We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place and helpful hot spring”

Bath Hotel and Spring House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.50*
and up
History and Heritage Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Charlestown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can see the ruins of this grand 18th-century hotel and spa.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Interesting place and helpful hot spring”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It is interesting to view the Bath Hotel area, even though you can't enter the hotel building itself because it is in use as government offices, and the 18th century bath house is boarded up and not in use any more.

As for the hot spring, I am in my mid 60s, and I have used the hot spring bathing spot many times to very good effect, sometimes just soaking my hands or feet, and often by soaking my whole body, including total immersion. I find it to be fabulous!

Young or old, if your muscles or joints are aching, the hot volcanic water is a marvelous natural treatment, a free spa, and it is totally sanitary, despite some ill-informed comments here.

The hot volcanic spring water is constantly being refilled from the natural source automatically, and the temperature of the volcanic water is so extremely high that regular everyday germs have absolutely no chance of surviving here.

It is totally wrong to say that local people bathe here to "keep clean". In reality, they use the hot spring as an effective holistic health treatment for aches and pains etc, as I have done.

Do be careful, because the water is always extremely hot. Get in by degrees, do not stay in for more than 15 minutes maximum, and be sure to sit on a rock afterwards before striding away, as you may possibly feel dizzy from the heat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank invertpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    25
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you like really history, not the sanitised version”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

If you visit on a tour given by a knowledgeable local, you will get an understanding of these baths. Yes there is the history, but more importantly, with many people in the area being very poor, these baths provide them with a means of keeping clean. They aren't very big, but then neither is the island! Some of the previous comments are quite frankly inane - talking about them being overgrown and run down like the whole island etc ... What are they expecting to see? Why not stay home safe and cosy in their clean, 'hygienic' houses. Seriously, if you want to chat and mix with the locals, absorb some history both old and new, visit the baths.

They are by the way lovely and hot but not recommended for anyone with heart complaints, nor should you stay in them for over 10 mins.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting history but worried about cleanliness?”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

While it is an interesting story about the Bath Hotel and hot springs, the water and pool just didn't seem clean/sanitary to me. I stuck my feet in for a few seconds. Definitely HOT! Others in our group wouldn't touch the water! It wasn't very big and several locals were in it. The whole place is run down and overgrown as most of St. Kitt's/Nevis is. Too bad. I wish they had the ability to restore and maintain their historic sites.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank treenie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnemede
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The baths are very warm”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was given a tour of the Bath Hotel and Spring House by a good friend who works there. The old building from the 1700's has a lot of history including being the first hotel in the Caribbean. The actual working bath is so hot I could only get my feet in, so I can't verify claims that it heals your aches and pains. They are widening the hot spring coming down from the volcano/mountain. This much warmer than a hot tub.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thermal Water”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Locals use it to relieve muscle pains and aches.
Tried it, it actually works if you can stand the heat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4UGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bath Hotel and Spring House also viewed

 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Bath Hotel and Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing