We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor waitress service”
Review of Bessemer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bessemer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor waitress service”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

i didnt stay in the hotel but went for a birthday celabration dinner. my niece was 18 so we thought it would be nice to use local hotel for the meal. the dinning room looked old tired and dated.the waitress who served us was quite pleasant unfortunately the was one who lookes like she hated the place. not once did she smile.service was really poor normally i tip but on this occasion i felt they should have paid me to eat there. the carvery food was great and reasonably priced wish i could say the same for the rest of the menue.The carvery server was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    42
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
38
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Visited here for a friends birthday which was very good... Carvery was superb and plenty to choose from... It was very busy and had to wait a while but all worth it.....The place was very clean... And staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Have just got home from a 2 night stay here and I would highly recommed here for overnight stay or just dining. I have no complaints re cleanliness at all, bedrooms were smart and modern decor, fresh towels daily, rooms tidyed every morning only qualm was fairly thin walls but more annoyingly the floors and doors all creaked. I think the doors especially need some WD40. Food and service were top very friendly polite & welcoming staff. Dinner was divine whether carvery or main meal. Location was ideal for everywhere we visited.
Great value for money!!!"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iccel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a very snap rooms spacious and spotlessly clean especially the bathroom it gleamed! and lovely and warm. Greeted warmly by the very hard working receptionist who done any other jobs that needed doing who offered to help with anything else we needed. All staff very friendly and helpful and the value for money Carvery was really delicious with very generous portions which were enjoyed by guests and locals alike. We ate there every night. We were even told about the Labour club which has good entertainment on and the receptionist arranged a taxi for us to get there. Overall a brilliant stay great price good rooms delicious breakfast and made so welcome by all the staff we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My partner and I went to the Bessemer for Sunday Lunch. It was a birthday lunch. When we arrived, the bar area was full, but our lunch was booked for 2.30pm, and we were sitting down at our table by 2.30. The meal we chose was a Carvery. We have many carvery meals at many different establishments, but I must say that "The Bessemer" carvery meal was superb, it was the best we have had for quite a few years. We would have no hesitation in recommending "The Bessemer to everyone who likes good quality food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gezza1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed overnight Saturday/Sunday, I was very surprised to see this hotel is virtually on a trading estate and on top of a housing estate.
The Hotel itself had been decorated quite nicely.
The very few staff need to been informed on Customer Service Training...The Receptionist seemed to be doing most of the work ie serving drinks, serving breakfasts and clearing tables and carrying a mobile phone to answer incoming calls, so whoever rang in took pot luck on the noise in the background from where ever the call was taken. She did work hard.
The rooms were ok but basic, bathroom was clean but soap container was empty. Walls were very thin and floors very creeky.
The whole hotel smelt of school dinners most of the day.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was meeting some long lost family for the first time in October and met them at the Bessemer. I should start by saying that the company was superb and it was lovely to finally meet them. The Bessemer however, left a lot to be desired.

We had a carvery and the food was perfectly fine, but the decor and setting was like something out of the early 90's, I was completely horrified. It was like a Bernie Inn! And what was particularly disappointing was how much potential this place has, but it just isn't being utilised.

On a positive note, they had a number of historical pictures on the wall of Merthyr and Dowlais back in the early 1900's which gave the place a bit of character. In short, I'd take my 90 year old Gran to this place, but 'trendy' is something it is most definitely not.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dowlais
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
11.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bessemer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessemer Hotel

Property: Bessemer Hotel
Address: Hermon Close, Dowlais CF48 3DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Dowlais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bessemer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 20 bedroom family run hotel on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bessemer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessemer Hotel Dowlais
Bessemer Hotel Merthyr Tydfil/Dowlais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing