We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food on the beach”

Chinchillas Mexican Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nowhere on the strip is going to blow your mind or be the most incredible restaurant you've ever been to, unless you've led a very sheltered life.

We had lunch and dinner here a couple of times. The beef burrito was the tastiest thing I ate in St Kitts and is large enough to share between two for lunch.

It's got a great view and is right on the beach.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnMyWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    56
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place for Mexican Food on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The place doesn't look like much when you go there, but the food was fantastic. The dishes were unique compared to your normal Mexican affair. It it set right out on the beach, and we watched a local catch his dinner from our dining table. Friendly service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super food, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We liked it so much, we returned for a second time. Wonderful Caribbean breezes and views as you eat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ewalthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Fun, but very Kittitian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

e had a good meal here, but being St Kitts they had no white wine in stock, nor coffee. But its beach location makes it well worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basseterre, St. Kitts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sent me running to the bathroom”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

First time I ate here it was ok, service was slow, and food was meh, but I was hungry. Second time I ate here I got sick about 10-15 mins after finishing my dinner. Luckily there is a bathroom nearby, a disgusting bathroom, but one none the less. I went back again and chalked up my getting sick to be a fluke, but that was a mistake. Same exact symptoms again 10-15 mins after finishing my meal. I found out later that some of my friends I went to dinner with got sick as well. If you want good mexican food, just wait until you go back home. Chinchillas is not the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinchillas Mexican Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to Chinchillas Mexican Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing