We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable choice for lunch”
Review of The Rocks

The Rocks
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable choice for lunch”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Lunch at the rocks is a wonderful paradise experience on Nevis. The meticulously landscaped surroundings are magnificent: be sure to tour the gardens before/after lunch. We were able to secure a table set somewhat apart from the main dining area on our own covered dining platform: awesome views of Montserrat on the horizon.
Excellent lobster, fine wine and very pleasant--but relaxed--service.
We're looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChaseXeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    62
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food, but be patient”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It is probably best to have lunch at The Rocks so that you can appreciate the incredible view of the gardens, fish ponds, and the ocean from this lofty setting in the rainforest. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. We had a drink at The Rocks at mid-day and enjoyed the beautiful views. We spent part of the day hiking from Golden Rock up into the rainforest. It was beautiful.

We decided to come back to The Rocks for dinner that evening. While the view is less incredible at night, it is still a lovely setting for dinner. The food quality was excellent. So, we very much enjoyed our experience.

Our only issue was that on this particular night service was extremely slow. We were accustomed to being on "island time" and were trying not to be impatient but this was an extreme case of slowness with every step of the way from getting our order taken, to getting our food, to getting the check. Our waitress was extremely apologetic but it was a bit frustrating.

We suggest lunch and/or drinks during daylight hours to enjoy the view. Maybe take in some hiking as well since the trail begins right off of the Golden Rock grounds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oh what beauty”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I have never wandered such a beautiful place. The gardens magnificent, the decor the serenity -oh to return. We strolled the plantation relaxed by the pool and then ate a fabulous lunch. Ah to return would be a dream come true!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oangelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Appalling Attitude”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Finally, Golden Rock. It looks fab. We reserved dinner after the races, having taken clothes to change into with us (we were a bit sandy!) The very snooty front of house lady announced that they'd taken a group booking so had a very limited menu. She wouldn't tell us what it consisted of. She was obviously keen for us to cancel. She then looked my partner up and down and said he was too casual anyway, and maybe lunch would be more suitable for us, without giving us time to explain that we had other outfits with us. But by that point I didn't want to give someone with that attitude any of my money.

We'd been recommended Golden Rock by a friend who has a house on Nevis. Apparently this isn't the first time his friends have been turned away because of group bookings, despite reserving, so he's not going to be recommending them anymore. It's a bit shortsighted of them. Not least because in this day and age that guy in shorts probably runs Facebook! Plus we've heard from others that the setting significantly outdazzles the food.

Next time we're on Nevis, we'll be going to Bananas for our romantic treats.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hells1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too rude for words”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a history of taking large group bookings from the Four Seasons and then bumping you when you arrive. Happened to us. We're told we could have a limited menu in the hall as they had "just taken" a large group booking. By a very rude american lady. Suggest you give this place a miss and head straight to Bananas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon1970W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocks also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing