We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentrefelin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Well, what can I say, just come back from another perfect weekend break. We've been staying here for several years now and make around 3 visits a year. Ann makes the perfect hostess and nothing is too much trouble. We've stayed in most of the rooms and they all have their own character and charm. The breakfasts are fantastic, lots of choice, lots to eat! It's one place that we easily unwind at, beautiful location and just the sounds of the countryside to lull you to sleep. Can't recommend this idyllic gem enough!
Alyson & Daron xx

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergwaun
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Such a lovely place, easy to find, a lovely warm welcome from Anne, Welsh cakes and pot of tea on arrival much appreciated. Wanted for nothing, breakfasts superb. Very clean, tidy and comfortable accommodation. Enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed an extra night. All being well we'll see you again this year Anne.
Many thanks
Ray & Sarah

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is a wonderful B & B run by the most welcoming hostess - Ann Alston. It would, however, have been much easier to find if it had been listed under Criccieth and not the obscure village of Petrefelin. We have stayed at Tyddyn Iolyn many times now and the standard never varies. The bedrooms are lovely, with fresh flowers and stunning views and Ann even provides wine glasses for your use, offering to keep your drink chilled in her fridge, along with a hospitality tray for tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The breakfasts are wonderful and varied daily.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GooseSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoojCriccieth, Owner at Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for reviewing Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse and I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays here. I am sorry that you found it difficult to find Tyddyn Iolyn on the Tripadvisor site. Although my correct postal address is Criccieth, Tripadvisor advise me that they prefer to list businesses according to their immediate 'footprint' and therefore prefer to list me under the location of Pentrefelin. I agree with you that this does not make it easy to find my bed and breakfast and have already asked Tripadvisor to show Pentrefelin as a 'nearby city' to my nearest town of Criccieth (which is only 2 miles from the farmhouse) and to Porthmadog, which is 3 miles away, but as yet this has not been done, despite these two towns, which are 5 miles apart, being listed as nearby to each other. I hope this will be resolved soon. Many thanks Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

From the very friendly welcome to the reluctant last goodbye this place was a pleasure to stay at. This quiet location has wonderful views, we even had our own veranda! The cosy accommodation has been sympathically converted from basic farm buildings with quality fittings and fixtures. Everything worked too! The helpful guidebook was filled with local knowledge. And the breakfasts are freshly prepared to order from quality local produce. The coarse cut home made marmalade is tangy and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazL_aka_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

On the back of Trip Advisor reviews we booked 4 nights in Ann's B&B during the last week of September, staying in the detached "Bakehouse". Well appointed, quiet, comfy bed, fresh flowers and stunning views - and have we mentioned the breakfasts....................... you wont be disappointed with fresh fruit, locally made yoghurts served from an iced bowl, cereal or hand made muesli (and thats just to start). There's even a 'specials board'!

Up the lanes and within easy reach of all the attractions that make this part of North Wales so popular, it would be hard to beat this delightful place and the effort its owner puts in to make your stay so memorable

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdcontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
341 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked this break at short notice as a birthay/luxury treat over the net and happy we did, so much so..we stayed an extra night! (3 in all).
Our accommodation was "The Stable" and couldn't be faulted, king size bed & 2 person bath..mmm. The only critisism, is that there is accommodation above which extends over the bedroom (not obvious when you look at "The Stable") and the soundproofing isn't good...so noisy children, loud conversation, even snoring from above may annoy (it did me).
The farmhouse is tucked away somewhat, so you need transport. Walking down to Pentrefelin or into Porthmadog may be a bit physical for some, the cross country footpaths are poorly marked and little (if ever in some cases) used.
The views over breakfast as well as the food itself were lovely and her ladyship loved the Salmon & Scrambled Egg daily "special".
We ate & drank several times in Tremadog, very close and worth a visit.
Anne, her staff, donkeys & cat were all very friendly, we'd have no hesitation of staying again or recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoojCriccieth, Owner at Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thankyou to my guests for reviewing Tyddyn Iolyn on Tripadvisor!
A large number of footpaths in this area have been closed this summer (2011) while contractors replaced the gas pipeline between Pwllheli and Blaenau, but I have been assured that on completion all public footpaths will be reopened/improved with appropriate signage.
Although the conversion of this building was only carried out about ten years ago I will investigate to see if soundproofing can be improved between the two rooms.
Thanks for all your reviews! Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

From the moment we arrived when Anne ran out to greet us we felt welcome. The room (Hayloft) was really clean and cosy with fresh cut flowers out of Anne's garden. There are lots of areas to sit outside to enjoy the amazing view - and it is amazing. From the Hayloft you can see the sea one way and the donkeys grazing the other way. From the breakfast room you have a different view over the hills. The breakfast has to be one of the best ever. Fresh fruit salad with lots of exotic fruts (not just your average apples and oranges) wonderful creamy yoghurts and the full Welsh breakfast. There is also a specials board - when we were there it was scrambled eggs and smoked salmon with brioche. Truly delicious. There is the added incentive of two friendly donkeys and a very friendly cat called Milly. She is not allowed in the bedrooms so all of you allergic people reading this don't be deterred from staying! There is nothing negative about the place so we shall be back - that's for certain! A big thank you to Anne, Lynn who served breakfast when we were there and to her 'little helper' who had just taken her GCSEs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse

Property: Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse
Address: Pentrefelin LL52 0RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pentrefelin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pentrefelin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse Pentrefelin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing