We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden culinary gem”
Review of Bananas

Bananas
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated on the edge of the Rainforest Bananas is casual fun dining in a magical setting. We take our food very seriously but it is good home cooking prepared by hard working local ladies, not fancy or Gourmet.. However our menu is very creative and we use only fresh ingredients and where possible free range organic produce and meats. We have Magnificent Sunset views from our Firefly lounge and a superb selection of cocktails and old rums and a small selection of cuban Cigars.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A hidden culinary gem”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Bananas combines wonderful food, stunning views and a welcome second to none. From the moment you arrive, you are warmly greeted as you park your car and meander up the torch lit pathway. The restaurant is decorated with local art work and all of the staff are very welcoming and clearly enjoy what they do. Above the restaurant is a roof terrace which affords fantastic views over Charlestown.

The food is some of the best I have ever had - a particular highlight is local "goat water", the guava BBQ pork ribs with mashed yams and Caribbean slaw, and the banana crime brûlée.

A visit to Bananas is a must when is Nevis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    105
    21
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's All True”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The rave reviews are deserved, and I don't say that lightly. The atmosphere from the greeting at the arch with twinkle lights, torch lighted walkway and lights throughout the trees begins your evening with a sense of romance. We started with the signature Bertini, okay we had two, which were a delicious combination of the sweet passion fruit juice and the tart vodka. The food was excellent - tannia fritters that were light and airy, pumpkin soup that was creamy and rich, conch gratin that was chock full of conch, quava ribs that were sweet and meaty and we finished with the rich and decadent coconut cake. Add in attentive but not intrusive service, and all-in-all, we had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carish248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful views great food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Amazing views from the mountains. We enjoyed a cocktail on the rooftop deck to watch the sunset prior to dinner. The staff is very pleasant and attentive. Our table split a dish of tannia fritters since none of us had ever heard of it. Very good. Similar to a potato fritter. I really enjoyed my salad with fresh goat cheese, walnuts and pears. I had the Curry Chicken and it was also delicious. My husband was less than happy with the local catch of the day. Possibly mahi mahi. Desserts were fabulous. Molten Chocolate cake and Coconut cake were raved about. Everyone else said they enjoyed their meal. The night was perfect for outdoor dining.

Glad we took a cab. The restaurant is almost hidden in the hills. Little signage, very narrow and not great roads to get there. Needless to say no lights. On the ride back we had to stop because another car was coming in the opposite direction. With both drivers pulling their cars to the very edge and barely squeaking by. Not something for amateurs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GAAtltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Polished Gem Overlooking Nevis”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A charming restaurant with interesting cocktails and appetizers. Dinner was well prepared and the service was impeccable. Beautiful plants and flowers line the walkway to the entrance. A beautiful sunset can be seen from the bar upstairs- great for picture taking!
***I recommend taking a cab. The day we rented a car, we tried driving to Banana's and became lost in the hills.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A guaranteed Nevis experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We went with friends last night and, once again, had a lovely experience. We arrived for sunset cocktails and then a wonderful meal. Even though Gillian, the owner, was off Island, her staff were amazing....she has ensured her very high standards are maintained even when she is not there. Attentive, friendly and knowledgable. The whole property looks amazing and there is nothing else like this on Nevis, so you should visit at least once. Food very good. Lobster linguini yummy, as were desserts. Not the cheapest meal on Nevis but definitely worth it for the overall experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HBirdNevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bananas also viewed

 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing