We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Dinner at Mill Privee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Ranked #14 of 53 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Dinner at Mill Privee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Mill Privee, which is set in the 300 year old sugar mill on the property. It was one of the most incredible dining experiences we have ever had. The inside of the mill was lit by soft candlelight and was just an incredibly romantic setting. There was only one other couple dining in the mill on the night we went, so it felt very private. The setting alone would make this place worth visiting, however, the food is absolutely incredible. When dining in the mill, you are served the tasting menu. Each course was exceptional. It was just an awesome experience overall. If you are looking for place to celebrate a special occasion on Nevis, you should consider this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank warde3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    31
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holmdel nj
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful buildings but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went to Montpelier for dinner one night when we were in Nevis. We found the buildings and the décor to be charming and the service in the bar area where we sat and had a cocktail before dinner to be fantastic.
When we were called in to take our table for dinner, we found the view to be fantastic, and romantic. We did not sit in the mill, but on the balcony, where a lovely breeze from the sea below blew through our hair. The setting could not have been more perfect.
The food was very good, not great but good. The service in the bar area was much better than the service we received at dinner.
All in all we were disappointed. Having heard so much about this place, we thought it was over rated and over priced for what it was.
Would suggest that you do go see the place if you are there for at least a week but maybe go for lunch or for drinks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marielili_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Gracious Owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were wandering up this country lane after visiting the Botanical Gardens when a ver kind American lady stopped and offered us a lift. We said we were on our way to Montpelier plantation for lunch. She introduced herself as Muffin Hoffman who turned out to be one of the owners of Montpelier.
The buildings are authentic and charming and decorated in a very historic and authentic manner. The service was charming and professional, and the food very good and reasonably priced.
A ver pleasant experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bolty07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sringfield, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mill Privee for Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We did not stay at Montpelier, although we visited it to look around, and celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Mill Privee for dinner. The mill is a former windmill turned restaurant. There were only four of us in the mill (two couples) on our night. Food- exceptional. Service-superb. Yes, it is expensive, but everything in Nevis is expensive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RSandVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a tranquil and beautiful location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had stayed on Nevis a few years ago and had dined at Montpelier. It was superb. For our Winter break we decided to stay for 10 days and we were not at all disappointed.
It is a little more travelling, as from St Kitts one has to go by car and then take a water taxi to Nevis.
We were made very welcome by Muffin, Ivan and all the staff. Some of the guests had been coming to stay for twenty years.
Our room was comfortable, with a large Four Poster bed and en suite bath and shower. The bathrooms are probably being upgraded this Summer.There was a balcony at the back where one could sit and enjoy a drink. The room was looked after morning and evening with clean towels
and new tea and coffee, also iced water.
Food was delicious both for Breakfast and Dinner,also Bar snacks taken by the enormous pool
We were driven to the Private beach in the morning and collected in the afternoon at your requested time. This beach has changing and shower facilities and the sea is safe to swim.
Needless to say the weather was perfect and we had a wonderful holiday.

Q

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sussexbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montpelier Plantation & Beach also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Montpelier Plantation & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing