We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Lobster Rocks”
Review of Rock Lobster

Rock Lobster
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Tampa
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Rock Lobster Rocks”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The food and service was so good at Rock Lobster, we went their twice during our stay. The drinks are well made. Food portions were generous and the menu has a huge variety.

I had pallela one night and grilled mahi the second night. Both were excellent.

The nicest surprise was the service. So many Caribbean restaurants operate on "island time," making meals excruciating long. Rock Lobster service was top notch! I heartily recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    244
    81
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers FL
Level Contributor
268 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the island!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is our second trip to St. Kitts and we have eaten at the Rock Lobster four times. We cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. The menu has great tapas, appetizers and entrees and tonight we enjoyed a wonderful carmelized banana and ice cream dish for dessert. We are always warmly greeted and the attention from the staff is just enough. Tonight we had the mahi mahi and I cannot explain how good it was. It is a large grilled filet served on rice with a very light tomato sauce and the plate was organized perfectly with excellent sides. Our tapas this evening was steak with melted manchego cheese on French bread. From start to finish, it was an excellent meal. We always make reservations as there is always a crowd. We will probably go there again tomorrow night as there is no other place we have been that has a short taxi ride and such good food. We have been to highly recommended expensive restaurants that with very expensive taxi rides and then we come home disappointed after spending a lot of money to get there and home. If you are in St. Kitts looking for good food, value and service, The Rock Lobster is the place to go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seafood Platter was all I needed”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

K was referred by my niece that was on the island for 2 yrs attending Vet school. She gave us a tip to head towards the Rock Lobster. I asked the concierge at our hotel, however they didn't think it was that good, Even though the review wasn't that great, we decided to try it anyways. Our meal started with Salmon Cakes, a beautiful salad and a seafood platter. Two of us had the seafood platter and one had the mahi mahi. Our meal was simply awesome. I don't think I've had that good of a seafood platter ever. Attached is a picture showing you how wonderful it looked too. The presentation was awesome and the ambience was just as good. Love sitting in the elements of the outdoors. The staff were very kind and courteous as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average but supersized”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Food/price is very similar to Red Lobster or any chain seafood restaurant, 45$US for lobster or similar meal .
Only one question is still mistery for me . Why is 3 half- lobster in one portion? Even numbers in bad luck?:)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank El-Ushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
195 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We sat outside for dinner and it couldn't have been better. This is a great little restaurant with excellent food and great service. We had appetizers, main courses, dessert and drinks. Sit outside ... it is worth it. Lovely place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Lobster also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Rock Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing