We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccament Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Bodmin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My wife and I had a week of sheer luxury this May at the Harlequin resort at Buccament Bay on the island of St Vincent. From the moment we landed at St Lucia International Airport and were taken in hand by the resort staff we were made to feel welcome and valued. This continued through out the week and it was obvious to me that this attitude was not 'forced' proffesionalism but a genuine effort to ensure our stay was the best possible it was also obvious they had been trained to the highest standard. The standard of accomodation and catering was also superb and the personal touches of the house keeping staff a joy to behold. This resort will be even better when the new St Vincent Internatinal Airport is finished this year and you can fly in direct.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    438
    144
    78
    98
See reviews for
380
796
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-sea
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I agree in the main with the previous comments regarding the incompletion of this resort , however we were informed prior to booking this holiday that the resort was not fully finished. The arrival at St Lucia via BA was pretty chaotic, with airport staff not quite knowing exactly where we should to go. Eventually my girlfriend & I were located by Buccament staff who placed us in a small transfer area albeit with complimentary drinks & crisps, until transfer flights & baggage were organised. A while later it was then off into the downpour for the 40 minute flight (complete with rain pouring into the small 10 seater plane !!). I had to literally hold panels overhead to try & keep the water from spilling in, even more than it was. Transfer by mini bus was a rather rickety, uninspiring 45 trip via the town centre of Kingstown. Arrival at the resort looked promising & we were greeted with much needed cocktails, after a pretty long journey all round. Things started to take a turn for the worse when we were shown to our villa, which was definately not as booked and confirmed with the travel rep from Kuoni. We relayed this to the member of staff who had taken us to the villa only to be told that she would see if she could do anything but did not think that there was much in the way of alternative villas. (we had specifically booked a 'water front villa' as depicted on the website. We refused to accepted the room & requested and to see the manager. A few minutes later we were greeted by 2 resort managers (Michael & Vi) ..in the office reception rooms, and also another couple experiencing the same problem of not getting the villa that they had booked. After a slightly heated conversation, ourselves and the other couple were both relocated to more suitable (well appointed) villas, with the promise of having all excursions during our week long stay available to us FREE for the duration of stay ( a deal that was kept), despite being presented with a checkout bill of 3,500 US$... which is part of some strange billing training process that is going on, but was rather disturbing to see initially as you can imagine.

OVERALL..as has been mentioned previousy the staff are all very willing & friendly, Steve the Chef cooks great food at the Bamboo & really looks after you. The temporay beach front restaurant is fine for breakfast & buffett dinner (give it a miss for lunch though), and can be a bit chaotic at times (bearing in mind that the resort is not anywhere near capacity yet!). Beach bbq is fine & fun for lunch (take your own plastic knife though, they didn't have any !)... rum punches pretty lethal! The food at the Bamboo (booking highly recommended) was really good albeit if as before in a tempoary location. The excursions are all good although the longer ones would be a challenge for toddlers & the infirm, as they can be pretty bumpy & last for a few hours. The beach was very clean, with several activity options ie kayak, scuba lessons, dingys etc., and the sea was lovely to swim in with areas clearly marked out. The layered Pool & (small but well equiped) gym areas were good, and Spa massage treatments that we had were 1st class. We are both tennis fans and had booked in for daily coaching & use of the courts. However, as we were to discover from our coach James (who was very good), the one court that is finished is unplayable after any downpour (which were ongoing througout our week in late April/early May). This is due to the poor construction & rubber surface of the court, which has no inbuilt drainage. Hardly something with which you would associate with the perception of a Pat Cash Tennis Academy. ( General note: Had we gone with our teenage kids, we believe that apart from the use of 3 PC's in the guests lounge and the evening band at dinner time, there would not have really been anything organised or available to have kept them occupied or entertained).

Yes, building & construction work was ongoing and noticeable but not really intrusive or noisy. To summarize this could potentally be a really good resort (although it will surely outgrow the small beach). Presently however it is overpromising & under delivering, which for a 5* rated resort is dissapointing and not a true reflection of value for money. On a personally dissapointing note my tennis racket was lost at some stage between room service picking up our bags for the return flight, and never made it on to the plane. I was told that it would be found & posted back. Not only has this not happened nearly 4 weeks on, but none of my FOUR subsequent emails have so much as been acknowledged, which I think is pretty poor. I would evaluate this resort of having 5* aspirations, but of being quite some way short at present.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Irving24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I totally agree with the previous comments regarding the incompletion of this resort...we were also told prior to booking this holiday that the resort was FULLY open which it was obviously nowhere near from the outset! Awful arrival from Barbados when we waited alone for 50 mins outside very small airport with no one to greet us from the resort as planned. We had to ask airport security to call the resort on our behalf.....What a bad start!
I also agree the arrival to the resort is more than daunting and you do wonder what you have come too. This was the beginning of the first of many temporary and not yet completed parts of this resort...none of which we were informed of at the time of booking...we too had followed the complimentary reports on Tripadvisor praising this place which we now know were investors and I am pleased to see have been removed.
Most amenities were housed in temporary areas or villas. The restaurant was a canopy on the beach as previously mentioned by others and the AI options was in my opinion not of 5 * quality standard or choice. Having said that the lunchtime beach barbeque and lunchtime al a carte menu was fantastic but evenings a dissapointment unless you booked the Bamboo Restaurant just off the resort which saved the day for us! Breakfast was often busy and chaotic with staff trying their best during times of obvious staff training.
There was a small temporary pool, temporary spa and gym facilities housed in recenlty constructed villas....I could go on and on.... conflicting with what this resort had advertised.
Accomodation was lovely, but even villas were being constructed before your very eyes....and in the 7 days we were there we had to call out maintenance 3 times for problems in the bathroom and outside plunge pool. All building "snags" one might say..but not acceptable. And be aware not ALL villas have plunge pools as stated.
Buidling work was 24/7 and floodlit at night although not to much noise heard from our villa. Building diggers up and down beach are just not what you expect, especially with no prior warning to any of the building work at the time of booking the holiday. So be warned....I thought I had done my homework prior to booking and was assured this resort was FULLY open. .but was totally misinformed shall we say!!!!!!
It may well be planned as a 5*resort but no way near this yet.......we too paid alot of money for a week here and did not have the holiday we expected from a so called luxury resort that is still being built.....try somwhere else and look again next year when you might get the luxury resort described,...but it's not NOW..
Sorry to dissapoint but I had great expectations from our holiday here and was so looking forward to it......Sorry folks but this is how it was... happy holidays wherever you choose....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank sunshinegirlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Before I start this review I want to reiterate that myself and my partner are travel industry personnel and not investors. We did get a good rate when we booked our trip back in October but we still had to part with plenty of hard earned cash.

There are plenty of positives about this resort and a few negatives too, some of which have been covered in previous reports. I apologise in advance because this will be a longish report and I hope to cover all issues

So, lets start at the beginning.

Firstly, when we booked last year Buccament Bay included the internal flight from St Lucia to St. Vincent in the price. We chose St. Lucia because at the time the internal flights were everyday. About a month before we were due to leave we had an email stating that the flights to St Vincent from St Lucia were now only going 3 days a week and that we would have to change our flights from the UK to marry up with the internal flights. So, an additional cost incurred to change dates, at no point did we receive an apology from Buccament Bay, only the agent who had been put under undue stress by Buccament Bay due to this change in internal flights.

Ok, so we get to St Lucia and we are met by a Buccament Bay rep and shown through immigration and on to collect our bags. We are then shown to a smallish lounge where there are drinks and snacks available, (beer, soft drinks, crisps). We were told that we had to wait for another flight to come in before we could get the flight to St. Vincent, I think this was about and hour or so.

On arrival at St. Vincent we get on a bus and were expecting the bumpy journey to the resort. Instead we got taken to the marina and put on a boat for our transfer to Buccament Bay. Myself and my partner thought this a great way to get to the resort and again refreshments were provided.
On the boat you’re asked to fill in all the forms, credit card details etc as this makes the check in process at the resort almost non existent.

As the boat pulls in to Buccament Bay you are met by managers and staff, a steel band, fruit sticks and rum punch. After a few introductions you’re taken straight from the beach to your room and shown around. (Your bags are already there)

The rooms are fantastic. Very well appointed, plenty of space and a bed to die for. We had a large bath, separate shower in the bathroom, walk-in wardrobe, dining area with coffee machine (Lavazza Espresso) and two fridges. Outdoor decking area but alas no pool, I think we must have been the only ones not to have one!!

The staff are fantastic here and can’t do enough for you. We lost a bag when we got to St. Vincent (our fault…too much Hairoun) but the resort tracked it down and delivered it to our room the next day.

Breakfast is taken at the Bay which, like other people have said is across the bridge and in a marquee type tent. The food is buffet style with local dishes, fruit, bread, pastries etc. There is also an egg station where the chef will cook you eggs of your choice. We found the food to be really nice and hot which is a bonus as in some other resorts we’ve been to this type food can be just warm.

Lunch can be taken either at the Bay or from the BBQ hut on the beach. We tried the Bay first and was surprised that this a menu based lunch with a good range of food available, all of what we had was very good.
We did try the BBQ on a few occasions and this too was very good. Choice of ribs, chicken, burgers, hot dogs etc. Only downside with eating here is that there is nowhere to sit. You either have to go back to your sunbed or find one of the comfy seats on the beach where there is sometimes very little shade.

Dinners area also taken at the Bay and they have a theme every night. Again we found the food to be of a good quality and hot also.
The other alternative is the Bamboo. You walk out of the resort and across a dirty little ditch and the restaurant is on your right. Again the food is excellent. The steak and the red snapper were excellent. Most people we spoke to all enjoyed this restaurant very much.

The beach is lovely too, but I think when the rest of the resort is open it will be nowhere big enough, especially as it seems to be washing away at quite a rate. This also doesn’t help when on a weekend a few local children arrive to play and end up pushing a lot of the sand in to the sea. This is not a diss on the locals at all, after all it was probably where they used to play before. But if they want to come and play on the nice white sand then I think need to be educated a little.
On the beach are comfortable sunbeds and and chairs. On the chairs are nice soft cushions. These are then covered with a towelling cover and a beach towel is placed on each bed. This is great except the cushions are left out 24/7 so consequently when it rains they get wet. It’s OK when the sun comes out to dry them off but if it doesn’t then they remain damp. These won’t last long and already they are becoming mouldy. The same happens with the chairs around the beach bar, so if you want a nice relaxing drink on the beach in the evening you will get a damp pair of shorts.

The pool area is lovely too, although right next to building site. Some days the noise was louder than others but we knew before we went that this would be the case. It didn’t impact on our stay here that’s for sure.
There are staff around that will serve you drinks throughout the day and they are always cheery and smiling.

The resort operates several trips, some you pay for some are free. We would recommend Dark View Falls and the Sunset Cruise trips. Both are free. We were fortunate enough to have Winston as our guide on the Dark View Falls trip, he’s one of the Bell Boys and I’m sure you will get to know him if you decide to visit. He’s very knowledgeable and good fun. It’s a good day out on a catamaran but when you visit the Pirates of the Caribbean film set you will need to use a bit of imagination!!
The Sunset Cruise is exactly what it is. 5pm – 6.30pm a gentle cruise on the catamaran to watch the sunset, and also see dolphins swimming alongside the boat. We did this several times as it was a nice way to end the day. If you prefer to drink wine on any of these trips just ask and they will put some on board.

We stayed at Buccament Bay for 2 weeks. The first week was fabulous the second week was somewhat marred by the arrival of the Liverpool Football Club Academy team to play a match against a St. Vincent team, 20 players and 15 Coaches. This is great I here some of you say but we found the behaviour of some of these “professionals” some what lacking and disrespectful to other guests. Some days by the pool would be akin to an 18-30 lads holiday, throwing balls in the pool, shouting, spitting and washing sandy flip flops in the pool. This also had an effect on the catering. Although the first two days of their trip prior to the match, they had their own eating area on the beach which was great and they were pretty quiet, obviously preparing for the match. After that it went down hill. Can you imagine a group of 20+ turning up on mass at the restaurant and all wanting to eat at the same time? This put the chef under great pressure and also the waiting staff. Needless to say Murphy the chirpiest chef around wasn’t his usual smiling self and many people (paying guests) had to wait a fairly long time for a table. We made a point of this to one of the managers, Kirit and he said he would take our feedback on board and look in to the issue. Now the sign of a good manager to us is that he will feedback to you what he has or hasn’t done or can’t or can do. This never happened and we heard nothing more from Kirit. This happened on a few occasions and on our last night we couldn’t get a table until 8:30, when to our amazement the Pig Roast had all gone!! The restaurant is open until 10.00 and we weren’t the only ones to miss out. Not 5 Star service.

Apparently the proper Bay restaurant should be open next week. I can’t see it myself but hey I’m not a builder.
The arrival was smooth and made a really nice change to arrive somewhere on a boat as opposed to a coach. The departure on the other hand is completely opposite. You have to get the bus but you are met at the airport and assisted all the way to St Lucia

To conclude then, I think this resort will be a nice place to stay when it is complete, although that does seem to be a long way off and it will need to make huge inroads to compete and attract guests from other established 5 star resorts in the Caribbean, especially if they’re going to be charging what we have seen.

Our advice is if you want to go to Buccament Bay, make sure you get a good deal or if you know someone in the travel industry use their contacts. To pay a full brochure price in it’s current state would be madness.

St. Vincent isn’t geared up for big tourism yet and it takes ages to get anywhere by road and there doesn’t appear to be a lot to see.

Our thanks go to all the staff that looked after us especially Winston, Natalie, Michelle, Wendell, All the boys on the Wind and Sea boats, Lorna, Rozelle, Helen, Francisca, Sam, Clifford Janine. Too many to mention and apologies if we’ve missed anyone out.
A really big thank you to Rose who helped us on our first night and turned our bed down everynight thereafter.

Apologies for such a long report but after all the negative stuff on the forum and regarding Harlequin we thought a detailed review would be appropriate. Hopefully you stayed with until the end. Will be happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank MarkMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Just returned from 7 day stay at Buccament bay. We flew into Barbados and the hopped via Union, Canouan, Bequi to St Vincent. Taxi to BB. You wonder what you have done as you arrive down a Dirty narrow road to the local strip of beach & Boats! But once across the bridge over the river a nice greeting is awaiting! Villas are very nice except for the open louvres which let the mosquitos in! Some have been boarded up now but with all the still water around the villas the mosquitos are a problem, take lots of repellant. The BIG let down is the fact that the restaurants are not yet built/open. The Bay is a canopy
down by the local Beach, the Buffet is unser another Canvas Roof, The Bar is a shack and the entertainment area is grubby sand with the band in a Tent. Its not so bad in the sunshine but at night in the rain its 3 star at best. We had undercooked chicken the first night and the got booked into the Bamboo restaurant in the village area. Food was quite good there but not 5 star by any means. Staff are good anfd friendly, very happyish and polite. If you like the Dining and Cocktails experience in the evening with people dressed up and some good entertainment........ best wait 6 months. Pools are nice as is the HQ cakes and coffee shop, but the rest is nonexistant. All the raving reviews you read on here are investors who have bought villas to share in the income, thats what is paying for the infrastructure and thats why its being built back to front. It will be great one day we are sure!!!! Just not yet!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank GeoffNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Lovely resort with well appointed villas
Food in the BAMBOO RESTAURANT was very good and the BAY RESTAURANT was good for a buffet, but service at breakfast was a bit hit and miss. The beach will be small for the size of the completed resort.Transfers to and from the resort was well organized. Hotel staff were very friendly and went out of ther way to help.

Room Tip: Book a WATER VILLA with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank banjolin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

we visited bucceament bay for a 1 wk holiday is was fantastis great food and drink great beach the staff were out of this world sun shone for the whole week it was just fantastic we were treated like royalty cannot wait to go back but this time for 2 wks the facilities were brilliant cannot wait for the rest of the resort to be finished everybody will want to Buccament Bay the 5 star class resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazza51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Vincent
6.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccament Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccament Bay Resort

Property: Buccament Bay Resort
Address: Buccament Bay, St. Vincent
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Vincent
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buccament Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please be advised that Buccament Bay Resort has temporarily closed and plans to re-open in spring 2017 after refurbishment. The award-winning* Buccament Bay Resort is a luxury, all-inclusive hotel on the beautiful island of St Vincent: the pearl crowning 32 islands and cays called the “Jewels of the Caribbean". Cradled by lush mountains and vibrant rainforest - an inviting sample of the many riches on offer from this unspoilt treasure - the resort boasts stunning features, like a white sandy beach meeting the clear, warm turquoise sea, and stylish accommodations that typify the Harlequin Hotels & Resorts standards. Perfect for families, couples, singles or dream weddings and honeymoons, it boasts a unique range of top class activities and facilities - many associated with famous brands - that leave guests spoilt for choice, whilst warm, considerate staff deliver a truly Caribbean 5 star experience in a charming, village-style setting. There are several restaurants and bars offering a range of dining options, whilst the unique variety of top class activities cater for all the family. These include: Harlequin Soccer Academy; Pat Cash Tennis Club; diving and water sports; Harlequin Performing Arts Academy; The Spa with Treatments by ESPA; Harlequin Fitness Centre; Little Harlequin Kids Club; Club 61 for teenagers; not to mention a number of excursions, including the complimentary sunset cruise. Whether you seek relaxation or stimulation, discover Buccament Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buccament Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccament Bay Hotel St. Vincent
Buccament Bay Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing