We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with my boyfriend and mom. Service was fantastic (everyone was friendly and helpful), breakfast was great and filling, and lunch and drinks by the pool were great although the lunch menu was lacking in vegetarian options.

The grounds of the Montpelier are beautiful, and it's worth finding the hammock at the edge of the property for some quite reading. As Nevisians who visit every year, we usually stay with family or rent houses, but it is safe to say that from now on we'll be staying at the Montpelier every time. Just a beautiful hotel and peaceful hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    49
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
201
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful property. Very relaxing. Service and food was great. Loved the private beach. Would go back again. Amazing experience dining in the mill. Beautiful views, lovely pool. Wonderful Breakfast. Get the lobster!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

One of the best Hotels we was in so far, perfect service, perfect clean rooms, dream garden, rooms and restaurants perfectly clean, food for breakfast, lunch, dinner just exquisite.
We love it and will for sure come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingarround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our first time to Nevis and Montpelier had been recommended by friends. What a great recommendation!

Although we only stayed at Montpelier for a few days, we got a great sense of the pride and passion to deliver excellent service from everyone who works there. Everyone was always friendly and engaging.

We stayed in a Garden Suite, which offered great privacy as well as space to be able to relax both inside and outside. The pool area is just beautiful and whilst we didn't get to sample any of the restaurants apart from breakfast they all looked stunning.

Try and get to the beach BBQ - what a great setting and was a great way to end our stay in Nevis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I painstakingly reviewed hundreds of Caribbean haunts for our honeymoon and am thrilled with what we found at Montpelier. I wanted something off the beaten path, with an elegance and personality that set it apart from the big, dependable brands. We visited every hotel on the island and confirmed we had made the right choice.

Montpelier is small and doesn't strike me as a fit for families or those in search of a late night, but acted as the perfect launching spot for our quiet mornings and daytime adventures. The staff were like family when we left, and it definitely wasn't the first time someone had left feeling that way because we ran into a couple that has come multiple times a year for over 25 years.

I made our travel arrangements with the family that owns it, who were available to make me feel better about my decision. We leaned on the concierge, Jackie, heavily to make and unmake plans as our whims guided us. We were on a first name basis with all guests and staff by the end of the week.

I was a little concerned the beach wasn't close, but it was a non issue. Nevis isn't really known for beautiful beaches, and the hotel's private beach (15 min drive) was the best we saw.

Do not miss the evening cocktail reception, tea, or breakfast - all were included in our room and were equally fabulous.

We will stay at Montpelier on our next trip to Nevis, and I would recommend that anyone else looking for more than the standard name brand and is willing to pay for the unique experience and culture of a boutique resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPJEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

we have waited a week since coming back from montpelier to write this review as we gave the hotel quite detailed feedback on their feedback form and were hoping they may have contacted us, but they haven't, so instead...

Montpelier is beautifully located on Nevis, with very friendly staff, access to a perfect private beach, fantastic food - basically everything we were after! and from speaking to fellow guests it seems it is probably the best spot on the island and perhaps the carribean if you want to stay at a small hotel rather than big resort.

we therefore recommend you go, however be careful of the following "hidden costs" which left a sour taste on our day of departure. a visit to this hotel is not cheap and we would have much rather these prices were transparent, we weren't travelling on the cheap but whether it was intentional or not by the owners we left feeling like we had been ripped off:
- we ordered champagne to be in the room on arrival, it wasn't there when we arrived but i didn't complain as it was a surprise for my wife - fair enough we still got billed for this as the bottle did eventually arrive but it was still on the bill and at a higher cost than quoted over the phone and no one had apologised (price was subsequently reduced to the original quote)
- they have bikes you can borrow but these are not free, despite no one telling us this when we asked to borrow them or any sign in the room to show this (they did knock this off the bill when we complained)
- the price of the hike up nevis peak does not include the taxi transfer each way so in fact costs double what you will be told. still do it - its hard work but a lot of fun!
- we arranged to hire a paddleboard for the day and then the hotel decided to extend the hire in case other guests wanted to use it the next day at the beach bbq - the cost of these extra days hire crept onto our bill (again removed after we challenged this cost)
- make sure it is clear whether the hotel-airport transfer cost is per couple or per taxi as we didn't experience the costs being shared with other couples though we understood from some staff this would have been the case

we reiterate, don't let this put you off but hopefully by the time you arrive the prices will be transparent and you can enjoy your holiday just like we were until the last couple of hours before our departure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPI, Owner at Montpelier Plantation & Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back to Montpelier Plantation and Beach someday soon.

Please accept our apologies if the pricing of the activities were not brought to your knowledge in a clear manner. We would like to assure you that we do not intend to hide any costs. All the charges are very similar to what you would expect to find at any other hotel and we try to make sure that our guests have all the information they need prior to each booking.

Again, thank you very much for your very valuable feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and we want you to know that we very much appreciate your suggestions and comments.

Best Wishes
Timothy Hoffman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

For a bit of history with your Caribbean sunshine this beautiful restored sugar plantation is an interesting place to enjoy a peaceful laid back spot in the islands. Modern additions add comfort to a place that dates back to the 1600s. A great restaurant on site and lovely pool with areas around it to enjoy a rum concoction or afternoon tea add to the attraction. It is not near any of the beaches or other dining options so you need to drive or get a rather expensive taxi ride to get around although the resort will shuttle you to its private beach and back once a day. But you might not want to leave at all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgoldman60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
4.6 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
11.9 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Nevis
Paradise Beach Nevis
#4 of 7 in Nevis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpelier Plantation & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Property: Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Address: Pond Hill, Montpelier Estates | P. O. Box 474, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montpelier Plantation & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montpelier Plantation & Beach is an elegant hideaway in the heart of the Caribbean. Nevis is an unspoiled island with stunning natural beauty. Only 6 miles from the beach, the hotel is idyllically situated 750 feet above the Caribbean Sea in the foothills of Nevis Peak. Surrounded by 60 acres of lush tropical gardens and built around one of the island’s original 18th century sugar plantations, this charming getaway is delightfully secluded. Carefully designed to let the fresh sea air and tranquility connect you to a simpler way of life. This unique getaway proudly offers Relais & Chateaux hospitality including fine wine and food with wellness that is both active and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Montpelier Plantation & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpelier Plantation And Beach
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Hotel Charlestown
Montpelier Plantation Hotel
Hotel Montpelier Plantation
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing