We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhar!”
Review of Black Baron

Black Baron
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ahhar!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Brilliant over the top pirate themed decor, delicious food and the friendliest hosts with the nice personal touch of adding our boat name to the dish. Can't decide whether to put up the picture of the beautifully cooked food or hubbie and I dressed as pirates ... I give you both!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBobtheFarmersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cumberland Bay, St Vincent in the Grenadines”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We sailed into this beautiful bay with the black sand, lush palm trees and fresh water river and found it difficult to leave. We met with local people and shared beers and conversation and got an insight into island life there. We climbed the volcano with Damani from Josephs Bar in the picture I have posted and also enjoyed food cooked there. Very family orientated and will bend over backwards to help. They also have WiFi. Our main celebratory evening there was spent at the Black Baron, where we enjoyed a very good, beautifully cooked meal with wine too. A treat in the Caribbean. The people are friendly and if, like us, you were lucky enough to be there on a 'special' holiday - Heros Day it was for us - then you will be invited in to dance and play with the families who come down to the normally quiet beach. Great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FriendOfTheEarthNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un tel joyau caché!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

At the risk of revealing this Hidden Gem, it deserves to be on the 'know' for travellers, sailors, explorers, pirates, french, and movie buffs (for Pirates of the Caribbean) alike!

One of Saint Vincent's hidden, private get away spots on the Leeward side of the island (2 hours by Catamaran), run by a Wonderfully sweet French couple and their dog!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boomerang b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

When you arrive to this god's forgotten bay be ready to face an attack from locals who want to sell you this and that. Be patient and polite entering their space (but lock the boat, dinghy and all the windows for the night - st.Vincent is not a safe place). It's recommended to go directly to the restaurant (very left on the beach) to make a reservation and an order. The owner prepares always fresh and exquisite food with his wife and they need few hours to make it perfect. The place doesn't look special from outside but just enter and you will change your mind. Very atmospheric, peaceful and friendly. We had fresh Mahi-Mahi and Tuna tartare (highly recommended!) You should try their home made ice cream too. The only weak part was the wine. You would expect from a French owner to surprise you with some nice bottle delivered from his homeland but instead the Concha del Toro from Chile is the only what's on offer. But it's a detail which can't effect your great experience with nice people who want to make you feel good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sverkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its not French”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Amazing little place!!!
French owner and his wife!!!
Food is superb!!!
His runner can get you anything!
Fresh....... Everything!!!!
Real drinks!
Sailed in and came back for more!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vojin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Baron also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Black Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing