We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Golden Rock Inn(Charlestown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
324
57
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
57
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar millgreat roompool barother guestspicnic lunchour honeymooncocktail hourbotanical gardensfour seasonsafternoon teaminute shuttle ridebeautiful poolshuttle servicenevis peakold millrum punchlord nelson
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Montpelier Plantation in Nevis was the perfect getaway for my wife and I on our honeymoon. We stayed seven nights and would have loved to extend our stay. There are so many things that make Montpelier and Nevis a special, beautiful place. The grounds, the pool, the animals, and the staff. The staff will do anything to help you out without being intrusive in the slightest. They genuinely want to help and talking to them only adds to the trip. The food is excellent and the staff makes excellent recommendations if you want to eat off the property as well. The hotel makes scheduling activities a breeze. The private beach is very nice and we enjoyed the shuttle to the beach as it allows you to see more of the island. I would recommend Montpelier to anyone seeking a very laid back, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15JohnF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We attended a group dinner, and were so please with the atmosphere and food we came back the next night on our own. The dining rooms are beautifully decorated, and when we visited, there were quite a few amazing paintings on display. I can't speak to the accomodations, just the restaurant. It is not inexpensive, but then the food is far from ordinary. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank chessie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked for Dinner having been advised of the Montpelier's dress code.
First impressions when we arrived were very good. Warm welcome from the staff, canapes, and drinks before dinner.
The evening started to deteriorate when we were advised that we were not booked in for Dinner, despite a letter confirming our reservation. We were made to feel as if they were doing us a favor by finding us a table, so we were surprised to find numerous empty tables in the restaurant.
The service was unprofessional, no sooner had we finished one course the next was served immediately, good if you have a plane to catch! The food was acceptable but the portions were very small.
The soup was served tepid on scolding hot plates, a strange combination!
To conclude, a disappointing experience, poor value for money, and don't worry about the dress code, flip flops, shorts and 'T'shirts are acceptable, especially if you are in a large group.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPI, Owner at Montpelier Plantation & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear John S,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your experience at Montpelier’s Restaurant 750.
We very much appreciate the open forum aspect of Trip Advisor and therefore usually do not reply to guest’s feedback, although we do feel obliged to respond to some of your observations. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience at Montpelier. We strive to offer the best food and service consistently. Your comments are constructive and have been shared with our Chef de Cuisine in an attempt to continue to improve our quality. We do also feel it important to note that the following day, when the manager first heard about your complaint from your host hotel, Montpelier refunded your two dinners immediately, something I believe other establishments may not have done.
Also to note, the group that you mention was a restaurant booking made by another hotel, in which the guests called approximately half an hour prior to arrival mentioning that they did not have appropriate attire but if we enforced our dress code the entire party of sixteen would cancel. Under the circumstances we made an exception for this group, and upon arrival they were invited to have cocktails in the Courtyard therefore bypassing the Great Room, and then moved directly into the Mill which was reserved exclusively for them.
In terms of the spare tables, we have a policy as a hotel to always set up an extra table or two for our resident guests who have decided to go out for dinner just in case they change their minds and decide to dine in with us. Although we are happy to set up extra tables as needed, it is our experience that moving tables and chairs last minute is far more disruptive to our dinner guests than having a few extra tables set and ready.
On your next trip to Nevis we would like to see you back at Montpelier in the hopes of giving us the opportunity to fully exhibit our exceptional Relais & Chateaux culinary experience.
Thank you again for your comments and we will take them into full consideration for our future restaurant reservations.

Montpelier Plantation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Montpelier is a beautifully restored old plantation house with the restaurant and dining areas in the historic building and accommodation in individual lodges in the attractive gardens. The owners manage the hotel and there is a level of personal attention and service by Muffin and her family which make you feel more like guests in their house than as hotel residents. There is a house party feel too with pre-dinner cocktails in the main drawing room at a set time where guests get to chat to one another. It was our first time but many of the guests seem to have been regulars for years but we felt just as well looked after and there was certainly no lack of friendliness to us new recruits!

The lodge rooms are very private with lovely views across the well-tended gardens to the sea in the distance. Our plantation room was simply but stylishly furnished with a huge four poster bed and very light and airy with windows on each side.

The food was exceptionally good. Dinner was served in the large open-fronted dining room decorated with dramatic modern paintings with strong colours contrasting with two old mill wheels set vertically as a central feature. Disappointingly breakfast was served on a verandah at the back of the hotel and it was a shame not to be able to enjoy the views from the lovely dining room.

We would have liked an alternative option to the fine dining experience in the restaurant. On a five day stay we tend to want a lighter option for a couple of evenings but this wasn't available and although we cut out a couple of courses on one evening it's not really set up for anything other than fine dining.

The beach is a 15 minute trip and the hotel organise a minibus once in the morning and then returning in the afternoon so if you want to go outside the set times you have to hire a car or take a taxi. We had been spoiled on Antigua but even so the beach was a little scruffy and to get to it you have to go through the middle of a major construction site. However the beach itself is a nice position looking out towards St Kitts. On one day a barbecue and cricket match was arranged which was great fun and thankfully not taken seriously by anyone!

We mixed our Caribbean trip with visits to Antigua and Nevis. Nevis is more reserved and more what Muffin called "old Caribbean". It was a nice contrast with the more outgoing way of life on Antigua. But island hopping is not as easy as it should be. LIAT the Caribbean airline have timetables but not that they keep to! To get back to Antigua on a 17 minute flight from St Kitts it took a water taxi from Nevis a taxi from the jetty and then a 6 hour wait at the airport before LIAT turned up. No wonder the locals say LIAT stands for Leave Island Any Time!

We would recommend the Montpelier and it really lives up to its relais chateau status. For us a 5 night stay worked well as it gave us a chance to see the island while at the same time spending time relaxing by the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

As we drove upon this property we were greeted by a magnificent tree and the remains of the sugar works. The grounds were well kept and the facilities as well. The suites were spacious and should satisfy ones needs. Polite and friendly staff is available and quite attentive for those making this their destination.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dickd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews