We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the hike, if its a clear day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Soufriere Cross Country Trail

La Soufriere Cross Country Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
La Soufriere Volcano Hiking Tour
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The La Soufriere Cross Country Trail winds its way from sea level up to the top of the majestic La Soufriere Volcano (4048ft/ 1178m). Granite cliffs reach for the sky, giving way to sweeping valleys and deep gorges and eventually the immense volcanic crater. The walk to the crater is moderately difficult, and takes about two hours uphill from the windward side. The La Soufriere Cross Country Trail snakes across the width of St Vincent, and can be walked from either the leeward or windward coast. The total trail is approximately 9 miles (15 km) long and offers breath-taking panoramic views of the surrounding land and seascape and close encounters with fauna.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the hike, if its a clear day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Best to do as part of a tour. You are taken by minibus to the base of the trail and the guide that we had was very knowledgeable about the area and looked out for all members of the group, adapting the pace accordingly. For us it was a hard three hour climb to the edge of the crater where the view was stunning both of the crater itself and the surrounding mountains, forest and sea. Fortunately the descent was much easier and quicker and was followed by an excellent meal in a local creole restaurant .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrisandFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at La Soufriere Cross Country Trail, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you enjoyed the hike and the views. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    22
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not an easy walk, but worthwhile the view when we got to the top. There is a track most of the way up, but near the top it turns into a scramble up the rocks. Friends of ours went a few weeks before and got a guide, they advised us that there was no need to get a guide. This was true, there was only one path up and we could take it at our own pace without a guide. We found getting there quite difficult, we caught a bus to Georgetown, but only managed to get to the foot of the volcano through the kindness of a lady who happened to see us wondering, but many resorts can arrange tours for you! A very pretty walk, definitely something to do if on the island!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at La Soufriere Cross Country Trail, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you managed to get onto the trail and enjoyed the views. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb for the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hard work would be an understatement. Even the youngsters were finding it tough as we passed them on their way up, when we were coming down. The views from the top were stunning. Our guides were Hudson and Halford, two local 'likely lads' who wore flip flops but would have been equally at home barefoot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at La Soufriere Cross Country Trail, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you enjoyed the hike and the views. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amriswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hike to crater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The turn-off at the windward Highway is clearly signposted. Drive 3 miles to the end of the road and find a large carpark, ranger Office, and restrooms (closed when we were there). The trail is in good condition, lots of steps. The last ca. 20 minutes are stony and rough, however. Arrive at the vertical abyss (no fence) and enjoy a breathtaking view into the surprisingly big crater with its Little lake. At Age 67 and with Little Training, the walk took us 2 hours one-way. Younger People made it in 1 1/2 hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at La Soufriere Cross Country Trail, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you enjoyed the hike and the views. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Volcano tour on St. Vincent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

While visiting St. Vincent and the Grenadines, i recently toured the Soufriere volcano (the largest volcano in the Caribbean) on the island of St. Vincent. I was guided by Desmond from the tour company Sailors, which is the largest tour operator on the island. The owner of the firm was very helpful in accommodating my time schedule. The tour can start with a pickup at your hotel and proceeds by vehicle up the eastern shore (windward coast) past Georgetown then turns inland from the coast and the drive terminates at a park facility where the hiking begins. It is about a 3-1/2 mile hike to the volcano rim up a good trail that is well-maintained and combines various types of track including many stairs. The total vertical climb is about 4,000 feet and takes an average of 1-1/2 hours. This is challenging hiking and not recommended unless you are reasonably fit. the guide will lead at a comfortable pace and is sensitive to individual paces and breaks along the way sure help. The reward at the top is awesome.... if the weather is clear. On my tour I experienced good luck and could see the whole crater and dome as well as both the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. Expect the temperature at the rim to be about 8-10 degrees celsius lower than where you started at sea level. I suggest taking in 2-3 bottles of water (Sailors kindly provided this). and maybe a jacket or sweater. The hike back down takes about 1 hour on average and can be followed by lunch at a nice restaurant in Georgetown. Sailors will then return you to your hotel. Contact them for pricing as that depends on how many are in your group. While it is possible to do this hike without a guide, I do not recommend it. The guide will ensure your safety and comfort and is also current on any recent changes in the trail- sometimes there are washouts and the trail track can vary.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at La Soufriere Cross Country Trail, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you had an amazing experience and you enjoyed the hike and the beautiful views. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Soufriere Cross Country Trail also viewed

Kingstown, St. Vincent
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Kingstown, St. Vincent
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to La Soufriere Cross Country Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing