We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and central option”
Review of Seaview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaview Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Basseterre B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Cheap and central option”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This place is a a great price/quality option to spend a few nights. Its central location in Basseterre and near the harbour is perfect and the view from the outside sitting area is nice as well. Breakfast is basic but ok, so is the room. Nothing fancy but it is clean and the people are friendly as well. It felt to me as the real St Kitts, away from fancy resorts and cruiseship people. That added an extra charm to my trip to this lovely island!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
10
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockcliffe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Seaview Inn is rather under-advertised place with a great location for an independent or business traveller. In all honesty, the title is misleading; first, none the rooms are facing the sea and second, the terrace (which has the privilege to do it) is barred from facing it by a newly-built Chinese grocery store. The rooms are conventional, so there is no added bonus on this front either. But what is most important in the hotel business, where there is no tangible product but the perception of it, is the atmosphere created by the employees. On this key aspect of hospitality the Seaview Inn excels. The personnel were not only flexible, understanding and completely void of sales-driven impudence; they were genuine in their sincere effort to help when needed. No more details are going to be divulged for the simple reason of anonymity but the bottom line is that this place’s staff are going to provide you with assistance that otherwise might cost you arm, leg and lots of nerve cells.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed here from March 1 thru March 9, 2013. I have never stayed anywhere that the people made so much of an effort to make my stay the best ever. If you want to stay somewhere that costs twice as much and has lots of amenities you will likely never use but your still paying for then I suggest going to the Marriot or one of the other resorts. If you want to relax, do a bit of shopping, and take some tours, and really see what St Kitts is all about then stay at the Seaview Inn. Alex, Annie, and the rest of the staff will do their best to make your stay memorable. There is a restaurant in the lobby area that also includes the balcony. I had breakfast every morning freshly cooked, out on the balcony. Most of my other meals I had in local restaurants in the area mostly because I like to try different venues. Its safe to walk the main streets in the area even after dark. I felt safer here than I do in some areas that I live close to at home. Annie or Alex can give you advice and help make any arrangements for any tours etc that you may want to do while your visiting St Kitts. I'm thinking of going back to St Kitts sometime in the next year or so and will be checking to see if they have a room available for my next trip.

Room Tip: I don't know that one room would be any better than another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The location is good if you want to stay in town.
The rooms are basic; mine didn't have any windows, but they are fairly clean.
The price was fairly high considering all this, and the fact that breakfast was not included.
Overall, a reasonable choice for the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

There are some places (in Africa) where I'd be happy to find a hotel like this. And, considering this is the only lodging option walking distance to the ferry terminal in this town, I was glad to find the Seaview. Nothing else about the experience was good -- except getting out early the next morning. Located near dirty food markets, and next to a KFC restaurant (safest nearby dining option), behind a security door opening onto a stairwell at the top of which you are buzzed in -- to a restaurant. The sixteen or so rooms of the Seaview are down a side corridor where out the window are views of alleys and backs of buildings. Totally seedy set-up. Small room, cheaply furnished and kind of battered. TV barely usable, internet too slow to stream, AC was strong and drafted right over the bed. This is a one-night transit stop. For 75 usd and all the hallway shouting, screaming, slamming and banging included free. Management was timely and efficient in responding to reservation requests.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel is good value for money, and well-located in Basseterre (very near ferry port). Javier, who handled my booking, was super friendly and helpful. He even gave me a lift to a local restaurant when the one at the hotel was shut (it was a Sunday night). I also ate in the Seaview and the food was nice too. The rooms are a bit dark, but the A/C was cold, and it was clean and quiet. It was a good place to be based for exploring Basseterre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzakstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Booked this place based on the reviews I read! Great value i comparison to the cost. Well, yes the rooms are dark and maybe not a place where you'd plan you honeymoon vacation, but the A/C and TV-set worked fine. Very helpful staff, good central location near groceries shops and the bus station. Enjoy the activities down below from the lovely balcony with a cold beer and a zoom lens camera.

I'd certainly come back again and stay if it was for a couple of days only.

Room Tip: Good value for money and great location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basseterre
0.7 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
2.6 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Basseterre
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Inn

Property: Seaview Inn
Address: Seaview, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing