We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stayover”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed 1 night before our catermaran went out. They can arrange taxi for the airport, Desmond, he can also take you on a really nice island tour. Hotel is right on the water across from Youngs Island. Great location for the marinas. From the hotel you can walk to an ATM, several restaurants, shuttle to Youngs Island.
We ate at Xscape, a few doors down, red building toward docks. Good food, reasonable and great views. From what we heard the hotel restaurant was excellent, we had drinks in the bar which was quite nice.
Desmond gave us a 3 hour tour of the island, great to see the other side, Montreal gardens and town. Perfect to do while waiting to board the cat.
Hotels rooms were modest but clean. Has a free computer rooms with several computers and free internet access. They will also store your luggage. Staff was very friendly. Small pool with lounge chairs and great viewing. Recomment for a good base but not if you are looking for a resort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

Mariners Hotel is in a beautiful tropical setting. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean and modern. I was there on a dive vacation and found the hotel to be convient to the dive shop (just a short walk down the beach front). The internet room made keeping in touch with family at home easy and affordable. Electricity is 220 so a converter is necessary but the hotel will lend you one if you don't bring one.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We really enjoyed the Mariners. The staff was wonderful and professional. They had an internet cafe for guests, a good pool, a good view, clean rooms with safes, and the convenience of a restaurant on site with the best food in St. Vincent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank n756tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We stayed at the Mariner's in Dec 2007 for 3 nights before our catamarran out of Bequia and then again 1 night on our way back. All in all we had a very nice stay. There isn't much on the web in regards to St Vincent in general so planning the trip was a shot in the dark. We basically had narrowed it down to Mariner's or Young Island. For as little time spent at the hotel, I am glad we chose Mariner's at half the cost! My parents had room 403...looking out to the water and Young Island. We had a room across the hall that looked over the pool. The rooms were clean...a bit out dated....decorated in a bright caribbean flair. The bathroom left something to be desired...no plugs what so ever! We had to unplug the TV (since it was the only one really accessible) in order to use a blow dryer. The fllor of the shower was tilted in the wrong direction (away from the drain) so you were always standing in water...oh well, we're in the caribbean so who cares! No worries! haha

The Verandah restaurant was very good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found that in general food was very expensive on the island....maybe it's the places we were eating at? We did walk a couple doors down and had a very nice dinner at the Lime? (I think that's what it is called??) Very friendly owner who was a hoot to talk to!

We spent our late afternoons lounging at the pool....water very cool, but refreshing! Most of the time we were the only ones at the pool, but it may have been that there were not many at the resport since it was right before Christmas?

All in all, a great place to stay if you are on a budget and want to spend your money doing something else! We all said that we would stay there again so it wasn't bad!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

We stayed at the Mariner's Hotel as part of a dive package with Dive St. Vincent. We stayed in room #403 which is a second floor room right on the ocean with a view of sail boats and Young island. The room has a nice veranda which is great for relaxing day and night and the sound of the ocean was wonderful. The room has a good air conditioner but we elected to keep the oceanside window and the veranda door open and the outside breeze was perfect. The room was very quiet and we slept very well each night. The bathroom left a bit to be desired, being somewhat shabby and worn with no electrical outlets and a shower that frequently had minimal water pressure. In summary, the room had a terrific location, was quiet and relaxing, and had a decent measure of charm but is certainly not deluxe by any standards.

The grounds are clean and fairly well maintained. The pool was refreshing and located in a manner that took full advantage of the views and the breeze. After diving, it made a nice place to relax with a good book.

The restaurant connected to the Inn, the French Veranda, was excellent . As part of our dive package we had breakfast there each morning. A decent selection of choices were offered and the homemade yogurt was particularly good. We had lunch several days at the veranda and it was also good. Dinner at the Veranda was top notch. Service was good and the setting in lovely.

Hoping to watch one of the football playoff games, we went to Xcape one evening which is located just a short walk down the beach. The food at Xcape was quite good and quite a bit less expensive than the French Veranda but the service was horribly slow.

We made two land excursions using HazeEco Tours. The first was a trip to Dark View Falls. We went in the back of an ancient Land Rover type vehicle. The road to Dark View Falls is an experience. It's twists and turns and goes up and down forever. We decided that that Dark View Falls got it's name because no one has ever made it there before dark. The falls are multi tiered and fun to visit but be prepared for a LONG car ride. The last day we hiked to the top of the volcano. The hike is fairly difficult with a fair amount of elevation gain but its a beautiful hike through lush forest.

All in all, we had a very pleasant visit to St. Vincent.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Stayed there for 2 nights, had 3 rooms that where just ok. One room had a leaky drain in the sink and was told to put a bucket under it, I guess nobody could fix it. If you wanted ice you had to go to the bar and after hours would be out of luck. Seemed like I was always being watched (kind of unnerving). At 10:30 pm the night before we where to leave the front desk called all 3 rooms to find out what time we where leaving, don't know why as we had paid in full at check-in. Check-in did not go well either, thank goodness I had a copy of the e-mail confirming price as they tryed to get us for another 20%. All in all, not terrible but there is much better places nearby in the same price range.
Rick

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travelprorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We spent a week at the Mariner in January that was part of a two week vacation that also included Grenada and Barbados.

As frequent visitors to the Caribbean, we had wanted to visit St. Vincent as we had never been there before. Travel information to St. Vincent itself, unlike Bequia and the rest fo the Grenadines, is a little bit difficult to come by so we weren't sure where to stay. We booked the mariner because they had rooms available and the few comments we could find online about it were generally favorable.

If you are thinking of going to St. Vincent itself, it's not a big destination, so tourism is not highly developed. This works both ways as it can be part of its charm but also makes staying a little bit more work than some other islands in the Caribbean.

The Mariner fits in with this theme. The facilities themselves are nothing special, but they are better than several of the other hotels on the island that we either saw or heard about from about other people.

The rooms are pretty standard, a little shabby, although clean and comfortable. They could easily be mistaken for a 1960's American motel room from the inside, except of course for the view. You want to make sure that if you're in the main wing, that you're on the second floor, as the first floor is in front of the pool, whereas you'll have a better view of the ocean form the second floor. The so called suites are behind the main building and closer to the road, so they are not worth the extra money. There are also a couple of refrigerators around that can be put in your room, but you have to ask for one.

Among the good things to report about the hotel are the staff. The women who work in the office are all nice and helpful, and will assist you in making arrangements. We found Keisha to be especially helpful. Everyone else we encountered at the hotel, from housekeeping to security, was nice, too.

The clientèle is a mixed group, unlike a previous poster, we didn't meet any divers, but there were a lot of people who were chartering yachts and staying in the hotel for a couple of nights, people on their way back from other islands in the Grenadines, and business people and flight crews. We ere there to do some hiking among other things, but perhaps because of its higher price, the Mariner didn't seem to attract too many other hikers

The hotel is known for its restaurant, and rightfully so as it's the best on the island for fine dining. However, as mentioned below, it is not particularly Caribbean and shows a very strong European influence, as befitting it's name. If you go for breakfast, try the homemade yogurt, which is delicious. Breakfast is ala carte, so you need to factor that into your estimates if you're worried about expenses.

The hotel is right on the water, but there is no beach there. The closest beach to sit on is about a 10 minute walk along the water over to Indian Bay. The pool, while pleasant to sit at or have drinks by, is really too small to do any serious swimming. If you want to go to the beach, you should have the office call over to Young Island and you can take their little private ferry to the island. The water is warm, the snorkeling is very good, and you can look back at St. Vincent.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank SaoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Vincent hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cobblestone Inn
The Cobblestone Inn
#2 of 5 in Kingstown
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Vincent
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing