We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic, a must see”

Fairview Great House & Botanical Garden
Ranked #24 of 82 things to do in St. Kitts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fairview Great House and Botanical Garden is an attraction like no other here in beautiful St. Kitts. Nestled at the foot of Olivees Mountain, is the island's newest and most unique attraction!!!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, historic, a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was one of the major highlights from out cruise excursions. The tour was fun and informative. Some of the best Rum I've ever tasted. Lovely people. A must see if you go to St Kitts

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsmith819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    31
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, gardens and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I drove up early to the house and were rewarded by being the only visitors. The young lady who greeted us at the front gate was extremely welcoming and gave us a bit of background regarding the house. The restoration is fantastic and has obviously been done with love and care, you can feel the history in the rooms. The bath house is amazing and a wonderful way to have a warm bath! The gardens are gorgeous and it is really helpful that all of the plants and trees have notices telling you what they are. There was a couple of tour parties came along over the next couple of hours but we had the pool to ourselves, we had coffee on the lawn looking out onto the Caribbean and it was heavenly. We had lunch in the restaurant which was very good and very reasonable. All of the staff were lovely and made this a truly memorable day - I would highly recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delightfully restored Plantation House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited the Great House early one morning, it was very quiet and tranquil. Our guide gave us a five minute talk about the Great House and then left us to wander and explore on our own. The house has been very tastefully restored, with original furnishings, and the gardens contain many interesting plants.
We only had coffee in the restaurant, but it is a magnificent setting for that special meal. Well worth an hours detour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delightful and charming experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Visited here today for afternoon tea at the end of taxi trip around the island. Helpful staff explained the characteristics of the five herbs within the tea, lovely selection of sandwiches, cookies, scones and cakes followed making for a delightful break before a wander round the gardens and back to our hotel.
Thoroughly recommend but do not have lunch first.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roninspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Super cute, worth a visit for a few hours. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The old plantation house has been beautifully restored, and they are steadily building their botanical garden. We found it pleasant and relaxing. Our guide shared a lot of information about the plants and trees on the property, which helped us gain some knowledge about life on this quaint island.

There was quite a bit of history shared about the area, including the fact that the property was once a hotel. One room of the house provides a Complete history of the various owners of the property and how it changed hands over the years.

Don't miss the restaurant, excellent food, and everything is made on site. there are plenty of reviews.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ginabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairview Great House & Botanical Garden also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Fairview Great House & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing