We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carib Sands Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Le Soleil d'Or(Cayman Brac)
US$554
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
60
22
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
22
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrac scuba shackfirst floorplace to staygrocery storerental carmodern applianceswasher and dryergrand caymanbath condofull size fridgefishfull serviceocean viewper daykathycaribedock
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We took a big group a everyone had a wonderful time. 'Although it went by too quickly to enjoy the accomodations properly, every unit was clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view. A place for breakfast that is closer would be nice but most kitchens were fully equiped.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thanks Claudia for the review. The entire group was so fun to get to know on your short stay with us. Please keep us in mind for another flying adventure!! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a one bedroom in the newest building on the resort. The ocean was within 50 yards of the door step. Captain's table restaurant was less than 100 yds. away. The condo had everything that we needed. The kitchen was fully functional with a dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, stove, oven and a set of basic pots, pans, and utensils. The full size fridge even had an ice maker. The washer/ dryer in the unit was handy in order to take clean clothes home, rather than a suitcase full of laundry! Definitely stock up on liquor at duty free on the way out of the US or wherever. It is very expensive at the grocery and restaurants here. The hotel was having a fishing tournament on the last weekend of our stay. It was really exciting! We were able to mingle with some locals and even purchase some of the tuna that had been freshly caught that day!! It was incredible to prepare and savor such fresh fish for our meals.

The property is 3 or 4 miles from the grocery store. We rented a car for the entire week for only $236 total. The Brac Reef resort is less than a mile away. This is where the scuba shop and spa are located. I would recommend Carib Sands for a stay at Cayman Brac because it allows for cooking meals yourself (or at least having the option) and a more private, individualized feel. Miss Cathy was a wonderful hostess. She was very helpful in arranging for spa trips, scuba trips, and suggesting restaurants (when we ventured out).

The beach is good for beach combing, but I would suggest dive booties or swim shoes for going into the water because it is rocky on the way out/in to the water. Jumping from the pier is a good option, but one would still have to come out of the water on the beach. The pool is nice. It also has a clean pool house with toilets and sinks. An outdoor shower is next to the pool. The pier is 2 stories with hammocks on the upper level. It is perfect for relaxing/ meditation/ yoga/ reading. It is shaded by a trellis type material that allows for filtered sunlight to enter.

Room Tip: We liked our downstairs room because we had immediate access to the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyddieLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to a future visit with us. All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have stayed here multiple times, the price is right, the accommodations are always clean and it's a great setup with the murphy bed. We'll keep coming brac!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I have been vacationing on the Brac every year since 2003. We've tried staying at two other places over the last 8 years and always end up back at Carib Sands. There's a reason for that. You just can't beat the location, the resort itself and the people that work there! You're within walking distance to several beach bars, there are hammocks on the dock to relax on and there's good snorkeling right off the beach! I think our days of "trying something new" in terms of accommodations on the Brac are over. Going to Carib Sands now is like going home. Love the resort, love the island, love the diving, love the people there. I wish I were there right now.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thanks Shannon for your review. It is fun to see guests year after year, we have several families who do the same and request the same condo for each visit!! Looking forward to seeing you and Hubbie again soon. Take Care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Eleven of my friends and I stayed at Carib Sands for a week during our spring break service vacation to the Brac and were absolutely pleased with the location of the resort, the timely, friendly, and accommodating service of the resort staff, and the luxuriousness of our condos. Our balcony view was incredible, the snorkeling off the pier was great and convenient, and the pool was relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carib Sands and would strongly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a place to stay while visiting the island!

- Will

Room Tip: I recommend a 2nd floor condo for a great view!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We love to have larger groups of guests to stay with us. With our privacy from the outside world it is great to see friends having fun together swimming, snorkeling or just laying around soaking up the warm tropical sunshine. We look forward to having everyone back again!! Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews