We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 15th anniversary with a week stay on Nevis at the beautiful Montpelier Plantation. I can't say enough about how beautiful the grounds are or how amazing everyone was. We loved it so much and hope to return. The staff were friendly and the food was incredible. Nick, Jackie and Noel made our stay special. I can't imagine any place could be nicer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    55
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
217
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at Montpellier Plantation for 7 days in January 2010 and got married there. Initially we chose that place for its beauty and high reviews (prior to that I have never been to Caribbean and therefore I considered all the reviews very carefully).
Arrival: At that time you could fly only to St.Kitts and then take a boat to Nevis. Taxi and boat were arranged for us by Montpellier staff for a fee, which was very convenient. St.Kitts is a beautiful island, and driving along its coast was a great experience.
Room: Due to the fact that we were getting married at Montpellier, we stayed at the Garden Suite. It was an absolutely gorgeous room with the renovated bathroom and a private terrace. we spent a lot of time relaxing on terrace watching the humming birds.
Food: Food was to die for! Every dinner was a delight. In fact, for our reception dinner we didn't even make any special menu requests because we trusted chef so much. And we were not disappointed, our reception dinner was amazing. The only request we made for that dinner was crème brûlée because it was the best we have ever tried.
Breakfasts were fantastic as well, especially freshly baked pastries and scones with soft butter...
People: people were amazing! I have never been in a place were people in general were so welcoming!
Wedding: Marriage license is easy to obtain, but you have to have the affidavit with you. I can't thank Magistrate Clarke enough for performing such beautiful and tasteful ceremony! Reception dinner was at The Mill, and it was the most romantic dinner anyone could imagine.
Beach: Very private with a beautiful view of St.Kitts. Although Montpellier Plantation was full, not that many people went to the beach, therefore it was very quite and relaxing.
Additional comments: Nevis is the best destination for those that are looking for a tranquility and nature. It would not be a perfect place for those who need a night time entertainment, casinos, clubs etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yferrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in March for our one week honeymoon and it was such a treat to escape the terrible English winter. We just loved the hotel. It is the epitome of boutique hotel splendour! Service fantastic - really intimate and very quiet around the pool. We visited the other hotels on the island including the four seasons for lunch and the Montpelier really does cater to a different sort of traveller - ones who appreciate the good life, luxury but not necessarily the bling, noisy children et! From the moment of arriving one feels totally relaxed (even despite a 9 hour BA delay from London). The full dinner was quite alot for every evening so worth sussing out early on when you can eat more casually in the pool terrace area and a good night to eat out is the evening they don't serve the full meal as the bbq style food in the pool terrace wasn't quite up to the usual fare. We really enjoyed our island tour organised by the lovely Jacqui, the English lady who acted as concierge. We plan to come back next year!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the garden room but the plantation rooms looked just as good - just really the qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I spent 5 days at Montpelier last week and was blown away. The inn is on the sprawling grounds of an old sugar plantation. No matter where you look, you see lush vegetation and beautifully kept grounds. The staff was extremely welcoming, knew me and my friend by name and really did a great job of making us feel right at home. The staff requests taxi services, makes dinner and activity reservations and tells you where the best places to 'lime' (hang out).
Make sure you request Kenneth Dore as your guide for the waterfall hike. He expertly led us through the rainforest to hike up 3 waterfalls - a good workout with phenomenal scenery! The rooms are little bungalows with ourdoor patios that overlook the ocean and rainforest. When we arrived, we were greeted with cool wet towels and taken to the pool bar for a rum punch. We then received a tour of the grounds and were led to our room where fresh flowers and a personalized note welcomed our arrival. The food was fresh and expertly prepared, we ate breakfast and/or lunch there every day. A special mention goes to Jackie, one of the concierges, who really went out of her way to take care of us during our stay. I highly recommend this inn, you will love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Montpelier Plantation defies categorization - it is a world unto its own and a remarkable restful creation that caters to your needs without ever intruding. The converted former sugar plantation is situated on Nevis - an island that makes up half the twin island nation of St. Kitts and Nevis. Nevis is the little sister - smaller and less developed. Perhaps because it takes longer to reach - the rewards on Nevis are all the sweeter. Muffin (the proprietor) graciously and personally welcomes guests at cocktail hour preceding the evening's meals at Restaurant 750 on the terrace overlooking the western side of the island and the setting sun each night. (The property is 750 feet above sea level with a commanding view of the island and the ocean's horizon.) Three restaurants offer exceptional food across the board from the simple wraps (boxed lunches transported down to the private beach) to the Mill Privée's sumptuous six-course tasting menu - a rare and dramatic venue matched by the exciting and original french inspired cuisine built from many local ingredients as well as fine foods flown in from around the world. The wine list is varied and complete with a range of selections that will satisfy almost any patron. The full breakfast each morning may provide the hardest decision of each new day as the selections are all delicious and original (try the french toast made with nutmeg and honey!)

We spent 7 nights in early May celebrating our 30th anniversary and wanted a unique setting that seemed removed from the world - Montpelier has only a single television in the hotel's library. It was never on the entire time we were there. There are no radios in the rooms and a newspaper is only available by special request. Muffin and her entire staff know exactly what they are doing and what they are offering - a respite from the rest of the world, tranquility, beauty, understated elegance, a smooth vibe, and an utterly unique environment that will leave you astonished at how architecture, music, paintings, and lush plantings can combine to delight the eyes and soothe the mind. The spectacular pool area frames the dormant volcano that dominates the skyline. Often shrouded in clouds at its 3,000 ft summit, Mt. Nevis sits like an ancient god watching over the island - we went with a guide to the summit (a steep and tasking 2-hour climb each way) and were greeted by a peacock at the top (absurd, symbolic, and beautiful)!

We also hired a driver to take us around the entire island (34 square miles) saw the birthplace of Alexander Hamilton, the oldest Protestant church in the Caribbean as well as various other converted plantations. Highly recommend if you have the time.

An absolute highlight is Montpelier's private beach. We spent three separate days at the beach. Beautiful views across the narrows of St. Kitts' dramatic and mountainous spine punctuate the blue and green carib waters. Calm, warm, and a sandy bottom with a gentle surf that rocks you for as long as wish to float in the shallows. Nary a soul passes other than the occasional fishing boat or sail boat. Cabanas offer shade if needed, and lounges are set up by the hotel's beach attendant who unpacks the box lunches and mixes drinks from the full bar he staffs beachside. We had the beach to ourselves for all three days! Sublime.

Our plantation room's windows and private porch looked out at the setting sun. The fourposter bed was comfortable and restful, the bathroom spacious and well equipped. My wife enjoyed a lengthy massage at the spa.

The wait staff, bar staff and even the grounds crew were always attentive, pleasant, genuinely interested in ensuring our happiness and proud of their island and the hotel experience.

I've stayed at Sandy Lane in Barbados, Cambridge Beaches in Bermuda and El Convento in San Juan - all exceptional properties. Montpelier is easily their equal in the areas that matter most - taste, discretion, quiet, cuisine, and comfort. At only 19 rooms and a couple of suites, the property is considerably smaller and for those seeking something truly rare and off the beaten track, Montpelier is well worth the journey.

We met a departing guest upon our arrival and he looked at us wistfully and said, "you're so lucky. People are always seeking some place "out there" where they think they'll find happiness. Well "there" is right here - you've found it." A week later when we left, we couldn't have agreed more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Dinner in the Mill Privee was exceptional with one major glitch. We were staying at the Four Seasons and intended to drive ourselves up in our rental but the concierge recommended we take a cab and I am very glad we did. There are no street signs to be found on Nevis and the many twists and turns to get up to the Plantation would have left us very lost. When we arrived we were treated to some delicious nibbles before heading up to the Mill. The atmosphere of the hotel and the Mill is truly once in a lifetime - romantic, serene. The food was excellent, every course was delicious and very fresh. The staff was incredibly welcoming and thoughtful during the meal without being intrusive. One of the waiters in particular, Eddison, was the nicest we met during our entire trip.

We enjoyed every element of our meal except for the corporate group that arrived about an hour and a half into our dinner. When we originally arrived it was just us in the Mill, then another couple joined us but we couldn't hear each other. Then a group of about 14 joined us. A woman from the group approached us and said something along the lines of "and you thought you were going to have a romantic evening" with a laugh. They were extremely loud, shouting and laughing as if it was a beach bar. My husband and I could no longer hear each other without shouting and we left the mill early to enjoy our coffee back in the main house. I felt bad for the other couple in the Mill as they still had a few courses to go. Make sure when reserving for dinner to ask if there is a corporate group coming in. Their presence ruined what was initially a truly wonderful evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eyehearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPI, Owner at Montpelier Plantation & Beach, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. At this point nothing I can say will be able to make up for the lost dining experience at Montpelier. After reading your comments we have made immediate changes to our reservation policies to be assured this will not happen to another guest. I would also like to extend an invitation to dine with us as my guest if you return to Nevis, in order to offer you the dining experience you should have had. Timothy Hoffman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just got back from spending 7 wonderful days at the Montpelier Plantation in Nevis. The entire staff is extremely welcoming, the food was outstanding and the pool area is very inviting. If you are seeking a relaxing holiday in peaceful surroundings you will find it at the Montpelier Plantation in Nevis.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
5.1 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
193 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
5.6 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golden Rock Inn
Golden Rock Inn
#1 of 6 in Charlestown
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpelier Plantation & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Property: Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Address: Pond Hill, Montpelier Estates | P. O. Box 474, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montpelier Plantation & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montpelier Plantation & Beach is an elegant hideaway in the heart of the Caribbean. Nevis is an unspoiled island with stunning natural beauty. Only 6 miles from the beach, the hotel is idyllically situated 750 feet above the Caribbean Sea in the foothills of Nevis Peak. Surrounded by 60 acres of lush tropical gardens and built around one of the island’s original 18th century sugar plantations, this charming getaway is delightfully secluded. Carefully designed to let the fresh sea air and tranquility connect you to a simpler way of life. This unique getaway proudly offers Relais & Chateaux hospitality including fine wine and food with wellness that is both active and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Montpelier Plantation & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Hotel Charlestown
Montpelier Plantation And Beach
Montpelier Plantation Hotel
Hotel Montpelier Plantation
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing