We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a wander around”
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visited this plantation after seeing it in the guide book and it was a nice place for a wander around. It has been converted into a very nice hotel so I wouldn't consider it as a historical attraction, nevertheless the grounds are pleasant. we didn't eat here but Im sure it would be a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tegan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We are here for our honeymoon and it is more than lovely,! our cottage is surrounded by lush vegetation , it is airy and private , the service is wonderful , room spotless , peter the manger has been so hospitable and helpful about all information on the island , it feels like an oasis away from the world .The resturant for breakfast and dinner has been superb, and the grounds and fish ponds and gardens are so unusual And magical ! We have driven to see many of the other plantations for lunch and golden rock is the most unusual and special !! Delighted !!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eshander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you are visiting Nevis I highly recommend eating here. The burgers are very good, especially with goat cheese. I also drank the fruit smoothie and it was amazing (although it could have been cheaper). The atmosphere and view is great while the service is average to below average (slow lifestyle of Nevisians, everything is going to be on island time there).

Room Tip: Get the burger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingFA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A truly magnificent setting that has been undergoing renovations in the past few years. The grounds and restaurant area have been the focus though. The rooms haven't been significantly upgraded. They're nice but not high-end luxury like Four Seasons, etc. However, it's such a stunning property and the garden and restaurant area renovations are so magnificent it more than makes up for the casual nature of the accommodations. The innkeeper Peter works his butt off making everyone comfortable and informed. The new owners are pouring lots of love and energy into the place and it has become a major destination for Nevis visitors. The restaurant is superb. We had our honeymoon meal right out in the middle. It was the most romantic and touching thing about our whole holiday. We would return in a heartbeat. Nevis is a relatively untouched island with a charm all it's own. Golden Rock seems to be trying to maintain that. One downside is that there is no air conditioning (at least not in our bungalow). I don't think this is a problem for a lot of people and there are breezes generally. But just an FYI.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms that are higher up may get a better breeze than those down low. The windmill r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadamBomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This really is a must see venue for lunch or dinner. Outstanding landscaping around the fish pools and truly a unique setting. i imagine it is stunning at night too. Best wahoo fish sandwich on nevis.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Golden Rock is the most beautiful resort I have ever seen. Walking into the outdoor dining area took my breathe away, the details that the owners have out in are second to none.

I hope to get the chance to visit here again, I must stay in Nevis!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coca905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had dinner as a group at Golden Rock. Originally it was a sugar plantation and still has the sugar tower which looks like it was transformed into a room for rent. We walked around on the paths at night and could tell that there was more to see in the day so we came back the next day and it was great. The grounds are full of great tropical foliage and well worth the time to walk. Dinner the night before was good and the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LMcFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
2.1 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
4.1 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
201 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
4.9 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
405 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hamilton Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range: £177 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing