We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Ridiculous Deposit Policy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banyan Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This isn't a review about staying at the Banyan Tree; we never made it there. It's about their deposit policy. We made reservations for a three night stay in December, before high season when things were slow. The Rose's (owners) required us to pay for 2 nights in advance, by sending our check to their address in Vermont, which we did.

We stayed at the Marriott on St. Kitts for a week. Then the came time for us to go over to Nevis on our arrival day for our three night stay. We drove to the car ferry around 10:30 and lined up with about 15 or so other cars for the 11:00 ferry. The ferry is scheduled every 2 hours.

Well, we waited for nearly 7 hours and no ferry. We kept talking with the locals who were in contact with the captain or a crew member by cell phone. It was a series of excuses - mechanical problems, a second ferry is coming, it's at Nevis now, etc., etc. But no ferry. We called and kept in touch with Anne Rose and let her know of our plight - and ran up about $50 in cell phone roaming charges in the process.

As the sun began to set, we finally gave up since we needed to get a hotel room before dark, letting Anne Rose know, and we asked for her consideration in refunding our deposit since our inability to get to Nevis was beyond our control. Indeed, we had spent (wasted) an entire day waiting for the ferry. Her response was that the ferry wasn't her problem or her fault, so we would lose half our deposit for failing to show. All we could think was "You know, a hurricane isn't your fault either. Does you still penalize people for not showing when they can't get there?" We were pissed!

We told everyone we met on St. Kitts, bellmen, restaurant workers, cab drivers, about our experience, and the universal reaction was that they were appalled, and they all kept apologizing for the bad manners of the owners of the Banyan Tree. In case you aren't aware of it, the folks on St. Kitts are the friendliest in the Caribbean, and we've been to a LOT of islands. Anyway, they all wanted to know what property this was so that they would be sure not to send anyone there. We all had a good laugh when they learned that the owners were Americans, not locals.

Anyway, I understand that this is anecdotal and I usually dismiss anecdotal experiences since they aren't typical, but I think that anyone who wants to book at the Banyan Tree B&B ought to be aware of their deposit policy just in case the ferry isn't running, you have an illness, there's a hurricane, whatever, that isn't the Rose's fault or their concern. You too will probably lose some money. Do yourself a favor and book with the locals!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

A great accomodation - especially the East Bedroom with its antique mahogany queen bed ! You'll feel warmly welcomed by the owners. Lush garden lovingly maintained (with the famous banyan tree), tasty breakfast, monkeys wandering in the close-by bamboos. Nevis itself is an appealing island, with an original mix between tropical nonchalance and British heritage. Interesting hiking trails (yet not so well marked). I recommend Nevis Peak (not high but however challenging, with ropes). You'll need a guide. Saddle Hill is a short but charming walk. Read also the story of Philippa's grave related to this place ("Rivers of time", by June Goodfield).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We spent a few nights in Nevis during a trip to St Kitts and stayed at the Banyan Tree. The location is marvelous - up in the hills with views down to the sea. The garden is glorious, with the old Banyan tree forming the centrepiece. Anne and Jon were brilliant hosts, they made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was lovely and spacious and the bathroom was sparkling clean, and we slept very soundly at night.

We really enjoyed our time in Nevis - the beaches are lovely and the pace is incredibly laid back. We took our rental car from St Kitts over on the car ferry as the public transport is even more sporadic in Nevis.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I can only repeat what the other reviewers have said. The Banyan Tree B&B is a marvelous little oasis up in the hills above Charlestown. Anne and Jon only have two rooms and a cottage to let so they have time to talk to you and this is why B&B's like this are so much nicer than hotels.

Two points to consider though;
1. They don't take credit cards so sending the deposit is a bit of a pain (travelers cheques by post).
2. You do need a car, there are some good restaurants nearby but not close enough to walk to (We tried Bananas (Great), The Hermitage (a must do part of staying in Nevis) and Riviere (very good value) all of which are within 10 minutes drive but you would not want to walk back from any of them in the dark.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

If you like beautiful tropical gardens, excellent hospitality and great accommodation, look no further than Banyan Tree B & B in Nevis. Just returned from a perfect week, staying in a wonderfully atmospheric property, typical of the plantation style without the resort culture. You'll need to hire a car to visit all the wonderful beaches and restaurants nearby and hosts Anne and Jonathan will provide everything you need to make your stay as memorable as ours. You'll wake each morning to monkeys playing in the lush tropical garden lovingly tended by your hosts and watch exotic sunsets from your private verandah.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather186291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We loved every moment of our stay at Banyan Tree. Our hosts went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was perfect. The rooms were beautiful, the food was great and we truly felt like we had had an authentic experience of life in Nevis. Don't hesitate to stay here. You may never want to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Fantastic place to stay with incredible views, perfect rooms, amazing gardens and monkeys jumping on the roof. Bring extra towels if you plan on spending lots of time doing beaches and watersports and consider renting a 4x4 to be able to drive to countless secluded spots.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mprince1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
4.4 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
0.6 mi away
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
#2 of 6 in Charlestown
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golden Rock Inn
Golden Rock Inn
#1 of 6 in Charlestown
171 reviews
12.4 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bed and Breakfast

Address: Morning Star Village, Charlestown, Nevis
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range: £102 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bed And Breakfast Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing