resort. Our condo was awesome and the beaches and pool were great! The staff was extra helpful and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We loved out stay at Carib Sands! The unit was super clean and quiet, and the kitchen was very well appointed. We were on the first floor so could walk right out onto the sand. Everyone in the office was super friendly and helpful and helped us rent a car, set up a FREE tour of the island with the government tourist office, etc.

The only drawbacks for us were: 1) the beach had a lot of trash on it. I am sure most of this had washed up and wasn't the result of guests but it was still very unpleasant to go for a walk on one of the only stretches of sandy beach on the island and have to step over water bottles, pop cans, liquor bottles, motor oil bottles, stray fishing gear, hunks of styrofoam, lost sandals, etc etc etc. A dirty beach can really ruin an otherwise great experience. There *was* someone outside raking the shoreline the day we left which was heartening; perhaps that person just needs to be paid for the job more often. 2) The internet connection was really bad. I have a brand new computer and have never had problems picking up wireless before but i had to sit directly under the transmitter at the pool to get a connection (even across the pool didn't work). I unfortunately had to do a day of work while on vacation that required internet access and this was not an anticipated hurdle.

These are small things though when considering our overall stay!! Very recommended!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
In response to this review dated 29 August 2011 firstly I would like to say we were very happy to have you here at Carib Sands Beach Resort.

You mentioned the beaches being dirty and you are correct that time of the year we get a great deal of Sargassum weed to wash up on our beaches continualy through out the day. Our grounds men work very hard to remove it every morning from our property, only to have it back the next morning.

You also mentioned the wyfi, and again you are right, I believe I mentioned to you when you arrived that we were having problems with the signal being picked up, and I mentioned that you were more than welcome to come to the office area if a connection problem exsisted so you could do your days work. Please know that we do appreciate all of the recommendations you mentioned while here concerning the internet. Please know that we do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The condos are clean, quiet and have enough kitchen utensils/pots/pans to easily make meals. Our one bedroom also had a washer and dryer which was a nice surprise. The only complaint I have is the unit we stayed in had the worst kitchen layout I've ever seen. Most people might not notice but I love to cook so it irriated me. Our first floor unit had upgraded lounge chairs so that was definiely worth the trade off for the kitchen! Maid service is extra but they will change the sheets and towels midway through your stay without opting for maid service. Plus there are extras in the closet.

When we arrived our luggage didn't but the staff at Carib Sands worked with the airlines to get our luggage to us and when all but one bag came they went the extra mile on a Sunday to ensure we received it, even after their business hours. They also arranged our car and diving before we arrived, and worked with us when we requested modifications.

You can walk next door to Captains Table for dinner or drinks and they also have live music some evenings. Diving is down the street at Brac Reef Divers. They will pick you up or you can drive there. It's about a mile down the road, looks like it's right next door on maps and it is not, so beware. Brac Reef Resort where Reef Divers is located, also has evening activities and a very nice bar and restaurant.

If you're not a diver there is wonderful snorkeling right outside the door of the condo in the reef sheltered bay. The water rarely gets deeper than 4 feet and the temperature varies from bath water warm to occasional cold patches. We saw litters of baby stingrays, eagle rays, spotted and chain moray eels, tons of baby fish, huge conch, lobsters, large tarpon and baracuda.

Grocers, bank and licquor stores are all within a mile of the resort.

Room Tip: First floor rooms give you direct access to the beach from your patio door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuddly_Cassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just came back from Cayman Brac and Carib Sands was just right --- close to the dive shop (can walk in about 15 min or the dive shop will pick you up) and excellent if you want a place with a kitchen that is well maintained and very friendly staff. Everyone we dealt with were so pleasant --- it's right on the water, has a pool, and the units are very clean and well stocked. Not far from a store and the staff are available to answer any questions. Kathy, Jeff and Anton were great ---- if you want to rent a car, just ask - they'll make arrangements. You can also rent bikes. We had a lovely, relaxing time at Carib Sands and it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickietucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Carib Sands – located on a sandy beach – on the perfect spot in the Caribbean – Cayman Brac. Enjoyed the stay tremendously. Well kept and very nice apartments. Peace and quiet – but close to attractions, diving, store, restaurant……. Etc. – exceptional view over the lagoon, the reef and the ocean – stingrays swim in your “front yard”. Very friendly and helpful staff! I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MereteNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were looking for a very quiet place on Carib Brac for a week of rest & snorkeling. Our condo at Carib Sands was perfect and very reasonable. Very nice with all the necessary appliances including a washing machine & dryer. The Captain's Table restaurant was a 3 minute walk. Good food and beverages. Rented a car for about $40 per day. You drive on the left side. The biggest disappointment was that the snorkeling was very poor. It is more of a divers island vs snorkelers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
4.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Carib Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Sands Beach Resort

Property: Carib Sands Beach Resort
Address: 193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Laid Back on the Brac" is our trademark. Carib Sands Beach Resort a vacationer's dream, safe, quiet, relaxing and welcoming surroundings are all here. The only thing that is missing is you! Direct flights from Miami on Saturday's get you here by 1:00 p.m. so you have the rest of the day to lay around the pool, beachcomb, swing in a hammock, or sit out on your patio, enjoy a good book or choose to have a massage in your own condo or out on the second floor of the dock. So pack up the family, or your favorite person and come on down to the greatest piece of paradise on Cayman Brac. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carib Sands Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing