We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic experience”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights as we wanted to explore St Vincent. On booking we had chosen a de-luxe ocean view room ( the most expensive grade at the Mariners) at a cost of $US 210 ( including tax ). On being shown to our room on arrival, we were totally take aback by both the standard of the room and the so called 'ocean view'. The major view was overlooking the roof of the restaurant. We made our displeasure known to the reception staff, who assured us that the room was one of the best in the hotel. I attach photos for other TA people to see for themselves. The hotel did not appear to be full at all and I asked if we could have one of the rooms which was fully facing onto the ocean and Young Island but was told these were all booked. We were offered a side view bedroom after day 2 - but although the quality of the room was very much better than our room, we decided to stay put as the effort of changing was just more than we wanted, and view was mainly of the swimming pool.

Our room was large, the US kingsized bed was excellent and the air-conditioning was efficient. But the decor, fitments and bathroom left much to be desired - a rather reminiscent feel of old style US motels! Very basic furniture, and tacky bathroom. The towels had seen much better days. Although the room was cleaned each day and towels changed, the bedlinen was never changed and the floor was sticky throughout our stay.

The French Verandah at breakfast was quite terrible - staff who showed no interest at all in the customer and a very expensive menu. It is evidently geared to local business people who come for a full cooked breakfast but if you are looking for breakfast of good coffee, quality fruit and maybe some yoghurt and decent breads - forget it! The menu offered plain yoghurt but only very sweetened cheap fruit yoghurts were available. Coffee was of the most basic instant variety and toast was from basic supermarket sliced bread. St Vincent is an island growing the most magnificent fruit which is exported throughout the Caribbean - surely the French Verandah could showcase this bounteous produce!

Swimming pool small and sun beds old and decrepit.

St Vincent is in no way a glitzy island but has the most fantastic scenery and produce and so much could be done to showcase this to visitors. The people, on the whole ( with the exception of the staff at the French Verandah) are delightful and very friendly.

Room Tip: No way spend extra money for their so called "de luxe" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Mariners. The room was beautiful and the location was quite nice. The staff was extremely friendly and the restaurant was delicious. I will plan to stay again when I return.

Room Tip: Room with the large balcony overlooking the water was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieHeump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here for 10 days with my wife, and we had a very pleasant time indeed with a ground floor room and a great view over the water to Young Island at a not inconsiderable premium on the room rate.

The room itself was spacious and had a decent bathroom with full sized bath/shower, fridge, decent sized TV and a really excellent bed which looked like two singles bolted together but was extremely comfortable. The aircon was effective enough and the whole stay very pleasant, since we'd found Barbados far too hot. The room was slightly dated (which I don't mind), but the mains wiring to sockets was run through stick-on trunking which had come loose from the wall and which could be a hazard if kids were around. This should be run inside the plaster.

The staff are generally great and helpful although one or two of the receptionists think they are too nice. Breakfast was excellent and very fresh every day at the French Verandah restaurant (reviewed separately). Nice cocktails, and the bar is quite social in the evening at the weekends with residents and some 'upscale' locals. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return but attention to detail would make this a better premium stay

Room Tip: The sea view is great but comes at a premium. Consider if you really are going to spend a lot of tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ideasfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very nice hotel,loved the privacy of our room 404 .Minor things were wrong in the room in which I think the hotel can improve on .There was no electrical sockets in the bathroom to plug your hair dryer in, unless you bring an extension cord . There is no mosquito mesh at the doors .Although they were few they still had free range. The door to enter the room ,needs a new lock. We got locked out of the room one night. Through all of this I must say that the staff was very helpful ,they wanted to give us an upgrade but the view we had from that room made up for everything so we turned it down.Housekeeping staff was excellent. We are definitely going back and will stay at this hotel again.Didn't care for the restaurant,very expensive under different management not part of mariners.Best place to eat so far is at Driftwood restaurant not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 404 has more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl197267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was a nice place to stay. The bed was comfortable there was a restaurant onsite which is nice in St Vincent because it's hard to get around and there is really no place to walk to. This directly across from Young Island and you could go over if you would like. They have a pool and beach where you can get into the sea to swim. You can swim to Young Island if you want to. The restaurant has a Sunday Brunch with all you can eat and drink and swim. Staff is friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room and was blocked from the drive by hedges. It was nice. I didn't have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIchelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

large rooms in a beautiful setting, beverages replenished daily in rooms, air conditioning, the hotel is in a lovely setting, with its own pool and small beach.
Beautiful restaurant with a wide menu choice for breakfast lunch and dinner, Sunday dinner selection is vast, beautifully presented and at very reasonable prices, the staff are very friendly and attentive to ones needs. The Grounds are beautifully kept with many vartieties of flowers etc. Would go back to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilliebet218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very good hotel with very good restaurant, not inexpensive but it's good.
Breakfast is good you get all kinds of tropical fruits if you ask for fruit plate.

Rooms are clean, beds are big and confortable, not far from the marina if you're sailing.
Just avoid going by walk to the marina people drive like crazy in the road, you might want to get a taxi for that.

People in the hotel was nice, i did not try the pool but it looked nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Vincent hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
154 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cobblestone Inn
The Cobblestone Inn
#2 of 5 in Kingstown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Vincent
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing