We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carib Sands Cayman Brac stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carib Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Carib Sands Cayman Brac stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have stayed here multiple times, the price is right, the accommodations are always clean and it's a great setup with the murphy bed. We'll keep coming brac!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I have been vacationing on the Brac every year since 2003. We've tried staying at two other places over the last 8 years and always end up back at Carib Sands. There's a reason for that. You just can't beat the location, the resort itself and the people that work there! You're within walking distance to several beach bars, there are hammocks on the dock to relax on and there's good snorkeling right off the beach! I think our days of "trying something new" in terms of accommodations on the Brac are over. Going to Carib Sands now is like going home. Love the resort, love the island, love the diving, love the people there. I wish I were there right now.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thanks Shannon for your review. It is fun to see guests year after year, we have several families who do the same and request the same condo for each visit!! Looking forward to seeing you and Hubbie again soon. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Eleven of my friends and I stayed at Carib Sands for a week during our spring break service vacation to the Brac and were absolutely pleased with the location of the resort, the timely, friendly, and accommodating service of the resort staff, and the luxuriousness of our condos. Our balcony view was incredible, the snorkeling off the pier was great and convenient, and the pool was relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carib Sands and would strongly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a place to stay while visiting the island!

- Will

Room Tip: I recommend a 2nd floor condo for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We love to have larger groups of guests to stay with us. With our privacy from the outside world it is great to see friends having fun together swimming, snorkeling or just laying around soaking up the warm tropical sunshine. We look forward to having everyone back again!! Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have seen the Brac grow for the last 40 years. The growth is proportional to needs and the Brac people have retained their values, pride and courteous generosity in help and genuine care to my family as visitors. I return Annually. I find pleasure to return to Cayman Brac and Little Cayman when I travel to the Cayman Islands. Clear values, courteous respectful people and a glory of God's beauty is in the Brac. Snorkel, fish, eat and explore their beautysister islands and learn to appreciate the kind Caymanian people and their kind successful way to an enjoyable trip.

Always,
TDS

Room Tip: Carib Sands offers a wide variety of rooms at differnt rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent a week on Cayman Brac, having been to Little Cayman and Grand Cayman before. This is what we think:
Cayman Brac is more busy than little cayman, many more people, more choices of restaurants and food in supermarket, but still a relatively quiet island
Amazing plants on the bluff, nesting boobies, great for walking
There is good snorkeling on the north side, best snorkeling from the pier and the cut out pool nearby, always saw stingrays, spotted eagle rays and turtles, lots of fish, also good for swimming.
Auntie Sha's Restaurant very good food, freshly prepared home cooked, therefore a little wait, but it's worth it, best food on the island, best ever fish curry, also to take away

On the downside you need a car to get to snorkeling sites, the car rental is expensive, US$48/day incl insurance, for very old car ( over 106000 miles), but bikes cost $20 per day for 2 and it’s a long way to go with very steep hills....
Expensive food in the supermarket, but lots more available than on little cayman
Most expensive taxi $25 for 2 min ride from airport to Carib sands - more expensive than a taxi in Tokyo, next time we’ll get a rental car from the airport!

Our suitcase didn't arrive with us, and there was no info when it would. It did arrive with the next flight in the afternoon. Cayman airways staff couldn’t care less, it might be normal procedure for them, but I found it very stressful, as I had lost a suitcase before and never got it back. I think they should give the tourists’ luggage priority over other cargo.
Together with the rip off taxi ride that spoiled our first day!


We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Carib Sands on the first floor, there was a nice view from the balcony to the sea.
It was clean, but basic. Nice thick towels and little basket with with tea, coffee etc and 2 water bottles. Towels and bed linen changed once during our weeks stay, but no cleaning.
We enjoyed our stay very much and had a great time snorkeling on the north side every day or walking on the bluff, there are just a few minor complaints we would have:

the sleep quality was not great, as the bedroom window faces on outside corridor, there is a very bright light outside the bedroom window and thin curtains, that makes it very light in the bedroom at night. Also no mosquito net on the bedroom window, noise from other tenants coming back late.

Wifi works only in the office, although strangely it did work in the room on sat and sun only; the kitchen not great, glasses all plastic, old stuff, no electric kettle
Air conditioning units on the side of the building very noisy at night, bit of a shame, it could be very quiet on an island like that at night.
Carpet in bedroom is full of spiky seeds (painful when stepping on them!!)
No snorkeling or swimming in the lagoon in front of the hotel. It was too wavy to go outside the reef on the south side.
A group of local teenagers use the pool at night and hang around the jetty on the weekend, which puts guests off using it. There doesn’t seem to be any Carib Sands staff around after the office closes.
These are just minor points to help other travelers, overall it’s a very nice island and worth going for the diving/snorkeling!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iguanafan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your review of Carib Sands Beach Resort. I would like to take this opprotunity to comment on a couple of points which were made. At the time of reservation we ask if there is anything else we can do for you, like reserving a car at no extra charge, providing breakfast foods in your condo if you arrive late and others. During your stay there was a large convention taking place on the island, when you came to the office and asked us to try and make arrangements, I approached you and mentioned the cost of the car and you approved this mid size car . Usually the cost is US$32.00 per day for an economy with newer vehicles. When you arrived I showed you to your condo and mentioned if you had any problems at night to please walk over to the Captain's Table for assistance. Cayman Airways employee brought your luggage to your second floor condo and delivered it to you soon after the first afternoon flight arrived. Our WIFI continues to be a challange for us and we encourage guests to come to the office if they need to connect. We have contacted our local phone company for assistance in trying to keep the signal up and running.
We are always looking for ways we can make each stay for our guests more comfortable and to be able to encourage others to come to Carib Sands and enjoy the tranquility and beauty of our island. Thank you again for your words of encouragement. And we look forward to your visit in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had an amazing time at Carib Sands Beach Resort. Our condo was awesome and the beaches and pool were great! The staff was extra helpful and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We loved out stay at Carib Sands! The unit was super clean and quiet, and the kitchen was very well appointed. We were on the first floor so could walk right out onto the sand. Everyone in the office was super friendly and helpful and helped us rent a car, set up a FREE tour of the island with the government tourist office, etc.

The only drawbacks for us were: 1) the beach had a lot of trash on it. I am sure most of this had washed up and wasn't the result of guests but it was still very unpleasant to go for a walk on one of the only stretches of sandy beach on the island and have to step over water bottles, pop cans, liquor bottles, motor oil bottles, stray fishing gear, hunks of styrofoam, lost sandals, etc etc etc. A dirty beach can really ruin an otherwise great experience. There *was* someone outside raking the shoreline the day we left which was heartening; perhaps that person just needs to be paid for the job more often. 2) The internet connection was really bad. I have a brand new computer and have never had problems picking up wireless before but i had to sit directly under the transmitter at the pool to get a connection (even across the pool didn't work). I unfortunately had to do a day of work while on vacation that required internet access and this was not an anticipated hurdle.

These are small things though when considering our overall stay!! Very recommended!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
In response to this review dated 29 August 2011 firstly I would like to say we were very happy to have you here at Carib Sands Beach Resort.

You mentioned the beaches being dirty and you are correct that time of the year we get a great deal of Sargassum weed to wash up on our beaches continualy through out the day. Our grounds men work very hard to remove it every morning from our property, only to have it back the next morning.

You also mentioned the wyfi, and again you are right, I believe I mentioned to you when you arrived that we were having problems with the signal being picked up, and I mentioned that you were more than welcome to come to the office area if a connection problem exsisted so you could do your days work. Please know that we do appreciate all of the recommendations you mentioned while here concerning the internet. Please know that we do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
4.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
65 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
218 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Carib Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Sands Beach Resort

Property: Carib Sands Beach Resort
Address: 193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Laid Back on the Brac" is our trademark. Carib Sands Beach Resort a vacationer's dream, safe, quiet, relaxing and welcoming surroundings are all here. The only thing that is missing is you! Direct flights from Miami on Saturday's get you here by 1:00 p.m. so you have the rest of the day to lay around the pool, beachcomb, swing in a hammock, or sit out on your patio, enjoy a good book or choose to have a massage in your own condo or out on the second floor of the dock. So pack up the family, or your favorite person and come on down to the greatest piece of paradise on Cayman Brac. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carib Sands Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing