We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best sunsets, fresh food too”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bananas

Bananas
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated on the edge of the Rainforest Bananas is casual fun dining in a magical setting. We take our food very seriously but it is good home cooking prepared by hard working local ladies, not fancy or Gourmet.. However our menu is very creative and we use only fresh ingredients and where possible free range organic produce and meats. We have Magnificent Sunset views from our Firefly lounge and a superb selection of cocktails and old rums and a small selection of cuban Cigars.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best sunsets, fresh food too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Love this little hideaway surrounded by jungle. Great place to have a drink and watch the sunset. WE decided to order food and the plantains and black bean dip was amazing. The fish was so fresh, and the staff very accommodating Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cauliflower_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    101
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renita!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Had great food- great service at bar and at table! Food is unique to the island in a pure paradise setting! The coconut cake is to die for!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The best meals I had on Nevis are consistantly from Bananas. Do not miss this one! The atmosphere is wonderful and the food is incredible

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy a visit to Bananas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

For a special Caribbean dining experience, visit "Bananas Restaurant" on Nevis. Dinner & lunch at Bananas were highlights of our recent trip.
The staff welcomes you with warm hospitality & cordial owner/operator Gillian makes you feel at home. She has created an atmospheric restaurant in a lush, tropical environment that is a treat to the senses. The enveloping wicker armchairs, soft breezes, & attentive service have you feeling relaxed right away. The airy upper veranda with sea & volcano views is an inviting place to begin your visit with a house specialty... the "Bertini cocktail". The menu contains nice Caribbean selections, as well as choices inspired by Gillian's visits to Mediterranean countries. The "Meze Platter...A Taste of Nevis" (for 2) is just one of the varied tasty selections on the menu.
In the central bar area and in an adjacent small art gallery is a vibrant collection of artworks by Caribbean artists such as the renowned Lucia Trifan of St. Martin. We were delighted to select one of her paintings.
Bananas is a rare tropical combination of delicious food, attentive service, and peaceful & attractive surroundings...including lovely artworks! We certainly look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sringfield, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Up the hill for some great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We found Bananas by making a wrong turn while driving the island. There are two ways to get to Bananas- north or west of Charlestown. The west way is a straight shot, but the north route- the one we were on- kept us wondering where we were going. Getting there was worth the travel. The restaurant is hidden in the palms and other plants. Drinks were great- one of the best rum punches on the island- and the Taste of Nevis Meze was a perfect split lunch for two with a taste of Nevisian fare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RSandVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bananas also viewed

 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing