We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basseterre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lemon Inn and Villas
Ranked #3 of 7 Basseterre B&B and Inns
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very sad”
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We have recently returned from a one week stay at the Golden Lemon. For those who have never been before, don't go. For those who have been there in the past, it would be a very sad experience to return now.

The inn has apparently been sold and was basically empty. It was a shadow of what must have been a wonderful place at another time. The owner, who is elderly and clearly unwell, should have sold earlier and gone out in a blaze of glory. As it is now, he and his partner are rarely there and it shows. For example, the promised daily flowers in our villa died after a day and were never replaced. The beach was uncared for. The amenities in the bathrooms make the Super 8 look high class. When another couple and we asked for more lotion, we were both given half empty, used bottles!

The food was good but by no means excellent, as we had been led to believe. The promised dinner music was a blaring local radio station. The wait staff was efficient and courteous but not friendly. After a week, not one of them had told us her name, and an invisible barrier made us reluctant to ask - very unusual for the Caribbean.

Having said all of the above, we do not regret our stay at the Golden Lemon. With some imagination, we could transport ourselves back to a time when it was one of the most illustrious properties in the Caribbean. Hopefully the new owners will maintain the beautiful furnishings while bringing the service and property up to more acceptable standards.

  • Liked — Plunge pool
  • Disliked — Run-down nature of property; cost
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Explorer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Twenty-five years our we were married at The Golden Lemon.
We just returned from celebrating our silver anniversary there.
Both my husband and I were a little concerned that things wouldn't be as we remembered them. Boy, were we surprised !
Arthur and his staff were as terrific as we had remembered. Think they remembered us as well. The Beach Villas which weren't built then were a great surprise. I finally got the recipe for their breakfast porridge such a great way to start the day. I just hope that I can duplicate it at home.
We enjoyed great food and drinks, excellent company. What a celebration. The staff took care of everything as we renewed our vows. Just as lovely as the first time. Solomon, the hotels driver is the best island guide.
We plan on talking the kids into getting married there so we have another excuse to visit.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TedandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

The Golden Lemon never disappoints us not matter how often we return. No hassle when we call the property and make reservations.
The staff is friendly, polite and anticipate our every need without imposing on our privacy.
Our own private villa with plunge pool...pure heaven for a couple of overworked people needing to destress.
What can we say about the food except it is gourmet cuisine at its best perfectly presented.
Arthur and Martin thank you again. We will be back ...again.
Charlie and Candy

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieandCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2007

I've just returned from a week at the Golden Lemon -- my third visit in four years. Having stayed on more than a dozen islands in the Caribbean over the past 20 years, I consider the Golden Lemon by far the best spot for a beautiful, classic island getaway -- and it is hands-down the best value as well. On a picture-perfect beach, the inn and villas offer immaculate and spacious rooms done in great taste -- four-poster beds and wonderful island antiques. The owner's gracious hospitality and staff's unerringly accommodating and polite service truly set this spot apart from ordinary hotels or resorts. You can explore the island or just lounge on the beach, taking in the stunning view of neighboring islands in the distance or reading a good book from the inn's library. Each evening the owner hosts all the guests for cocktails -- a chance to chat with other interesting travelers. Meals feauture classic cuisine impeccably prepared. I have recommended the Golden Lemon to several friends who have stayed there and loved it. It's my favorite spot in the Caribbean and I hope to return for years to come.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Intrepid_travelerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

The Golden lemon was the most disappointing 'hotel' I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. It is a collection of rundown cottages ('villas') on a dirty beach with a nice tropical garden and pool and a lovely rundown greathouse.

Our beachfront 'villa' was surrounded by a high wall which i discovered later was for security and to avoid looking at the filthy beach which the staff made no effort to clean. Actually in an attempt to make our vacation something better, we spent some time cleaning debris from the beach while some staff from Golden Lemon watched and laughed.

I wasnt expecting or wanting Aman style or Four seasons but what we got was a very rundown place (lots of badly, dangerously broken pavements) a simple semi-clean cottage, the plunge pool is waste of space and then there is the staff.

Service was the worst I have ever come across in the carribean. The staff had an attitude of no can do anything. Every little request was met with a sigh.

I cant beleive some reviews on here about the food, it was appalling. The dining room was beautiful with fabulous hurricane lamps but the menu said it all. One night there was a choice of Chicken with mint sauce or Lamb Chasseur. presumably whoever was brought in for the night to cook (not a chef) mixed up the recipe pages. actually on the bright side we laughed so much it made up somewhat for the dour, unfriendly staff.

We met a couple from Boston who also were staying at a villa and they too were shocked at how bad the place was and although having payed in full in advance, they chose to leave for Nevis. Their time was too precious.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Pauldublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2006

We revisited The Golden Lemon Christmas 2005. The first time was on our honeymoon in 1993. The reason we are writing our review one year later is because we were thinking of a long weekend somewhere and the place that keeps comming to mind is The Golden Lemon. Our first visit was wonderful but our second visit was so much better. We were probabaly too young the first time to truly appreciate the trip. Arthur and Martin are so kind and thoughtful. They take the time to meet and greet every guest. Where do you find that in todays fast moving world where no one says hello anymore. We will always think of The Golden Lemon as our most favorite place to stay. They really made us feel at home. Having traveled to many destinations throughout the world, The Golden Lemon remains one of our most favorite.

Brooks and Teresa

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank surfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg / Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2006

Thomas and I visited Arthur and Martin in January 2006. It was a great spot. We met some wonderful interesting people. The service was top and everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Delicious food! We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the wind and waves just outside our room. We recommend a rental as the island has lot to see. If you dare to come off the main roads you will recieve a warm welcome from the local folk who engage a large portion of their time hanging out and having fun.
Nice island.
PS: don't forget to try the porridge for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bourgainvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basseterre
1.3 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
9.2 mi away
Belle Mont Farm
Belle Mont Farm
#1 of 7 in Basseterre
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
625 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.6 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#2 of 7 in Basseterre
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lemon Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lemon Inn and Villas

Property: Golden Lemon Inn and Villas
Address: Dieppe Bay, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Golden Lemon Inn And Villas Hotel Basseterre
Golden Lemon Inn And Villas St. Kitts/Basseterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing