We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
Nearby Hotels
Montpelier Plantation & Beach(Charlestown)(Great Value!)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Golden Rock Inn(Charlestown)(Great Value!)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,984
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oualie Beach Resort(New Castle)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timothy Beach Resort(Frigate Bay)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
126
16
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
16
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspig roastblue housethe cottagesrum punchantique furniturewednesday nightmango treewest indian buffetcoconut french toastthe main househome grownchattel housesgathering placelovely gift shopfour posterwine list isno air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Hermitage.
The service from everyone was so friendly, polite and unassuming and anything and everything we asked for was no trouble at all.
The breakfasts and dinners are to die for and the kitchen had no trouble catering for my vegetarian diet, everything we ate was delicious - the buffet is out of this world!
Our room was simple but beautiful, everything you need and nothing more. I loved our hammock SO much, it was a great spot for watching the monkeys. No there's no AC but it's just a question of acclimatising and the breeze keeps you cool.
We went out on the family boat on day with a couple of other guests and friends and that was the absolute highlight of our trip - snorkeling among the tropical fish was simply wonderful.
The location for some may not be what they are looking for but for us it was perfect - it is so peaceful (except the frogs at night!) - if you don't mind a 15 minute $5ECD trip to the beach and a short walk up a hill then it is absolutely perfect. We are from London so it made sense to go everywhere by foot or local bus and that was very cheap and economical. All the locals are very friendly and it really added to our experience.
We would absolutely love to go back so we will be saving up the pennies. THANK YOU to everyone at the Hermitage for making our holiday so wonderful :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrPwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was staying for ten days in St Kitts and took my companion in our spotless white hire car from St Kitts to Nevis on the roll-on car ferry. The first problem was that the car was automatic. I never feel in control driving a car without a gear stick. The second problem is that I had to back the spotless white hire car with no gears down a wet ramp and across some logs on to the moving deck. The third problem is your dentless car sits on deck about an inch away from the ferry side and the car/lorry in front and behind. And we had to come back! We were going to have lunch at The Hermitage where I had previously stayed. The Hermitage is simply lovely. It is like the family estate you should have inherited in the Leeward Islands if your ancestors had worked harder!. I would love to spend the winter here. The main family house is full of interesting polished furniture and pictures. The ancilliary houses and cottages are individually charming. The Hermitage is not on the beach. It is just a fine country place to relax totally, read, take in a little sun by the pool and enjoy yourself. Lunch was served on the verandah of the main house. The food is always good here thanks to the owner's Italian background. The only complaint I had was that several small groups from one of the cruise ships were being shown round the grounds and house while we were eating. I felt like putting up a sign NEXT SPAGHETTI EATING DEMONSTRATION 2pm. The staff are always charming, lay a table properly and serve attentively.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BASILVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our last minute trip was made perfect by the outstanding staff and wonderful service given to us by the Hermitage. Every day started with the most amazing breakfast. The quiet atmosphere allowed us to ease into our day. We only needed to ask, this wonderful staff was able to support the many activities this island offers. Each day we had a new adventure. We visited the town, had a beautiful island tour, went snorkeling, sailing and did a hike to the rain forest. Whew! And still had time to sit outside on our veranda each afternoon and enjoy the view of the ocean.
Because the property is located at a high elevation, cool breezes abound. There was no need for air conditioning. Each cottage is arranged with a view of the lovely gardens or the ocean.

We ate most of our dinners at the Hermitage. The food was outstanding. The pig roast is a must. The rum punch is beyond words. We have been to many islands, their RUM punch is the best ever.


Special thanks to Richie and his staff. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mic02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After reading all the previous reviews for The Hermitage we were really looking forward to staying there for two weeks in October 2013.
It really doesn't disappoint. So if you are expecting sprawling marble foyers, air-con and a beach side location you will be disappointed. However what you will get is beautiful spacious rooms, amazing food especially breakfasts(more about that later) and the most friendly helpful staff in a quiet beautiful location.
We were lucky enough to stay in "Twin Gables" a cute gabled cottage set at the back of the plantation area overlooking the rain-forest. It has a lounge area by the front door with a sofa, full size fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The bedroom is dominated by a huge double bed with mosquito nets making it look gorgeous and I even had steps to get into the bed as its about a foot off the floor! A floor standing fan and ceiling fan take the place of air con. Off the bedroom is a walk in shower room with ample wardrobe space. Hangers and hairdryer included too!
The best part of the cottage for us was what we termed "the pod" a veranda/balcony that has its own hammock(ultra comfy) and two comfy chill out chairs and table and a rack to dry swimwear on. The best bit is that the lattice work is screened with netting to stop the critters getting in. We spent a lot of time chilling in this area watching the view of Mount Nevis, herons and if you are lucky enough, the local troop of monkeys which come down occasionally to visit.
The whole feel of the cottage meant you don't feel cramped into one hotel room.
There are a selection of different cottages and some are bigger than others and I think a few have sea views. All in the traditional "gingerbread"design.
Ok so when we went it was the beginning of October and the island had been experiencing an unusually hot heat wave so yes it was very hot when we were there. This did mean that we did find it hard to sleep occasionally when it was very sticky but honestly this was the weather not the room as there is a fan and ceiling fan to give you a breeze and all the windows are slated and netted openings with no glass. However being up in the hills you do get a cool breeze more so than on the coast. Air con would mean that it is very hard to acclimatize to the heat and humidity when not in your room so I don't think its needed.
The hotel pool is not massive but it is perfectly adequate and much needed to cool off in. It is surrounded by a selection of loungers/tables and chairs. Beach towels are supplied daily in your room.
One of the best parts of our stay was the breakfasts. I would heartily recommend the coconut french toast - it is amazing. Locally grown mango juice, homemade yoghurt, omelettes and pumpkin pancakes can also be recommended. Be warned the portions are big which is by no way a complaint!!
We also ate there in the evenings quite a few times. The food is good, using local ingredients and menus change daily. My only comment on the evening meals was that they are a set three course meal, lovely and all good and tasty but sometimes we felt we would have liked the option of a light meal e.g one course only as with the big breakfasts and heat we found we didn't need to eat as much. I understand from talking to other guests the pizzas they serve for lunch are very good.
Make sure you attend the Tuesday night buffet - a table groaning with a huge selection of local foods with the centre piece a spit roasted pig - delicious and a great way to experience the local delicacies.
Try the Rum punch too, it is definitely the best on the island!
One of the best parts of our stay at the Hermitage was the staff. I have never stayed anywhere where each and every member of staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. The Hermitage is a family run business and the owners are very hands on but in a non invasive way. They want you to enjoy your stay and are great for giving you tips on where to visit, eat or ideas of things to do and even go as far as giving us lifts to locations if they where going that way too. Reception staff are super efficient at organising car hire/excursions/transfers.
Bar and restaurant staff are really friendly and great at remembering what you like. Its these little touches that make the difference. All staff say hello and stop to chat, look out for Supercat and Mervin if you fancy a gossip or local knowledge.
Location wise you are not on the beach so you do need to take taxi/local bus to get anywhere but these can be caught five minutes down the road(and the buses are great fun to catch). I would recommend hiring a car during your stay for a few days to allow you to get round easily.
I would not hesitate to recommend you stay here, we really enjoyed our time on Nevis and I think staying at The Hermitage made it this special. It is probably the most relaxing holiday I have ever had. And if you are lucky enough you may even get a trip on their beautiful sail boat!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the individual cottages for best rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelbunny32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It's difficult to know what to say after all the great reviews that the Hermitage has. Perhaps to kill dead the poor review. The rooms do not have air-con - it says so in all the publicity. If you need air-con, go somewhere else. It is 4 miles from a beach - it says so in all the publicity. If you need to be on a beach, go somewhere else. If what you are looking for is peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings, with superbly attentive service, then maybe this is the place for you. Nothing was too much trouble and everything we asked for was organised with no input from ourselves apart from asking. The service hits just the right note of helpfulness and friendliness. Very soon after our arrival, we were chatting to the owners and staff as if they were old friends. Read the other great reviews and believe. It really is as good as they all say.

Room Tip: We stayed in Twin Gables which was superbly equipped - veranda at the front with table and chairs, balcony at the rear with comfortable chairs and a hammock. It was just opposite the pool and very close to the restaurant and bar. The only down-side was that the walk back from the bar was slightly uphill, although since it was only a few yards, this is hardly an issue.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BucksWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews