We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and charming experience”

Fairview Great House & Botanical Garden
Ranked #24 of 82 things to do in St. Kitts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fairview Great House and Botanical Garden is an attraction like no other here in beautiful St. Kitts. Nestled at the foot of Olivees Mountain, is the island's newest and most unique attraction!!!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delightful and charming experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Visited here today for afternoon tea at the end of taxi trip around the island. Helpful staff explained the characteristics of the five herbs within the tea, lovely selection of sandwiches, cookies, scones and cakes followed making for a delightful break before a wander round the gardens and back to our hotel.
Thoroughly recommend but do not have lunch first.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roninspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    31
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Super cute, worth a visit for a few hours. ”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The old plantation house has been beautifully restored, and they are steadily building their botanical garden. We found it pleasant and relaxing. Our guide shared a lot of information about the plants and trees on the property, which helped us gain some knowledge about life on this quaint island.

There was quite a bit of history shared about the area, including the fact that the property was once a hotel. One room of the house provides a Complete history of the various owners of the property and how it changed hands over the years.

Don't miss the restaurant, excellent food, and everything is made on site. there are plenty of reviews.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ginabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what i remember”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I remember this when it was a unique and lovely place with little cottages. It has now become very clinical and has lost its appeal I was disappointed and would not recommend a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BJBattle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair View For A Fiar price”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This took me back in time, when the slave were endangered by uncivilised humans....the grounds have been kept well and pleasant views can be seen from all around the plantation. Fantastic gardens and a welcoming young lady to guide us through history of the house .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour of Fairview House and Rum Tasting”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Visited Fairview House as part of an excursion from our cruise ship. The grounds are beautiful, the house is wonderful, and the rum tasting was delicious! And what a view from the house and grounds! Delecia was our excellent tour guide. She and another tour guide even sang the St. Kitts national anthem at our request! We had a wonderful time and would go back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairview Great House & Botanical Garden also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Fairview Great House & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing