We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL FOR A DAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Young Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL FOR A DAY”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We felt very lucky to have been able to gain access to this pretty beach for the day. We came off the cruise liner and hopped on a water taxi with the mind of heading to Villa Beach, as we didn't really know where else to go, but, because we were fairly early off the ship, the guy from the boat said if we paid another $5 each to a different water taxi, he would drop us off and collect us at a desired pre-arranged time from Young Island (and he was there bang on time!!).

We had a lovely day there, we felt very elitest, compared to the herds of people on Villa Beach!! Villa Beach sounded so noisy across the sea and we were in lovely tranquillity! Apparently they only allow 20-25 non-residents on the beach, as they've had complaints from residents, understandably, about all the cruisers landing on the small beach! People were even coming over on boats and being turned away by staff and some were being dropped off in the water, to wade to shore, so that they couldn't be refused!!! It all made for entertaining viewing from our towels!!!

We had a light lunch, of a starter each, which was more than ample for us and was extremely tasty. My husband had a pizza, which was an ideal size for light lunch and I had some chicken gougons which were somehow cooked in coconut, with a dipping sauce - they were delicious!

The rum punch is VERY good and very potent!!! :-)

The Coconut Bar is a lovely feature and ideal for having a cooling drink when the heat of the day hits, to sit and watch the world go by from the sea!

A lovely, pretty little hideaway to visit for the day, if you're lucky enough to be allowed on?! They say Johnnie Depp hired a place there whilst filming Pirates of the Caribbean....?! Enjoy if you make it there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebsWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    59
    16
    16
    4
See reviews for
34
115
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband treated me to 4 nights at Young Island resort for my milestone birthday.

We knew that our stay would be something special based just on our welcome reception! Standing on the end of the Pier, welcoming us like long lost friends returning home, was Bianca Porter, GM extraordinaire, with cold fruit punches in hand! That simple, special gesture was the introduction to a wonderful stay at this unique and lovely resort.

The hotel actually feels like a private island retreat, with the cottages spread around the grounds and on the hillside, rather than a typical 4-1/2 star resort. It has all the creature comforts including Wi-Fi so you feel very much at home (minus the TV).

There were so many unique experiences at Young Island that it certainly will stay with us for a long time to come. It would take up several pages to put it all down!!

So here are a few brief points:

1. The cottage – Number 28 was spacious, well-appointed and comfy. You could live in those cottages actually! We had our own private plunge pool. Highly recommended if you don't want to climb the 100 or so stone steps to the beach.

2. The service – absolutely above expectations! The staff were always smiling and willing to assist. One of the bartenders, Denroy offered to take us around St. Vincent on his day off and even brought us a local fried fish delicacy called Chi-chi cakes to try for breakfast one morning!

3. The food – the quality and variety were great! We've reviewed the Young Island Restaurant separately so be sure to check that for more detail.
What stood out to us was the unique setting for meals under the gazebos and the offering of freshly baked breads with every meal! You can place orders to take home as well for that very special and memorable edible souvenir!
From start to end, so many staff were helpful and made our visit such a pleasurable one! Our gratitude to Smokey, Denroy, Lennox, Zerelda, Louann, Carlos, Neil, Versilker, Cheryl, Michelle, Patricia and so many others!

4. Everything else...simply perfect! The combination of locale, pretty quiet beach, casual vibe, the water-surrounded Coconut bar, separation from the mainland offering private seclusion....all work together to create a truly special, one-of-a-kind experience.

There is not much that needs improving except for the physical property itself. The resort is starting to show some wear but this did not affect our stay in any way. We understand the immense challenges in keeping a beachfront property looking its smartest, but this must be an even greater challenge having the sea spray coming in 360 degrees all around!

My husband and I have travelled to many places together but we both felt that Young Island was beyond compare. Cruise ship season ended just the week before our arrival so perhaps the lack of guests or crowded gazebos and having the resort practically to ourselves, and thus the peacefulness, contributed largely to our outlook. For us, this break was probably the most relaxing of all our trips in the Caribbean!

We never bothered to look at our watches except to go down for dinner and we actually lost track of the days, which is an excellent sign of de-stressing and disconnecting!

We’re happy that we vacationed in St. Vincent and that we stayed at Young Island for our very first visit. Young Island Resort will remain our first choice for our future return visit to St. Vincent & the Grenadines!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have stayed at Young Island four previous times. My objection is lack of TV--They have now installed WiFi that can be accessed from rooms. As the title says the food is excellent. The accommodations are very nice. A/C if requested. The beach is nice and the costs of drinks--not included with meal plan are cheap. The ferry runs 24/7 and the outdoor showers are great. Pool is adequate as are the tennis courts atop the island. While as others have noted the island is up for sale, still the staff is top notch. The six different types of bread baked for every meal outstanding. Hint upon arrival have them bake a loaf to take to room for late night snack. Diving with Dive St. Vincent across the cut is first rate! Callie, DJ & Ray know the waters and the "critters"

Room Tip: Stay away from pool parrots are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
344 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Probably unfair to write a review on this establishment as my trip was for merely a day, but you don't get returners if you don't make the right first impression. Everything seems to be ticking over with no real energy about the place / people. That said the beach is OK (and certainly less crowded than Villa beach just a short water taxi ride away). Bar prices and food were ok but nothing about the place says ' this is the place to be (unless you're on a cruise and your taken there - seemed to be the case for many on the beach)'. Many seem to like it and, as I said, one day is not much exposure, but on first impressions I'll seek out alternate options.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This trip was our second to Young Island and was just as amazing and wonderful as our first (a year ago). We extended our stay to nine nights vs. the seven nights the first time. Still not enough!!!!! I am a fifty year old professional with a demanding career and a teenager at home. I am well traveled in the U.S., Caribbean and Western Europe. I do enjoy the finer things in life and am convinced I didn't travel to this wonderful island until now because I wouldn't have appreciated it when I was younger. When I travel now to "relax", it is extremely difficult to find a place where you can truly do that. No phones (do yourself a favor and keep your cell turned off), no TV and the most beautiful, natural unspoiled surroundings you will ever find. I also recommend if you are traveling as a "couple" - do yourself another favor - leave the kids at home - they will survive. The cottages are all lovely in their own way and very clean. The staff cannot do enough for you and I cannot even imagine some of the things happening that people have posted here. I do look to trip advisor for people's opinions but have never written a review before because quite frankly, I do not have the time. After reading the previous post upon my return home, I had to register for a trip advisor account so I could share my thoughts. I will return to this Nirvana every year as long as they don't change a thing. We will return next January for two weeks since 9 nights wasn't enough of this heaven on earth. Yes, it is a little pricey, but worth every penny especially when you have stressful lives back home and you need to unwind and not be bothered or harassed by vendors. The food is 5 star all the way and I'm not just talking about the bread. We get the meal plan and do not leave the island our entire visit and it is fabulous. To Bianca, James, Christopher, Carlos, Laura, Cheryl and the always happy smiling ferry driver - we thank all of you for your high standard of service and maintaining the beauty of Young Island. To everyone reading this, if you really need a break from it all, go to Young Island and stay as long as your life and wallet permits - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were due to stay 16 nights, would have left after 3 but for some delightful people we meet so stayed 7 nights. We have been looking forward to this place for a month or so but it was not as expected.The island is up for sale and it would seem there is a huge lack of investment and the uncertainty is rubbing off on the staff. The cottage we had #6 was dirty the general overall condition was to say the least very tatty, The linen and towelling was a mismatched and not as you would expect from a property making claims to be a luxury resort and charging accordingly. Most of the staff ( a few exceptions ) were long faced and in most cases very unfriendly, and to get a coffee with lunch or dinner it was necessary to order as you placed your dessert order. To say that they just wanted to see you leave the restaurant would be an understatement. On one occasion at breakfast where last orders were at 10am we were told to leave at 10.15am so they could set the tables for lunch. In general the food was very good, breakfast a small menu and lunch the same menu for 7 days, this would be fine if the menu was a large selection, but 2 starters, 1 soup, 1 salad and 3 main courses are not what you would expect from an supposed 4/5 star property. Again I must say that the food was good.With an all inclusive resort I would not have expected to be told that about 40% of the cocktails were chargeable, yes if I were drinking Dom or Crystal but not margaritas etc. There were a few very pleasant staff members one in particular was James and also the ferryman. Beach bar open on only 1 day, took 3 days to get snorkeling equipment. Just too many things were not right but if you feel that you want to go, well it's your choice, some people seem to like it, I am a little more fussy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Outstanding experience. If you really want to get away from it all, this is the place. Located in St. Vincent in the Grenadines, it is plush by comparison to other hotels in the area. I would recommend bringing but spray as it is truly an island--with beautiful mountains and some critters. Your room is in a tree house type environment. The food is excellent and service is outstanding. There are no TV's or a fitness center, but plenty of hammocks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKV3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Vincent
0.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Young Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Island Resort

Property: Young Island Resort
Address: Young Island, St. Vincent
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Young Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Young Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young Island Hotel St. Vincent
Young Island Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing